We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights, and the first impression is the stunning setting. My favourite moments were sitting on the deck over the lake with a cold beer, enjoying the view, and feeding the trout.

The rooms are interesting, each one individually themed, although the bed was quite uncomfortable and there seemed to be 10 pillows too many.

The main reason for coming here apart from the location for walking, was the food. The dinners are a main event, with everyone being seated at the same time and eating the same food. They advertise 6 courses, but its actually 5 with a granita half way through. However, the quality and taste was fabulous, if a little rich at times. I certainly couldn't eat there for more than 2 nights! The breakfasts were slightly disappointing, and seemed to be the chef trying too hard to be fancy but it just not working. Beef mince with eggs and fried banana's is not really the start to the day i wanted. However, the packed lunches were fab and the wine cellar is a nice touch.

I would definately recommend this place to anyone, take along a big appetite!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    68
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
223
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

What a wonderful gem Cleopatra's is. Richard and Co. go all out to make your stay truly special. The food was mindblowingly good, both at dinner and breakfast. Relaxing with a stuffed belly between meals was all one could do - sitting on the porch overlooking the dam while reading and feeding the trout - magic!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank senorneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

First, let me say the farmhouse is in a beautiful setting and the staff are all friendly and helpful. Loved their two dogs, Treacle (German Shepherd) and Uju (Golden Retriever) who must be their greatest ambassadors. For dog lovers, you'd adore them as they are beautiful and friendly.

Food is generally above average but didn't knock my socks off. I don't think you can classify it as "gourmet". For that I would expect the standard of a one Michelin star chef. Unfortunately it doesn't quite measure up. The food is tasty in general but many of their sauces are too rich with a heavy hand on the cream and butter (which they seem very proud of). The cloying sauces at times masked the freshness of the ingredients which was a pity. I preferred the breakfasts to the dinners actually because they weren't as heavy. Wish breakfast could be a bit earlier though. 9 am is a rather late start especially since many of the attractions are quite a drive away.

The owner-chef and his wife were not there which was disappointing because all the articles about this place put such a heavy emphasis on them personally that you actually expect personalised service from them. It actually has become a professionally run establishment, and not so much of a family run inn.

Rooms are charming but cold in winter, esp the bathrooms. They really should explore installing underfloor heating or bigger heaters in the rooms. The fireplace doesn't really do the job esp when you have to keep adding logs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegyogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon in June and were absolutely blown away by what a stunning place this is. Such a tranquil setting and truly amazing food. Richard the owner and Head Chef was there during our stay and talked us through the extensive menu every night. We felt so welcome and hope that one day we can return again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewLem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Cleopatra for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The food was delicious although I struggled to get through the 6 course dinner each night. The only thing we felt they could have done better was to start the dinner a bit earlier - an 8pm start for 6 course meant that we were nearly asleep at the table by dessert.

The location is great and we spent the days going on hikes in the area. The staff were lovely - extremely friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful part of the world and a very relaxing way to spend a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

The service levels are impeccable - discreet and friendly. SItuated as it is in at the foot of a mountain there are lots of walks right from the door and the two resident dogs are more than happy to show you the way. You must walk a lot however to overcome the effects of large electic breakfasts anf 6 course dinners.

The food is the main reason for visiting. The kitchen tried hard to be innovative and almost each dish we had (including breakfast) was the subject of must interest and discussion. SOmetimes this quest for unusual conbinations did not work, but broadly the cuisine was wonderful.

It was necessary to choose wine in the cellar which felt a little intimidating and a bit rushed - a small typed wine list would have been useful - or a sommelier who knew the wines. This is a small point.

The rooms were a bit pre-fab, but individual and well appointed. We had the Swedish room - the relevance of which escaped me, but it had wonderful views over a pond with great birdlife. Whilst we were there there was a cold wet day and we were able to curl up in the room with our own woodburner stove.

A 'must-stay' Inn if you are exploring the Drakensbergs and you enjoy being decadent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We have just visited Cleopatra for the second time and will go again. It is a jewel of a hotel. The rooms are stunning - No. 1 is my favourite. The food is divine - just make sure you don't fill up on the snacks that are sitting in the lounge tempting you during the day. You need plenty of room for breakfast and dinner. The location is glorious as you can walk from the hotel up into the hills - the hotel's two dogs will accompany you and leap in and out of the streams. Take the car to Highmoor, a few minutes away, where you can walk in the hills and swim in the streams or dams. The last bit of the journey is on a dirt road but not a problem for an ordinary car. We cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugapso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgowan
24.5 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
21.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
27.3 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
89.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
26.6 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse

Property: Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Address: Highmoor Road, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Balgowan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse Hotel Balgowan
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse Kwazulu Natal
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse South Africa/Balgowan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing