We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place for relax”
Review of Deep Moon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deep Moon Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Lapu Lapu, Philippines
1 review
“excellent place for relax”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

cozy, clean and confortable room, healthy and tasty food with affordable price.
you can jump in to sea when you wake up in a few steps.
staff are really friendly and japanese manager is quite kindly.
recommend to have break fast at sea side cottage you can see seascape from the big window like a live picture.
everything great, sure to come back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hmkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    53
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
18
84
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I could lounge around the lobby all day. Staff is very nice. Rooms are cute. Carbonara is solid! Said they will soon be opening a dive shop there which will be sweet. Diving in this area is amazing but not many shops, if you dive visit the barge wreck.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights. This place was great... The location is absolutely in front of nice beach and the cottages are native style. The staffs were always smiling and helpful. The price was quite budget. Besides, the restaurant would offer even some Japanese food! I think only this place you could find a lot of variety of dishes in Port Barton.
To be honest (actually I want to keep secret), the resort has really fantastic alternative option.. It is called "White Beach". It is not on tripadvisor page. The place is located really hidden place. I was transferred by the boat from the resort (approx 15 min). There are some cottages on the long beach. I was alone there (except caretakers) on the beach!! So the beach was only for me!! Even it was the secret place, the cottages had air conditioner and hot shower! Moreover, the price was quite affordable. So definitely I would like to recommend you the place!

Room Tip: "White Beach"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minki_kato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great room opening up right onto the beach, large and nicely fitted out. No holes in the fly screen. Massive dolphin bath was my son's favourite but not really useful. The owner is very nice and even has paypal and the reception area/restaurant is very clean and nicely decorated. Only problem was the sound of a party at the back but not the owner's fault.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My friend and I took the bus from Puerto Princesa after attempting to communicate with the hotel via their Facebook page (no response-told on arrival that the hotel has not been using FB for some years!).

First, a word about the bus. It's 5-6 hours with one extended stop (40 min.) for lunch. The bus is not air-conditioned but the windows open and it was not uncomfortable. The road to Port Barton is paved only half-way, the rest is dirt. With the occasional rain, it was quite muddy on our return to PPS, but we didn't get stuck. An alternative is to hire a van, but it is 4,500-5,000 PHP (the bus is 150 PHP per person one way).

Despite the absence of an advanced booking, the hotel was happy to accommodate us. The rooms are little cottages or chalets right on the beach. They are of decent size for 2 people and have fans which are adequate. Did not provide a mosquito net but I only saw one mosquito. There's a little porch facing the ocean where you can drink a beer quite pleasantly.

The restaurant is a nice open air room where you can lounge on benches and look out on the ocean (obscured by trees) and the garden. The wait staff is friendly but they were frequently out of many items listed on the menu (e.g. Filipino breakfast, 2nd pot of coffee, many selections at dinner). We found things to eat and they were well-prepared and inexpensive (as is the beer).

There are a few places on the beach within a short walk, including Jambalaya, which is a pleasant hippie-type place with a nice view. There's also a store where you can buy wine, sunscreen, etc.

The hotel set up a day cruise with a local boat owner. We left about 9am and returned about 3-4pm (lost track of time). The captain took us to a couple of nearby islands where we lounged around. I snorkeled (nothing great), and the captain made us a nice simple lunch of grilled fish (bring your own beer). It cost 5000 PHP.

As has been commented before, the beach is very pretty in Port Barton. But it's also great to get out on the ocean and cruise around a bit. The weather was fantastic for which I am eternally grateful (it rained a bit in PPS).

All in all, a pleasant hotel and a wonderful location (and even the bus ride was tolerable).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were running out of time on our holiday in Palawan but have heard many good things about Port Barton so we decided to travel there from Puerto Princesa only for one night and come back the next day.. And it was SO worth it! To be honest, without the staffs great communication skills over emails we probably wouldn't have come but they made it so easy for us by making a reservation on the bus (be there early as it works - first come first served), giving us lots of information on how to get there and get back. Always nice and surprising when you get a reply on your email within an hour or two..

Port Barton itself is a very quiet little beach village but not many things to do apart from scuba diving, snorkeling, eating and watching the sunsets.

The food was good but the food takes a long time and was very slow, at the same time you are in a place where time doesn't really matter and the whole village just seems super relaxed.

We really enjoyed our stay at Deep Gold Resort and thought it was very clean and great value for money. The room was right at the beach and we could watch the sunset from our little terrace.

Would really recommend this resort to anyone wanting to visit Port Barton!

Thank you Deep Gold Resort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Port Barton is lovely. so quiet and peaceful. I was very glad to have chosen Deep Gold. It has been renovated/maintained nicely. any time i ordered food in the restaurant it was quality and timely. cheap, cold beer. I stayed in a beach-front A-frame cottage and was very pleased with the cleanliness and quality. Nothing fancy but a nice, clean tile floor, fan, bathroom with fun see-through (lucite) ceiling. Once I figured out you could request a mosquito net, i did. They seemed to favor providing coils and sprays but maybe they thought they were catering to foreign preferences. I'd rather just have a net and if you would too, just ask, they'll happily put one up for you.

I didn't use them to arrange any tours, but i will tell you the island hopping i did here was wonderful. really solid snorkeling, too. which was a surprise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggydaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Barton
0.2 mi away
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
#5 of 21 in Port Barton
166 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunset Colors
Sunset Colors
#1 of 11 in Port Barton
98 reviews
6.9 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Blue Cove Island Resort
Blue Cove Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Port Barton
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cassandra's Cottages
Cassandra's Cottages
#6 of 21 in Port Barton
88 reviews
9.9 mi away
Peace and Love Resort
Peace and Love Resort
#3 of 19 in San Vicente
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Moon Resort

Property: Deep Moon Resort
Address: Rizal St, Port Barton, San Vicente, Palawan Island 5309, Philippines (Formerly Deep Gold Resort)
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > San Vicente > Port Barton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Port Barton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Port Barton, San Vicente! Deep Moon Resort, the widest beachfront property in the village, offers 9 clearn and cozy cttages overlooking blue bay waters of Port Barton, we wish you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Deep Moon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deep Moon Resort Port Barton, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing