We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon on a Sunday in June. Johannes and his family gave a really warm welcome. Fantastice pool and great room.ants
Having walked down into Nijar for dinner in the evening (Sunday!) we found both bar/restauarants in the square closed so we trudged back up the hill to the Cortijo.
Johannes took time out and gave us lift back into town to a different area to a restaurant. Top man!! What service

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    16
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Nijar. The hosts could not do enough to help you. The rooms were just gorgeous and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were just delightful and a good healthy choice of selection. This is the sort of place we love to stay. We have no hesitation in recommending this Cortijo. Thank you Johannes for your kindness and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firesole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Fabulous home shared with us by Johannes and his family. Nijar is a picture postcard town to mooch around - returning then to Cortijo La Alberca for sunshine by the pool with lovely crisp wine provided by our hosts was just perfect. The tapas in the evening were just perfect ( and very filling!) and then topped off with a great breakfast the next day.... we will be back for longer next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I arrived with two friends and we were immediately charmed by the feel of the place and its superb location, overlooking the town of Nijar and the valley beyond, stretching out to the Cabo de Gata National Park. The setting sun illuminated the rust red hills that overlook the Cortijo. Hosts Johannes and Resu welcomed us into their cosy communal room, an extension of their home, as if we were family. The buildings are beautifully preserved without being over-done - eighteenth century solid stone covered with whitewashed adobe, and with original timbers and fittings and period items wherever possible. Underfloor heating, great shower and super comfortable beds guaranteed a good nights rest - three in fact. Johannes is very knowledgeable about the whole district and tells great stories if asked from his very diverse and interisting history. Breakfasts are brilliant - eggs from their own hens, fresh fruit and juice and excellent wholemean bread made by the local panaderia to Johannes´recipe.

It´s a perfect base for spending a few days exploring the amazing landscapes and coastline around the Cabo de Gata park and the surrounding countryside. I recommend the twisting mountain road trip from Nijar to Lucainena de la Torres and back through the spaghettinwestern desert landscapes around Taberna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Cortijo La Alberca for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is perfectly situated alongside rocky hills, just outside of Níjar town. The place is beautifully restored, in perfect harmony with its environment, and the rooms are excellent. We had the opportunity to stay in the large, romantic room 'Olivo' with bath and private terrace with astonishing views and just a few steps from the swimming pool. The organic home-made breakfast was marvellous (an exception for Andalusia, we found). The owners Johannes and his wife were great hosts and guided us to nice places in the surroundings (from gorgeous beaches to the best restaurant in town).

http://www.cortijolaalberca.es/EN/index.html

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our stay at the Cortijo La Alberca can only be described as beautifully relaxing, idyllic. The setting, the lodging, the service were all excellent. Johannes and his wife were perfect hosts in every way. Johannes is just as Andalusian as any Andalusian and can also speak English and German if you can't speak Spanish. The food was delicious. What better way to start the day than breakfast served outside by the pool overlooking the valley and the fruit trees planted by the owners themselves? We set off every day feeling revitalised after the breakfast served here and I challenge you to want something that is not on the menu. The Cortijo is also within walking distance of Nijar. It was off-peak season when we arrived and we were only planning to stay for one evening, but we loved it so much we stayed for our last three nights, and we will definitely be going back. What more can I say?

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Limonero" room, on the corner of the lower building - open, beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Absolutely wonderful place outside of a quiet and lovely andalucian village of Nijar.
Owners are the nicest people imaginable, rooms are cosy and very clean, food absolutely delicious and the view from the hotel breathtaking. I can't wait to come back there as soon as possible!!! Highly recommend it to anybody looking for something really special off the beaten track!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nijar
11.1 mi away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Grande
Hotel Cala Grande
#1 of 2 in Las Negras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hotel de Naturaleza Rodalquilar Spa Cabo de Gata
11.9 mi away
Camping Cabo de Gata
Camping Cabo de Gata
#4 of 4 in Cabo de Gata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
13.9 mi away
Complejo Turistico Los Escullos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca

Property: Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca
Address: Camino de Huebro s/n, 04100 Nijar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Nijar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Nijar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca Spain/Nijar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing