We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 weeks of total R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cassandra's Cottages
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Across the bridge from the cottages there are 2 fully catered houses also owned by Dan. We stayed in one for 4 weeks and it provided the perfect base to get have some serious R&R. Situated at the northern end of the beach they are away from the main tourists and we felt more part of town while watching locals walking by everyday. Only a minute walk from the sea, swimming at this part of beach is best at high tide as beach is quite flat. The cottage is fully equiped with all you need for a long stay. Beware it has no shower by having bucket baths are fun!
Dan is excellent host and nothing was too much trouble for him.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Cassandras cottages in August of 2013 for 3 nights. The cottages themselves are clean airy places to stay right on the beach in there own private gardens. Each room had its own toilet and wash facilities. There are only 2 cottages so you will want to book ahead in the high season, although Dan the owner also had 2 houses to rent for next to nothing.
The cottages also have a cool box on the patio with cool beers and drinks that are tipped up as you please.
The owner is a genuinely nice guy who can't do enough for you. As soon as we arrived he met us at the gates showed us around and shared a beer with us, helped to arrange boat trips and accommodation in other areas but with no sale tactics intended, he just wanted to make sure we didn't get ripped off and were having a nice time.
The cottages ate ideally situated at the end of the beach away from all the other resorts so its very quiet but you can be in the centre within a 3 minute walk along the beach.
Port barton itself is such a chilled and easy going place to stay, there are no hotels or busy bars blasting music just relaxing backpacker haunts to kick back and have a cold beer after a days island hopping.
Would highly recommend both Port Barton and Cassandras cottages.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed there for two nights in their simple native cottages. Clean newly built well situated in a quieter part of the beach in Port Barton. Loved the fact that the cottages were secure due to fencing. The owner was particularly friendly and helpful and had a great knowledge of the area having been resident for about 17 years. Good wine and internet access

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francosiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

stayed 3night and liked it more than any other place during our 20day trip round palawan.
even the cottage is native built it has western standard with good mosquito net fitted.
just relaxing on the most nice beach in port barton

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desperado84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We came to Port Barton and planned to stay there only a few nights. We had booked two nights at Greenviews but we liked PB so much we wanted to stay. Since Greenview resort was fully booked we had to move.

So we started walking down the beach looking for a new place. Then we saw someone cleaning one of Cassandra´s beach cottages meaning it might be free. Ethel the hostess warmly welcomed us so we ended up staying there for a week enjoying the privacy, nicely decorated and clean cottage. What you get for the money is definately worth it. Every evening we sat on a porch and enjoyed the perfect view of sunset.

Big plus for the cooler with ice outside the cottage where you could find a cold beer or soft drink. A brilliant idea. Also a good idea is not to have fancy booking system so if you are lucky and around you might get this experience.

There is also a wireless internet connection which is veeery slow but working.

Whatever we needed during our stay we just asked Dan the host and fixed everything.

We warmly recommend Cassandra´s for people who are looking for a simple and relaxed atmosphere in Port Barton.

ps. there is also great wine and coffee with reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVauras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We (couple) stumbled upon Cassandra's and decided to rent the green beach cottage, intending to stay for one night and leaving after a week instead! It was so perfect to wake up and have coffee on the porch every morning with a beach view and cook there in the evenings. We had so much space it felt like our own home and after backpacking it was lovely to have some privacy. The cottage had everything we needed, I can't think of anything we would change, its simple but nicely furnished, very clean and spacious. Dan and Ethel were the best hosts and some of the loveliest people we met on our travels, they really welcomed us and became new friends. I couldn't recommend this place more for people who want to really relax, meet some great people and enjoy Port Barton, I know we will try and return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We took a 5hr boat from El Nido and had a great 3 days chilling in Port Barton.
It was our first time staying in a hut, normally were air-con all the way, but it we did manage just fine with only a fan and the limited hours of electricity. The cottages have mosquito netting built inside the walls as well as a mosquito net for the bed so no trouble with bugs. Everything is very clean, well looked, and fairly new.
The coldest beer in town was actually sitting on our own porch thanks to Dan providing coolers and ice, he also makes a great coffee in the morning.
Lots of decent restaurants all around to eat at and a good hike to the waterfall you should try.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aebAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Barton hotels
0.3 mi away
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
#5 of 25 in Port Barton
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deep Moon Resort
Deep Moon Resort
#3 of 25 in Port Barton
170 reviews
6.3 mi away
Blue Cove Island Resort
Blue Cove Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Port Barton
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mermaid Paradises Jr Resort
Mermaid Paradises Jr Resort
#2 of 12 in Port Barton
12 reviews
6.9 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
2.7 mi away
Sunset Colors
Sunset Colors
#1 of 12 in Port Barton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassandra's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassandra's Cottages

Address: Port Barton, Port Barton, San Vicente, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > San Vicente > Port Barton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Port Barton
Price Range: $31 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two unit native style cottages just a few steps off a white sand beach. Each has its own balcony which have a great view of the sea, nearby islands and gorgeous sunsets. Each has its own western standard private bathroom and free internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cassandra's Cottages Port Barton, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing