We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Castle feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sauntehus Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hornbaek
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No Castle feeling”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had booked what we thought were a “Castle stay” and were utterly disappointed. When we saw the room, it looked like built in the 80’s, which it probably was, as it had concrete ceiling, something to my knowledge not used in the period this hotel is advertised as being from. Actually the whole building was a newer building, not an 18th century Castle. What should make it out for a “Castle” would be the bed, which had some drapes hanging down from it – that’s it. Otherwise the building was like any other conference Centre, nothing justifying the advertised “Castle experience”. Breakfast was served in another building, which were an old mansion and with some very good will could be called “Castle”, but that’s it. The room itself was OK, breakfast also, so for that it is like any other 3-star hotel, but it wasn’t what we were expecting, when booking a romantic “Castle stay”.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikingBeijing77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    57
    29
    19
    14
See reviews for
13
103
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

10th June - 4th night of cycling trip. Very calm and relaxing after an eventful days cycling! Had asked for a light and airy room as suffer from claustrophobia and they came up trumps. As it's the only hotel your only option was the fixed menu, although I suppose you coud have got a taxi into Hornbaek and found a restaurant there.They offer 5 courses and you can have just 1 course if you want. Plumped for the main which was very good - they sorted me out a salmon plate instead of the offered meat option. Have to say the staff all went out of their way to be very helpful. It's in a beautiful location and obviously quite popular with the locals. It's an historical building so quite quirky, as expected. Breakfast excellent - hot food as well as a cold buffet. Loved it.

Room Tip: tell them what you want in advance. they were more than helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopperWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Fifty kilometres north of Copenhagen you are in a different world - calm, rolling countryside, space, relaxation and rest, and the Sauntehus is a great place to sample all of this. Located a few kilometres outside the lovely summer beach resort of Hornbaek and within a short drive of the stunning Frederkisborg Castle (outside Hillerop) and Elsinore, it would be a great base for a few days of escape.
The hotel is a nicely-worked combination of the old main house, where meals are taken and where there are some splendid public rooms, and the new, where most rooms are located over three floors.There is a sauna, a pool and extensive grounds in which to walk. Rooms have small balconies overlooking the lawns.
Lushly-decorated but quite small rooms have flat-screen TVs (but few of our channels worked), a nice-sized bathroom with heated floor and free wi-fi, although the signal in the rooms can be weak.
Dinner is served until 2000 only in another gorgeous room, although an expert travelling with us said that almost all furniture and fittings in the hotel are fake-old - no matter, but there is a fixed menu, (two starters, one main, cheese, dessert) from which you can choose 3, 4 or 5 courses. It is a shame that there could not have been more choice, although the food was excellent and the wine well priced for Denmark. The fixed menu also means a fixed price, so this is no place for light snackers or fussy eaters.
Breakfast was served in the same room and was fine.
Thoroughly recommended at any time of the year.

Room Tip: Check that there isn't a wedding going on when you visit - the venue is understandably extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location and good atmosphere. Lovely garden. Food and meeting room average. Room to small and old fashioned bathroom. Perhaps a nice place to stay for couples, but for business meetings it is really to old and out of date. Bad GSM coverage, no WIFI in the room. WIFI only in the meeting room. Anyway, a nice hotel with a lovely garden.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit, i dont understand the harsh critics regarding the place. I admit some of the interior is misplaced. But overall my husband and two children had a lovely stay. Especially the restaurant and service there were very good. And overall very good value for money

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngpeteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went for weekend stay. Very nice Christmas decorations and a very cosy sitting room.
The sparkling wine in the room at arrival, was no good, but the waiter was quick to find a nice glass of white wine, when we went to the bar, to find something drinkable.
The dinner was nice and the dinning room fairly romantic, but a little crowded.

Be aware that the Castle is only about 100 years old and fairly small, and most of the rooms are in a new building that is standard '80s

The price was right, compared to the standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We arrived around 1.40pm and was met in reception by rubbish bags and was told our room is ready but b aware that they are still cleaning the hotel. Hoovers everywhere and laundry bags but the room was ok, we got the wedding suite as it was the only one left when we booked! Nice room but all the furniture was in keep with the period or matching!
Wine tasting was 3 awful wines!
Dinner with a drink and hordeuvres was ok but average, but the 5 course dinner was nice and enjoyable!
Breakfast was ok but nothing spectacular

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornbaek
4.8 mi away
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
405 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gilleleje Badehotel
Gilleleje Badehotel
#1 of 3 in Gilleleje
112 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comwell Borupgaard
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Kysthusene Gilleleje
Kysthusene Gilleleje
#2 of 3 in Gilleleje
19 reviews
4.0 mi away
Konventum
Konventum
#2 of 4 in Helsingoer
116 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fredensborg Store Kro
Fredensborg Store Kro
#1 of 1 in Fredensborg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sauntehus Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauntehus Castle Hotel

Property: Sauntehus Castle Hotel
Address: Saunte Bygade 50, Hornbaek 3100, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Helsingoer Municipality > Hornbaek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hornbaek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sauntehus Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sauntehus Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauntehus Castle Hotel Denmark/Hornbaek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing