We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in a hidden paradise”
Review of Deep Moon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deep Moon Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I visited Port Barton for two nights staying at Deep Gold. We were in hut #4 which had an upstairs terrace with table & chairs. Several huts were spaciously spread out along the beach front with some additional garden huts right behind. These were the only huts directly situated on the beach. Huts were basic, small with a decent size bathroom - but for £20 per night you can't complain!. Note, generators run from 6pm – 12pm so no fan after midnight. Beds had mosquito nets provided. Sun loungers provided out front for guests.

The main 'building' (restaurant/bar/lobby/reception/chill out area) was a spacious area to relax. We had breakfast and dinner here, and lazed in the afternoons to watch the incredible sunsets from the comfy padded seating areas. There is a shared hot shower for guests to use (cold water only in rooms). Staff were friendly and helpful. We hired a boat for the day for a mere 1500 php for the two of us, to visit 2 islands and 2 reefs. Islands were incredible and snorkelling was amazing.

Note – no cash point in Port Barton! In fact, we didn't have enough cash on us to settle the bill, so Tak (manager) let me settle our bill via paypal. Port Barton is an interesting little place. Remote, quiet, away from all the tourists, incredible sunsets, incredible islands to visit – a wonderful hidden gem that's worth exploring before it gets discovered.

Room Tip: Hut 4 has a nice roof terrace
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Deep Moon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 160 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Simply lovely.. can't be described, you need to see it for yourself :-). Port Barton is tiny and Deep Gold Resort is the nicest place there, at the end of the beach, with lovely atmosphere. Ask for the beach front hut.. amazing. Spacious, basic, clean, comfy. Restaurant is lovely too and the food superb. It takes them ages to prepare anything but hey, there is no rush while on holidays:-). And the banana pancakes were worth the wait :-). I recommend three days stay before going to other places in Palawan and absolute must is island hopping (German island is..wow!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed four nights at White Beach just 10 minute boat ride from Deep Gold in Port Barton and we were the only guests for the majority of the time. The staff were really helpful and amiable - helping by bringing supplies from Port Barton, organising trips and maintaining the flow of beer. The rooms were large but lacked wardrobe space, the beach deserted but lacked decent sun loungers. My only other criticism would be that the staff needed prompting to clean the rooms. If you stay at White Beach bring lots of water, snacks and other supplies with you otherwise you'll be reliant on their daily boat trip back to town. But if it's peace and quiet you're after, this is just the place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stufnotstub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

cozy, clean and confortable room, healthy and tasty food with affordable price.
you can jump in to sea when you wake up in a few steps.
staff are really friendly and japanese manager is quite kindly.
recommend to have break fast at sea side cottage you can see seascape from the big window like a live picture.
everything great, sure to come back!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank hmkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I could lounge around the lobby all day. Staff is very nice. Rooms are cute. Carbonara is solid! Said they will soon be opening a dive shop there which will be sweet. Diving in this area is amazing but not many shops, if you dive visit the barge wreck.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights. This place was great... The location is absolutely in front of nice beach and the cottages are native style. The staffs were always smiling and helpful. The price was quite budget. Besides, the restaurant would offer even some Japanese food! I think only this place you could find a lot of variety of dishes in Port Barton.
To be honest (actually I want to keep secret), the resort has really fantastic alternative option.. It is called "White Beach". It is not on tripadvisor page. The place is located really hidden place. I was transferred by the boat from the resort (approx 15 min). There are some cottages on the long beach. I was alone there (except caretakers) on the beach!! So the beach was only for me!! Even it was the secret place, the cottages had air conditioner and hot shower! Moreover, the price was quite affordable. So definitely I would like to recommend you the place!

Room Tip: "White Beach"
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minki_kato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great room opening up right onto the beach, large and nicely fitted out. No holes in the fly screen. Massive dolphin bath was my son's favourite but not really useful. The owner is very nice and even has paypal and the reception area/restaurant is very clean and nicely decorated. Only problem was the sound of a party at the back but not the owner's fault.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Barton hotels
0.2 mi away
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
#5 of 21 in Port Barton
168 reviews
6.9 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
3.2 mi away
Sunset Colors
Sunset Colors
#1 of 11 in Port Barton
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Blue Cove Island Resort
Blue Cove Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Port Barton
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mermaid Paradises Jr Resort
Mermaid Paradises Jr Resort
#2 of 11 in Port Barton
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cassandra's Cottages
Cassandra's Cottages
#6 of 21 in Port Barton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Moon Resort

Address: Rizal St, Port Barton, San Vicente, Palawan Island 5309, Philippines (Formerly Deep Gold Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > San Vicente > Port Barton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Port Barton
Price Range: $16 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Port Barton, San Vicente! Deep Moon Resort, the widest beachfront property in the village, offers 9 clearn and cozy cttages overlooking blue bay waters of Port Barton, we wish you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Deep Moon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deep Moon Resort Port Barton, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing