We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenviews Resort - Port Barton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Greenviews Resort - Port Barton
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at Greenviews and enjoyed the lodging and the snorkeling. Dave, the owner was very friendly and helpful. The staff was nice also. Take a snorkeling trip, but don't let the tour boat wreck the coral with their anchor.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NICEGUIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    48
    18
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
57
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This resort has seen his best days. Very expensive but old cottage houses.
The view is great also the enviroment.
The inside of the cottages is very used also the mattresses.
Electricity is availlable from 6pm to 12pm, no generator.
You can use a tent on the beach and you will have the same view and the same comfort, maybe better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palawan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Barton hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Port barton has long beautiful beach and many great island.
Nothing but beautiful nature and cozy atmosphere.
Not commecialized like el nido. If you want to relax seeing beautiful sea and sunset, port barton is best place in palawa.
I stayed several days here. But cottages and restaurant is far from sea compare to elsa's or DEEP GOLD so I am a little disappointed with view.
And in restaurant there are many mosquitos. I asked stuff mosquito coil but he just say "nothing" despite it is available near shop and serving time was very slow.
Many local person squated entrance. It was not confortable.
Room is clean but small and facilities are poor. Garden outside is cute and cozy.
Not bad but less than avarage.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tearsandbrownsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Greenviews Hotel in Port Barton for 3-nights in mid-March (P1200/$30). If you are travelling from El Nido, expect a significant investment in either time (van to Roxas, jeepney to Port Barton) or money to get to Port Barton. We took the Greenviews’ boat (P1500/person), a 3-hour trip through sometimes rough, open water – be sure to plastic-wrap your bags.

Port Barton lies on a small NW facing bay with a beautiful palm-fringed beach. The Greenviews is one of 3 hotels across the river on the upper bay, giving it a western exposure for great sunsets. The resort consists of a dozen thatched-roof cottages arranged in a horseshoe enclosing the bar-restaurant and the expansive sandy-grass grounds that are dotted with palm trees that shade hammocks, pergolas, gazebos, benches and a volleyball court. It shares a number of elements with its sister hotel in Corong Corong – the driftwood-style furniture, the 3-course dinner menu – but the broad open spaces and beach views give it a feel that is all its own.

The cottages have broad, deep verandas furnished with a table and chairs. The rooms are small with 2 single beds shoved together and just enough room for a side table; a clothes cabinet and a bamboo toiletry rack complete the furnishings. The floors are dark hardwood planks, with woven bamboo panels on the walls and ceilings, making the room dark despite 3 windows (an issue because the Port Barton generator operates only from 6 pm to midnight). There is no WiFi (available at other PB hotels), refrigerator, hot water, safe or AC, and no glasses or complementary water. The fans keep the rooms cool at night, but they need to run all evening to clear the daytime heat. The cottages are not serviced – even to sweep the sand from the floor or replace toilet paper – a bit disappointing given the number of often idle staff at the hotel.

The beach is good for sunbathing (there are several wood loungers, but no pads), but it is very shallow and has pockets of sticky mud. For swimming, the beach near Elsa’s at the centre of town is better, but watch for jellyfish – there are warning signs and we saw several large ones on the beach. Sunset Bar and Grill next to the hotel has a 3-6 pm happy hour (P35 for beer; P45 for mixed drinks that are almost entirely alcohol) and great sunsets. There are 12 beachfront hotels in Port Barton (and a few a block back from the beach) offering rooms and cottages, a couple as large as the Greenviews but most quite simple and basic. Several have bars and restaurants – Elsa’s and the Sunset were both good. For water, fruits, juices, rum and snacks, there are a number of local stores along Rizal St, 1-block from the beach. For activities, the island hopping tour (P1500/boat – ask around for others interested in sharing) visits 4 islands (the snorkeling is not great). For transportation to Puerto Princesa, we hired the hotel van to catch our noon flight, expensive (P4500) but our only other option was to spend our final beach day in transit.

In summary, the Greenviews benefits from being a “big fish in a small pond” in Port Barton. It is comfortable and reasonably priced but, with only a little effort (WiFi, complementary water, basic room servicing), it could improve from average to excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and could have easily have stayed for longer.

Dave has again created a tropical oasis for his customers (his has Greenviews at El Nido also). Cottages are evenly and spaciously arranged around the perimeter of the resort with the restaurant at the back. All cottages seem to have excellent views. The cottages are a good size, clean and tidy.

Because it is set away from the main beach you have alot more peace in the day, evenings and early mornings.

The sea is a little way out when the tide is out, but I enjoyed hours relaxing on the sandbar that this created.

Food is good and the staff are attentive and polite

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms are a bit pricey for what you get, but it is a really nice resort and Port Barton in itself is just a little bite of paradise.

The only thing I want people to make notice of is the damn roosters crowing right outside your windowless window starting as early as 5 in the morning. They drove me close to insanity, so make sure to bring earplugs, or any other sort of hearing protection if you want a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice, clean, comfy, pleasant, good location just off the beach. Also organize boat trips to El Nido. We got ours here for 4500P and were the only people on the small boat run by two guys, much too small for the rough seas, took plenty of seawater in and arrived with all of our stuff soaking wet... Even the boat guys appeared happy to get there in one piece. Better to wait for other passengers and get the big boat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuukka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Barton hotels
0.2 mi away
Elsa's Beach Resort
Elsa's Beach Resort
#6 of 18 in Port Barton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
#5 of 18 in Port Barton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
6.9 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sunset Colors
Sunset Colors
#1 of 9 in Port Barton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deep Moon Resort
Deep Moon Resort
#2 of 18 in Port Barton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
12.7 mi away
Cassandra's Cottages
Cassandra's Cottages
#4 of 18 in Port Barton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenviews Resort - Port Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenviews Resort - Port Barton

Property: Greenviews Resort - Port Barton
Address: Rizal St | San Vicente, Port Barton, Palawan Island 5309, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Port Barton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Port Barton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Greenviews Resort - Port Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenviews Resort Port Barton Hotel Port Barton
Greenviews Hotel Palawan
Greenviews Resort - Port Barton Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing