We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to relax and enjoy nature!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax and enjoy nature!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Cortijo La Alberca for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is perfectly situated alongside rocky hills, just outside of Níjar town. The place is beautifully restored, in perfect harmony with its environment, and the rooms are excellent. We had the opportunity to stay in the large, romantic room 'Olivo' with bath and private terrace with astonishing views and just a few steps from the swimming pool. The organic home-made breakfast was marvellous (an exception for Andalusia, we found). The owners Johannes and his wife were great hosts and guided us to nice places in the surroundings (from gorgeous beaches to the best restaurant in town).

http://www.cortijolaalberca.es/EN/index.html

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    16
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our stay at the Cortijo La Alberca can only be described as beautifully relaxing, idyllic. The setting, the lodging, the service were all excellent. Johannes and his wife were perfect hosts in every way. Johannes is just as Andalusian as any Andalusian and can also speak English and German if you can't speak Spanish. The food was delicious. What better way to start the day than breakfast served outside by the pool overlooking the valley and the fruit trees planted by the owners themselves? We set off every day feeling revitalised after the breakfast served here and I challenge you to want something that is not on the menu. The Cortijo is also within walking distance of Nijar. It was off-peak season when we arrived and we were only planning to stay for one evening, but we loved it so much we stayed for our last three nights, and we will definitely be going back. What more can I say?

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Limonero" room, on the corner of the lower building - open, beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Absolutely wonderful place outside of a quiet and lovely andalucian village of Nijar.
Owners are the nicest people imaginable, rooms are cosy and very clean, food absolutely delicious and the view from the hotel breathtaking. I can't wait to come back there as soon as possible!!! Highly recommend it to anybody looking for something really special off the beaten track!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Amazing! This is a great place to rest and recharge energy, close to amazing beaches and Nature (Cabo de Gata is just around the corner...aprox 25 Kms with one of the best preserved Mediterrenean cost in Spain). Breakfast is superb, and the friendliness of Paco (el Aleman) and Resu, the owners, is worth to mention. They are ready to help and give advice for local places. Clean? much more than 5 starts hotels I have been. And price is excellent. We'll go back soon!
One drawback: too many cats (if you 're alergic)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Txiquitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ma. USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Cortijo La Alberca was the perfect base for our stay in Andalusia. It's set in dramatic hills just outside the village of Nijar. This small hotel is beautifully landscaped amidst fruit trees and flowering plants. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The food at both breakfast and dinner was exceptional, particularly the Salmorejo served at dinner. But the best part of the stay was the wonderful staff. The owners, Resu and Johannes, made us feel as if we were family guests. They and the staff were friendly and helpful. It proved to be the perfect base for exploring this corner of Spain.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanora3440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

In a word: stunning. It's a former farmhouse that's been converted into a boutique hotel. The outbuildings have been turned into a handful of white-washed rooms, each one with massively thick walls which keeps them cool in the summer - no need for nasty aircon. They're tastefully decorated, kept spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The one we stayed in had an amazing shower... It's an eco-friendly place as well - they recycle their grey water and generate power from solar panels.

The splash pool is gorgeous, with amazing views down the valley. Breakfast and the evening meal are served around it; quite a setting.

The food is good (if not that cheap when it comes to the evening meals) and if you're a vegetarian the choice is rather limited. The village is within walking distance however, so you can go out and explore.

That's my only criticism of a very special place. After four days there, we felt totally relaxed and refreshed. If it's lively nightlife you're after, don't stay here. Leave it to those of us who like some peace and quiet...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
245 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Cortijo La Alberca was a little tricky to find. However, upon arrival we found the place to be a bastion of tranquility. Details abound here, from the pool, past the patios, to the ceramics in the bathroom, to the large beds. Most important, the area is very, very quiet. I like to read and write for several hours at then end of the day and this place was perfect for that. Furthermore, there are several rooms grouped together in one building and a few others in another. If you wanted to go on a retreat with friends, Alberca would servce you well. Finally, breakfast was prepared for us in the morning. It was delicious and plentiful, a great way to start the next day. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanNic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nijar
11.1 mi away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
1,897 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
668 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Grande
Hotel Cala Grande
#1 of 2 in Las Negras
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hotel de Naturaleza Rodalquilar Spa Cabo de Gata
11.9 mi away
Camping Cabo de Gata
Camping Cabo de Gata
#4 of 4 in Cabo de Gata
52 reviews
13.9 mi away
Complejo Turistico Los Escullos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca

Property: Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca
Address: Camino de Huebro s/n, 04100 Nijar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Nijar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Nijar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Cortijo La Alberca Spain/Nijar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing