We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good People”

Blue Cove Island Resort
Capitan New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good People”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Booked several days here as well as the boat trip, and at the suggestion of Sam (SAM SANTOS
Emaill:bluecoveisland@yahoo.com.ph) I paid in advance through Paypal. As a veteran traveler to Phils I admit I was a bit nervous about this but also did not wish to carry a lot of cash. Circumstances beyond my control cancelled our trip and I frankly expected to lose the 6500 pesos. To His great credit Sam refunded 100% and stayed in communication throughout. This kind of responsiveness is rare and commendable. I will definitely rebook for the next trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zozomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK snorkelling”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

have to agree with Miles, great location but demotivated staff. the food was good but I've had enough hotsilog/cornsilog/knobsilog to last me a lifetime !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice nature, demotivated staff.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's sad to experience a resort spoiled with a awesome beach and such stunning natural beauty, being so poorly managed. Our arrival excitement, was disturbed by a unwelcoming attitude from the staff. It seems like they prefer seeing people leave than to see them arrive. The staff generally seem demotivated, forgetful, and in some cases they made up stories why things wasn't possible.

We was about to leave the place two days early and prepared to loose our prepaid deposit. We found it also absolutely strange why they charge 290 php for just a few slices of tomatoes and no marinade. Just as weird is it that they offer their great deluxe cottage with a big patio over the water for just 100php more than the regular ones. We ended up sleeping all 4 under the stars and over the water, the breeze made our sleep good, and the morning sunrise made us forget all the negativity. (If you don't get the oceanfront cottage then Blue Cove may be a disappointment).

We too wondered why Blue Cove are so busy building more cottages when they can't even take care of the guest they have. The British owner wasn't , and that may be part of the reason why the staff appeared as kids being home alone. We enjoyed the long beach, and that it felt almost as we had the whole place to our self, but the distance to the cottage was maybe why we must go get toilet paper, towels, our self, and why it took three days for them to fix the broken toilet. There are many little idyllic places where it would be great lounge, but all their chairs are broken by decay.
The food here was acceptable, but plain and a bit boring, certainly if you don't like fish and stay more than two days. The reef is so so, but there are good variety of fish in most sizes.


Pros:
No sandflies
Secluded and very quiet
The ocean front cottage

Cons:
The management
The food (and prices)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StupidMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I only had lunch there while snorkeling. Food was more than ok, but (although we were the only clients) it took ages to get it (about 1h, and staff was missing during that time to order fresh drinks (maybe busy prepping food :-)).
Cottage looked nice from the outside but they look better on their ad's ;-) Still nice & secluded place

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Comerenkwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Snorkelling in the area”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you are planning to stay at this resort then you should check out these reviews: www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g1370797-d2056192-r127094151-Blue_Cove_Island_Resort-Port_Barton_Palawan.html

The reviews here are for Blue Cove as an attraction because you can go on just a boat trip to the place for lunch or for a snorkel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank FollieAdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Cove Island Resort also viewed

Port Barton, Palawan Island
Port Barton, Palawan Island
 
Port Barton, Palawan Island
Port Barton, Palawan Island
 

Been to Blue Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing