We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sauntehus Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sleep2Night(Helsingoer)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comwell Borupgaard(Snekkersten)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Skandia(Helsingoer)
$122
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$116
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Brinkly(Snekkersten)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
31
63
31
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
63
31
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastleinteriorjunebuildingstyle
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 161 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went for weekend stay. Very nice Christmas decorations and a very cosy sitting room.
The sparkling wine in the room at arrival, was no good, but the waiter was quick to find a nice glass of white wine, when we went to the bar, to find something drinkable.
The dinner was nice and the dinning room fairly romantic, but a little crowded.

Be aware that the Castle is only about 100 years old and fairly small, and most of the rooms are in a new building that is standard '80s

The price was right, compared to the standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We arrived around 1.40pm and was met in reception by rubbish bags and was told our room is ready but b aware that they are still cleaning the hotel. Hoovers everywhere and laundry bags but the room was ok, we got the wedding suite as it was the only one left when we booked! Nice room but all the furniture was in keep with the period or matching!
Wine tasting was 3 awful wines!
Dinner with a drink and hordeuvres was ok but average, but the 5 course dinner was nice and enjoyable!
Breakfast was ok but nothing spectacular

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Oh my God!

I have never anything that bad.
My husband and I received a gift certificate as a wedding present for a 'Gourmet stay' including gourmet menu and wine tasting.

The latter turned out to be the most amusing and foolish tasting we have ever attended hosted by a complete idiot of a wine waiter student, who didn't know anything about wine, and who served us an almost undrinkable red from the hotel's vineyard in Rumania.

The following dinner was one of the worst we have ever had with a terrible attempt on 'surf&turf' maincourse as the low point of the evening (dry and way too well done veal filet swimming in a discussting sauce of premade crayfish tails).

The stay ended with a unappetizing breakfast where we discovered mold on the rolls!!!
And when we tried to confront the staff, they were no where to be found except for the immigrant cleaning staff, who didnt know what to do.

We now cherish this memory as the worst 'gourmet' stay of our lives.

DON'T GO THERE....

Afterwards we emailed a long complaint to the management, which we have had no respons to what so ever - what kind of service is this?

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Mckenzie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

I booked this weekend away for my partner's birthday. It was not my first choice from all the castel hotels it there was an offer and my first preference was not available.
I don't think this place can be considered a castle. as the other reviewer pointed out, it pretends to be.
Our discounted weekend rate of DKK1700 or EUR180 came with breakfast and the room. That is all. There was no service apart from the receptionist handing us some forms to sign. We were given rooms in the new extension of this "castle".

It is quite obvious that the owners ran out of money to furnish the place and started scraping furnitures together to start business. The new wing has a weird mixture of danish furniture from the 60s and then some classical old furniture. In our room, there are stains on the pillow. The room looks good at first glance, but then if you go closer, you can see plastic mirrors, energy saving white lights, plastic lamp pretending to be crystal, door knobs from Ikea, plastic flowers and in the balcony, cheap camping plastic chairs and table. For half the price, we didn't get a bath tub. The toilet paper was the cheapest you can find in danish supermarkets. Whoever who furnished the place has very bad taste. The beds are dressed to be grand, but on a closer look you see cheap hooks holding the dressing together. The beds are dressed on top but if you can see there metal bottom while picking up something from the carpet.
The cleaning was sloppy. They took the towels without replacing them.
Breakfast was OK. The plus side is that we had breakfast out in the terrace. But the serving staff were not very helpful. There is a small swimming pool (maybe about 12 m long).
The sitting areas comprise of a tea room, a library with cheap posters framed up, and a weird room with 60s modern danish furniture. The sort you find at danish flea markets.

Pretentious is the best word to describe the place.

Given the nice location, the owners should sell it as a nice down to earth getaway instead of a misleading castle experience. It is nothing royal. I felt a bit ripped off not because it cost a lot but because of the expectations I built up from the brochure and website.
I can imagine this place to be very popular with the danes for functions such as weddings etc.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nótt o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

This is one of a small group of potentially interesting looking hotels in the Danske Slotshoteller group. We booked a 'Castle Holiday' for one night with the promise of coffee and cake and welcoming drink together with a 3 course gourmet meal of 'delicious dishes all made with fresh & seasonal ingredients'.
Arriving at 5pm we were told that we were too late for the welcoming fare but promised free after dinner coffee !
Overall, the experience here was very disappointing. The dinner was of poor quality, the bedroom small and lacking in facilities such as anywhere at all to place luggage. There was a small two channel TV but no telephone. Breakfast adequate.
The cost of this package was 1790DKK - around £200.
Need I say more ?

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ibadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews