We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If concreate rooms are your thing”
Review of Summer Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Homes
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Barton
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I chose summer homes as its location and setting seemed rather nice. My one thing the turn me away from staying further was the concreate rooms. For the philippines its nice to have a more native feel rather then a european or american feel. Summer homes stands out from the surrounding because of just that the concreate everywhere. The grounds are kept nice adn gardens pretty. The resto bar area os simple at best, i had chicken wings, chicken adobo and a chicken cashew mix... the adobo was lacking chicken but had allot of potato..... chicken cashew mix dish didnt have cashews at all... just to keep this short my personal over all experiance would be stay else where and just visit here for a beer or snack.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Summer Homes as a stop off for one night only, but we would definitely return & stay for longer. We found the staff very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spacious, very clean & comfortable. It's in a great location on the beach - the beach isn't a swimming beach, but it's lined with boats that will take you out on amazing day trips. The food & service was excellent, & there's a nice grassy alfresco area overlooking the beach, which is was a great spot to chill out.. definitely recommended as a top spot to stay in Port Barton.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank B3ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at Summer Homes for a week back in 2011 and again in October 2011. I find the service excellent and friendly and the food very good. The location is quiet and the beach sand is very nice to walk. They have a nice location in the center of the beach. There is two room styles to choose from front cabins with balconies and the rooms set back with the main building. They are very clean and comfortable, but I never stayed in the front row cabins. They have a nice yard with places to sit in the front lawn/garden and a couple of nice hammocks on the beach. It is near San Vicente and long beach, but I really enjoyed the island hoping here. On the islands the water is clear, lots of coral and fish for snorkelling. There are few tourists here, so if you want a quiet place and reasonable prices Port Barton is great. I took my initial dive discovery day here and loved it. There are many little islands with beautiful sandy beaches and coral to enjoy. Reasonably priced and good service. I took a boat from Sabang to get here and also use the boat to travel up to El Nido. The Jeepney and minivans are cheaper, but arriving in El Nido by boat was very beautiful, besides the fact that the coast is very nice to see. The trip from memory was 4 hours from Sabang and maybe 5 or 6 hours to El Nido. I swam on the beach of Port Barton Daily, but the water is not clear along the shore, whereas the island hoping provided excellent water clarity.

Room Tip: The rooms connected to the main building are very reasonable and for me I spent little time hanging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tws4nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks in one of the cottages and were happy with the surroundings and service. The downside, of course, is the road access from Roxas but this does keep the hordes away. The beach is nice although there were bits of garbage in places. Overall, it is very serene with great island hopping options and hikes to neighboring areas. Mharj and Lin Lin (office and restaurant managers) we’re always very helpful and friendly. We took our little one (1.5 yrs.) and, for your info, the medical facilities appeared pretty bare bone.This may be a concern for those travelling with very small children. Babies with high fevers – like on our last night in Boracay last year – traversing the nasty road in the wee hours would be enough to stress out any parent. Just a general warning. Really friendly locals and loads of kids for the lil' one to play with, as usual in the Philippines. Very warm hospitality here. Overall, a solid 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages if budget allows. The back rooms simply lack the ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My wife and I visit Palawan annually - this was our fourth time staying here. The entire staff is world class and extremely friendly. We look forward to seeing you all again next year!!! It's like home away from home!! :)

Our cottage was incredibly clean. The service was amazing - we took a boating trip and forgot to lock our door, leaving money and our passports inside. When we returned later in the evening, the room service had made up our room and locked our door for us.

As for the price, it cannot be beaten. There is incredible value to be found here. There is a beautiful view of the beach right outside the building. The property is very quiet.

The only downside to this place is the fact that Port Barton doesn't have 24-hour electricity.

We highly recommend this place to all travelers to Port Barton.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mout12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I spent three nights in one of the rooms on the back and payed 550 pesos per night. The room was basic but very clean and spacious enough, as was the bathroom. The cottages in the front look very nice with their beach view and individual balconies, but there are only four of those, so I you want one, you pobably need to book in advance during the high season. The garden is very nicely kept and overall the resorst is in very good condition. The Philipino girls working there are also extrmily nice and helpful! There is a free wifi (altough quite slow), and a few computers to use if you are not carrying your own.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quicktime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I take the point of some posters about Summer Grdens being the only concrete and brick structure at Port Barton. Every other building is as you would expect in the tropical paradise that is Port Barton, they others are all constructed from bamboo and woven leaves. But you pays your money, you take your choice, up to you ! Ethnic typical room with insects or clean , spick and spn concrete room ! I had no choice , 2 minutes after arrival at PB, a sudden squal forced me to take cover under a bangka outrigger boat where i met a local boatman who recommended Summer Gardens (his employer , of course). It wa the end of the low season and the rooms were very cheap 450 pesos for en suite cool room with fan. It was rainy so the nights were not so hot, there is NO electricity at night at Port Barton, so it pitch black and maybe very hot at times, but for me it was OK. There are rooms and cottages available, the cottages having better facilities, TVs , air con.
But the best thing about Summer Gardens are the staff, they make your stay very happy indeed, but i have to say, as waitresses they re VERY scatty, forgetting orders, unwittingly billing wrong items , if you like efficent people to serve you, please check everything and you will have to insist and cajole them, because they may have forgottten your order.
Again, it is your choice, fun friendly but scatty waitresses making constant mistakes or efficiency ! In the 3 nights that i was there, the good atmosphere was due to the staff, and everyone hd good time. Not in an intrusive way, just in a Port Barton way.
Food and drink was a little expensive, but it did have a beachside location. The food quality was just OK, not bad, not good. There is a daily menu for 300 pesos, which is huge amount in Philippines, but PB is a little pricey for food, all the ownders told me, it is due to the transport costs. But of course the fish was pricey too, caught for free. There is now FREE WiFi, nice gardens, computer room. As a single traveller, i had good time, but sitting for long time with NO food or drink because the waitresses had forgotten about me happened too much, and began to get a little annoying.
The prices are raised slightly in the High Season (November to May), but to westerners they are still bargain prices !

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Barton
19.0 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
14.5 mi away
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
Ausan Beach Front Cottages
#5 of 23 in Port Barton
172 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sunset Colors
Sunset Colors
#1 of 12 in Port Barton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Mermaid Paradises Jr Resort
Mermaid Paradises Jr Resort
#2 of 12 in Port Barton
12 reviews
16.8 mi away
Modessa Island Resort
14.7 mi away
Deep Moon Resort
Deep Moon Resort
#4 of 23 in Port Barton
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Homes

Address: Port Barton, San Vicente, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > San Vicente > Port Barton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Barton
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Summer Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Homes Port Barton, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing