We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a one hotel town in the Copenhagen suburbs”
Review of Herlev Kro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Herlev Kro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herlev
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is actually a modern building tacked onto the back of a traditional Danish Kro. The rooms are therefore modern, but ironically in need of some updating and redecoration. The hotel is set back from the roads and walking street, so very quiet. There is a supermarket immediately opposite if you need anything that you forgot to pack.

Bad point - please get rid of the rubbish hypo-allergenic nasty plastic pillows! Hotels all over the world now use microfibre that feels like feathers. This was such a shame as the bed and the rest of the room were pretty nice, I did not sleep well as a result.

VERY Good point - the restaurant 'Leslie' is fantastic. Really classic meals prepared with first class ingredients and with real care. Tournedos with Bernais, flambé'd pepper steak, real crepe suzzette, fabulous soups and starters. It got my first 5 DOT review...

Breakfast was a very comprehensive continental style buffet with scrambled eggs and bacon as well as lovely fresh breads and cold meats and cheeses.

Staff were all polite and helpful.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 79 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Clean room right standard good bed and well isolated soundwise. Breakfast is good, although not too lavish by Scandinavian standards. In the evening they have a restaurant giving you the chance to sample Danish kro fare. Hint: select the cook's surprise meal, containing starters, a main dish and desert. Be surprised in a positive way.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for business reasons related to the hospital. The hotel is located where there a lot of shops and boutiques.

Pros: extremely friendly staff, good breakfast, location, decent price

Cons: terrible pillows

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank TheSudburian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Hu Jintao came to Copenhagen to do a bit of shopping, so every salesman in Denmark booked a room in the city. I had to settle on something a bit farther out and the Herlev Kro had a room for me.

While the place was a bit far away from the action, I must say it wasn't that hard to get to the city. Herlev station is a short walk away. There's a small shopping mall and a few restaurants right outside, so you can just barely get by without trekking into CPH.

The room was carpeted and furnished like my mom's house, so it was cozier than the generic minimalist international style you see in so many hotels. Other people who didn't grow up with me may not share the same opinion.

The staff were for the most part friendly and very efficient. Although short of telling me I'm an idiot, the lady behind the bar made her first impressions of me perfectly clear...that before I finished one drink.

The selection in the breakfast was great as far as I'm concerned. Nice pastries. They could make the coffee a bit more accessible than placing it in a bunch of pitchers in the far corner of the room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DumptruckMotorcade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a hotel I enjoyed greatly. The staff are happy and also efficient. I particularly enjoyed the evening restaurant. When you order a sirloin steak it usually comes small, and tasteless. Not in this hotel. I would go as far as to say it was my best experience of a steak in a restaurant EVER. It came perfectly cooked, excellent in size, tender and covered in delicious fried onions. (I suspect they were cooked in with the steak.) Nicely cooked boiled baby potatoes and a cucumber salad added nicely to the meal. The other nice touch was a dish of freshly made gravy that you could apply or not. My second night's meal was a Weinerscnitzel, which was again very tasty and in man-sized portions. The sauteed potatoes were also very nice. Again, a home-made dish of gravy was supplied. I also enjoyed the same starter each night of garlic bread, topped with chopped tomatoes and , I believe, parsley. All in all, very impressive. Only down-side is that the menu is a little limited.

The breakfast was somewhat limited, but more than acceptable.

The free wi-fi is fast, and unlimited. I "Skyped" both nights, and had no drop-out or flickering. the sound was crystal clear.

The rooms are nicely decorated, and kept clean. The power shower was excellent, and hot water plentiful. Each floor has an iron and ironing board, which I was grateful for, and there was a free tea and coffee facility on the first floor. (Shame I don't drink either.) The town's shops are very close by, and there was not a moment when I felt unsafe.

Whilst this was my first visit to this hotel, it will be an automatic choice when next in the area. It comes highly recommended from me.

Room Tip: I found the room quiet, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_LDSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This hotel is too far out for you not be there on business, you need to be closer to Copenhagen if your a tourest. Clean rooms a bit old. Best part good Danish beer in the bar and the food was very good I would call it home cooking in style, great taste.
I was there a night so can not judge the surrounding area but it looked ok from the taxi but remember you are way out in the suburbs so mainly you have houses and business around you here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed at Herlev Kro for the first time last week and stayed for 2 nights due to a business trip to Denmark.
The hotel is clean but a little bit old (not in the sence of old danish kro style).
The breakfast is a buffet and has the necessary food and the room I stayed in was quite spacious. Service was Ok but could be a bit friendlier in the restaurant at dinner time. Food in the restaurant was good and more than enough to eat.
Free Wifi in the hotel and amenities such as ironing machine, hairdryer, minibar etc. was in the room.
If you are on a business trip and working close to Herlev - this hotel is absolutely OK.

Room Tip: I Stayed on the third floor - room 375 - which had a large bed and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vespadirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herlev
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lautrup Park
Hotel Lautrup Park
#60 of 117 in Copenhagen
55 reviews
2.5 mi away
Zleep Hotel Ballerup
Zleep Hotel Ballerup
#1 of 2 in Ballerup
103 reviews
13 mi away
Skjalm Hvide Hotel
Skjalm Hvide Hotel
#1 of 1 in Slangerup
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Frederiksdal
Sinatur Hotel Frederiksdal
#1 of 2 in Kongens Lyngby
130 reviews
7.4 mi away
Comwell Holte
Comwell Holte
#1 of 1 in Holte
159 reviews
3.9 mi away
Scandic Glostrup
Scandic Glostrup
#1 of 1 in Broendby
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herlev Kro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herlev Kro Hotel

Address: Herlev Torv 9, Herlev 2730, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Ballerup Municipality > Herlev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herlev
Price Range: $153 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Herlev Kro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Herlev Kro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing