We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place full of history!”
Review of Dragsholm Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragsholm Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoerve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for a company retreat and basicalky booked the whole castle out. Make sure your room is in the main building, otherwise, you'll have to walk out to the next building over. I stayed in room 25, and it was nice with a huge bathroom (shower and toilet, no tub). It is close to what was the old theater and just next to the museum that houses one of the old jail cells from the olden times. Around the corner in the hall from the room, you will find the bones of one of the ghosts of Dragsholmslot. Since it is an old building, expect the plumbing to be slow in warming up. Also, the stairs, especially to the top levels, are not as level as they should be so watch your step!

The food at the restaurants was also very good and tasty! I would definitely come back!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank tsinkoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 165 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Second time we have visited this romatic and historical site one hours drive from Copenhagen.
Historic buildings from 14th century, modern conference center in old buildings where kings and nobelmen have been living may years ago. Do not miss an opportunity to visit this if should come by. Very authentic and 5 stars service and food in the upper end.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinnogL-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed for a day with my danish fianceè. (it was 15years ago) and everything was filled with magic. We arrived at the sunset and all the candles were light up. The dinner was tasty and the room service excellent. The morning after we had a "wet" walking in the park (it was october). Great stay! I'm going to have a family vac on december!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giadabiggey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our family celebrations for almost 20 people took place at this ancient castle, and was a great success. Included was arrival with coffee and cakes; a guided tour of the castle with stories from its colorful past, a pre-dinner 'homegrown' drink, an excellent 5-course meal in a private exquisite dining hall, and later coffee and avec in the library. After that we could retire to our beautifully decorated castle rooms and I think all enjoyed comfortable sleeps behind the meter-thick walls, undisturbed by noise as well as ghosts. All in all a most pleasant way to celebrate a family event, although not exactly cheap. The castle has some old winding stairs and other challenges for elderly people, but it all adds to the charm. The surroundings offer various nice outings including hikes with nice sea-views and a nearby beach. Staff at the castle were all very helpful and kind during the pre-arrangement deliberations as well as during the event. I look back on our visit to Dragsholm very fondly, and I recommend it to all who would like to try the best of what Danish history, cooking and hospitality combined can offer.

Room Tip: No 21 is the bridal suite, but is offered to otthers as well. Very pretty and with a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobileDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

They have the same menu with four different choices every day. There is maybee one exception compared to dinner and lunch. Breakfest is with no choice, and not in the standard you pay for.
There is no bar in a manchion with over hundred rooms.
Good standard here is keeping one thing on top, the highend restourant. Perfect.
Its a one timer, its the same course the next evening.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Went for one night to check out how it is to sleep in a castle. Definitely wanted to stay longer but had to make way to Copenhagen.

Great grounds and beautiful nature for hiking.

Food is amazing. Breakfast and dinner are alone worth the trip to the castle!

Room Tip: Pick the one with the ghosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hvarcegovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights (Monday and Tuesday). We booked the basic room (via a booking site) as the accommodation at the

Slot seemed quite expensive to us (even for Denmark) and the hotel's english language site was very simple, it was very difficult to understand the different in the room types (there seems to be a whole lot more information and special offers in Danish only).

Our room was reasonable in size and comfortably furnished. The bed was a little soft for us but the bedding was nice and warm. The heating in the room was good. There was no tv in the room.

There was also no mini bar, nor coffee / tea making facilities in the room which didn't bother us as the eatery is open all day, for drinks, meals etc and food can be delivered to the room, if requested.

The bathroom was very small but functional with a great shower and in floor heating. Other than the body and hair care products and towels provided there were no other bathroom products provided, e.g. no robes, no tissues, no shower cap etc.

Dragsholm Slot has developed its own range of body & hair care products. The products make the most of native plants that grow around the slot. These products are provided for guests in the bathrooms and are really lovely.

We had a nice view from the room over the restaurant's herb garden and out past the vegetable fields.

It was cold, wet and windy during our stay but we were warm and cosy in the old castle's rooms.

The drive from Copenhagen was simple and took just over 1 hour (on the return journey we stopped at Roskilde to visit the Viking Museum which was very interesting).

We spent the morning of our full day in Dragsholm walking to the beach (an easy 20 minutes walk along a lane to get to the coast). In the afternoon we drove to Asnaes to visit the Odsherred Art Museum to see thier extensive collection of local art from the past century.

We also spent a few hours over our stay walking around the hotel grounds and exploring the various public areas in the castle (there is a small museum with some basic historical information too). We noticed that english language tours of the castle and complex are offered once a week (Tuesdays) during summer.

The breakfast (included in room rate) was excellent and consisted of various breads and crossaints, soft boiled egg, cold meats and cheese, butter and jam, vanilla yoghurt with sea buck thorn berries, apple juice and tea or coffee. The breakfast was served to your table and the quality was superb. The breakfast room on our first morning was the Eatery and then on the second morning, breakfast was served in the formal restaurant (could possibly depend on how many people are staying as there were very few guests when we were there).

We dined in the Eatery on both nights of our stay. We actually only intended to dine in the Eatery on one night but we enjoyed the meal so much that we decided to dine there on both nights. The food in the Eatery was comfort dining with touches from the formal restaurant. (Unfortunately the formal restaurant isn't open during the week at this time of year , only on weekends).

The compendium had some information (in english) on what to do in the area and you can ask for walking maps & more information at reception.

The staff were happy to provide information but it seemed like you needed to know what to ask, information wasn't offered.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The Eatery was excellent, we enjoyed everything we tried there and the service in the Eatery was great too. We do feel that the hotel rooms and hotel services could be a little better for the price, however.

Room Tip: Try to get a better rate, investigate deals for multiple nights that include dining (you will probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoerve
22.9 mi away
Comwell Soro Storkro
18.1 mi away
Kragerup Gods
Kragerup Gods
#1 of 1 in Ruds Vedby
91 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Sidesporet
Hotel Sidesporet
#1 of 2 in Holbaek
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Zleep Hotel Kalundborg
Zleep Hotel Kalundborg
#1 of 3 in Kalundborg
18 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rosengarden
Rosengarden
#1 of 1 in Foellenslev
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragsholm Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragsholm Castle

Address: Dragsholm Alle 1, Hoerve 4534, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > West Zealand > Odsherred Municipality > Hoerve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoerve
Price Range: $341 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dragsholm Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragsholm Castle Denmark/Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing