We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a dog day afternoon at Elsa's” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elsa's Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elsa's Beach Resort
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's a dog day afternoon at Elsa's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We ended up staying here after checking all the rooms in town. Their 1000P cabins were the nicest we saw and we talked them down to 800P (200 more then we were hoping to spend but what the heck). It was clean, had a comfy bed, a nice little front porch, a pretty garden. The staff reminded me of lazy dogs. They were always passed out on a bench when we went to the overpriced restaurant. We’d have to wake them up to order but we usually just avoided the awkwardness and went somewhere else. It’s located on the beach so that’s good. We had to walk for 40 seconds to swim then could dash back to the room to dry off. A dog was always hanging around (a real one) that we became good friends with. His name is Fartron. Good guy. I recommend giving him a few pats and going for a walk with him on the beach. We stayed for 4 nights and didn’t have any real problems that couldn’t be fixed by waking up the staff and asking. “Wake up sweetie. Time to run your restaurant.”

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank itchyfeetcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
48
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Capitan New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have stayed at Elsa,s three times as the restaurant is a great oceanfront place for the family to congregate and the mix of rooms suits our family groupings. The Restaurant is a great hang out. To our luck each visit Elsa herself was present, ( also has a home in New York) and I believe that presence helps to focus the staff. Another reason to stay is Beverly the front desk girl, very helpful and kind. There are two oceanfront cottages, several more at the side and about 6 new concrete rooms at the rear of the property, all are well maintained and the surrounding grounds are very well landscaped. Above the resturaunt are several budget rooms with common restroom. The property is owned by a now retired Pinoy couple who came to the area in the 80's working in health care, saw the potential and opened one of the first rental resorts in the area, later they seem to have migrated to US, possibly to earn enough to get the resort built.
The rooms are all pleasing, especially the beachfront @ 1,200 php. the new rooms at rear are 1000 and the upstairs rooms are 500. You can find lower prices in Port Barton, but always with some lower quality. Food is ok, but honestly a better choice is El Busero next door. During our last stay every night was interrupted by constant dog fights among the beach dogs, finally the staff complained enough that the female who was in heat was transplanted to another island and peace descended. Like most Philippine resorts you will have to request things like room cleaning, change of towels etc. But the standard of cleanliness is high.
Swimming in front is very pleasant except for large and painful jellyfish in the deeper water. wear a shirt at minimum, I spent 24 hours in real pain from a near full body sting. Island hopping we saw no jellies at all, only in the Port Barton Bay.

Room Tip: When we were there in mid and late March tourism was low and rooms anywhere were easy to find. I pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zozomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Positives:

*close to the beach
*2 min walk from where the jeepney drops you off
*free tea, coffee and water

Negatives:

*could be considered too close to the beach - if you're looking for powdery sand check into 'Greenviews' or the resorts that side. Where Elsa's is the high tide comes right up to the front of the restaurant so always wet sand to sunbathe on!
*If you stay in a garden bungalow (1200 pesos) its SO LOUD! Rooms back on to the road and it's instant cat/dog fighting noises or cockerels -you can't really escape the cockerel noise in the Philippines by it seems like everyone in Port Barton must own 50 each as its extra loud.
*Staff look miserable. A smile doesn't hurt! If you smiled more I would have left a better tip.
*Elsa's don't advertise the extra cheap 500 and 800 pesos rooms upstairs so you feel a bit cheated when you're not offered this room when others are.
*as with the rest of the town you only get electricity from 18:00 - 24:00
*overpriced room for just a fan - A/C would have been nice as the concrete cottages really trap the heat in

Overall Port Barton was a bit of a let down. Average island hopping, murky sea water at the main beach and very short beach so when high tide it's difficult to walk between resorts. We're currently staying at Corong Corong Bay (10min from El Nido) which is much nicer due to better island hopping, tastier food, nice chilled out holiday vibe and happy helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank czaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at Elsa's for 3 nights in one of their new rooms behind their main building. Our room is clean and spacious with a nice balcony. Although we didn't have a view of the ocean, it didn't bother us as we can easily access the beach by less than a minute walk. They do have beachfront cottages, which are a little dearer than the ones at the back - those require booking in advance as this place is becoming so popular to tourists now. When we arrived in Port Barton from Puerto Princesa, all tourists on the bus that we took actually stayed at Elsa's.

They also have a restaurant situated right on the beach. Food is great! You just need a little bit of patience as it takes quite a while to get the food served but you won't be disappointed as they cook really good here.

Elsa's also organised island hopping and snorkeling trips. Some beautiful islands around Port Barton but don't expect too much about the snorkeling. Reefs are badly damaged and lacking in fish life.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mareeyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

My bestfriend his husband and her friends went on a 4 day trip to Elsa's Beach Resort in Port Barton. It was one of the most relaxing vacation I have ever had. Diving or hanging out on their island. The food and service were impecable and the accommodations were very nice.

Employees are very friendly.
- The room was cleaned daily.
- Provided room slippers, bath towels, toiletries (soap, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste).
- Beach towels provided.
- Hot and cold shower water available.
- Room was almost perfect shower curtain/shower enclosure. Almost everything gets when you take a shower.
- Room type: Beach Villa had balcony with more privacy.
- Had a lot of food choices for lunch and dinner. Breakfast choices were kinda limited.
- Drinks are not free (except water, coffee, and tea).
- WIFI only available in restaurant area.
- The whole resort was generally clean
- They are on generator 24/7.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Barton
0.1 mi away
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
#5 of 18 in Port Barton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
6.5 mi away
Blue Cove Island Resort
Blue Cove Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Port Barton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
6.9 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenviews Resort - Port Barton
Greenviews Resort - Port Barton
#15 of 18 in Port Barton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunset Colors
Sunset Colors
#1 of 9 in Port Barton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
9.8 mi away
Peace and Love Resort
Peace and Love Resort
#2 of 6 in San Vicente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsa's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsa's Beach Resort

Property: Elsa's Beach Resort
Address: Purok Pagkakaisa, Port Barton, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Port Barton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Port Barton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Elsa's Beach Resort 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Elsa's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsa's Beach Resort Port Barton, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing