We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The resort is great, but renting the van with driver ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Summer Homes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Barton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Homes
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Barton
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The resort is great, but renting the van with driver ....”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The resort is a great deal. Very good rooms and the best bungalows in front. Brother had a room, we (family with small kid) had bungalow. Bungalow was really the best what you can get for 24€. Nice, clean, cosy room. With ok bathroom. Beautiful terrace with sea view and between the terrace (bungalow) and sea is only nice grass and sand beach. The best, esspecially for familys with small kids.
We have only one problem and this problem could be big if would miss the flight. We rent van with driver in the resort. Everything was ok, but when we came to Puerto Princesa the driver become strange. He saw the police and turned away from the main road. And this happened few times and we were a little bit nervose because we had flight. We were drving around PP like that for one hour and he turned from main road each timehe saw police or because there was some police control. We were in PP for the 4th time so we knew that we are close to the airport and it was only 15min left to check in. And than he drove somewhere were it was deadend street, of course I completelly pissed off, two times. I asked him what kind of problem does he has with police and if he has a driving license.... I said also that I wont pay him for the van if we will miss the flight and that I will call the police. Than he went through police controle, he had luck, they didnt stoped him and we were on time on the airport. So be careful when you rent the van. We just trusted the summer Homes but maybe we should check the driver first.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjeta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    49
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
55
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice resort in a good location in Port Barton, directly to the beach. The rooms towards inside are of lower quality and I can only rate these. I would always recommend a cottage with sea view, they are of much higher quality. Very friendly and nice staff that is very attentive. All kind of tours and activities are offered there. Also very good food. You can also eat here directly on the beach lit up by a bonfire. Overall I enjoyed my stay a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercutio1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the middle of the nice white beach in Port Barton. They offer different kind of rooms and cottages. Price between 700-1500 Peso. In the evening the nicest place for dinner. All in all I can recommend this place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiWu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Summer Homes offered the reasonable amenities for a great beach accommodation. SH at Port Barton as the nicest location among the others - accessible by land transport (the public bus San Isidro Express dropped us right off at the entrance), the fine white sand beach is maintained/cleaned daily and great for children playing in the gentle waves in low or high tide unlike the northern area where the water recedes leaving 100meters of 1inch deep water before you can swim or board boat. The areas to either side of the SH beach have swarms of boats parked on the beach - something you can either hate or like (as it becomes a bother for the swim/beach enthusiasts but for us - it serves to offer the freshest sea catch at cheapest price from the fishermen), the fish trading post is around the corner if one misses on the fishermen selling their catch. A short 3-minute walk will bring you to around town if ever you want other eateries/stores. The SH place is a bit off north from the town, just enough to be away from the crowd, offering quiet serene spot to enjoy the scenic sunset.

As to the facilities, though not 3-5 star rating, nor does it offer the rustic atmosphere of typical native huts, they were definitely clean, well-maintained. Screened doors and windows kept the insects away to give us good sleep in the 3 nights we stayed there. The bathrooms are what we are used to in our own house (though theirs is smaller) - working toilet, strong water for shower (hot shower available). I love the garden where we would have our dinner to enjoy the sea view with the beach waves.

Service is excellent by the SH staff - from welcome,registration, settling, tour advice, quality housekeeping and kitchen services (they gave us cooking service for a small fee from the sea catch we bought. - fish, lobster, crabs, shells etc.)

The price is reasonable but going during off season can give you the best rates like we did.

We are definitely coming back to bring our family & friends.

A caution and a warning : From Puerto Princesa to Port Barton Junction is 120km of cemented hiway, but the last 20 km is rough road with some deep portions to challenge the small vehicle. We did get by easily with the public bus going and a private SUV coming back to PP.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Gala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I would miss this place and people here! Its not so much to do in Port Barton except island hopping and scuba diving but what else you need. I had a really good time, did diving and just relaxing... Lovely people!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aritaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I chose summer homes as its location and setting seemed rather nice. My one thing the turn me away from staying further was the concreate rooms. For the philippines its nice to have a more native feel rather then a european or american feel. Summer homes stands out from the surrounding because of just that the concreate everywhere. The grounds are kept nice adn gardens pretty. The resto bar area os simple at best, i had chicken wings, chicken adobo and a chicken cashew mix... the adobo was lacking chicken but had allot of potato..... chicken cashew mix dish didnt have cashews at all... just to keep this short my personal over all experiance would be stay else where and just visit here for a beer or snack.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Summer Homes as a stop off for one night only, but we would definitely return & stay for longer. We found the staff very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spacious, very clean & comfortable. It's in a great location on the beach - the beach isn't a swimming beach, but it's lined with boats that will take you out on amazing day trips. The food & service was excellent, & there's a nice grassy alfresco area overlooking the beach, which is was a great spot to chill out.. definitely recommended as a top spot to stay in Port Barton.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B3ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Barton
19.0 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
14.6 mi away
Elsa's Beach Resort
Elsa's Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Port Barton
100 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sunset Colors
Sunset Colors
#1 of 9 in Port Barton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
#5 of 19 in Port Barton
154 reviews
7.9 mi away
Peace and Love Resort
Peace and Love Resort
#2 of 6 in San Vicente
210 reviews
14.3 mi away
Greenviews Resort - Port Barton
Greenviews Resort - Port Barton
#15 of 19 in Port Barton
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Homes

Property: Summer Homes
Address: Port Barton, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Port Barton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Barton
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Summer Homes Port Barton, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing