We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Certificate of Excellence
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very special place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I spent a few days here and loved it. The setting is beautiful and the view over the dam surrounded by lots busy nest building weaver birds was lovely. The food was superb quality and very creative, the wines excellent. We enjoyed the open fire and the relaxed atmosphere in the bar, which included the hotel pets, who were usually in there. The staff were all very helpful and the rooms were spotless and nicely decorated. We couldn't fault the place and would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    68
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
223
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I spent our anniversary at this lovely farm house.
Every thing is perfect, the accommodation is charming and warm, the location is blissful, views are phenomenal. The food is delicious, rich and beautifully prepared, just what you would expect in a luxury farm house. People who don't like it, don't understand it! It's fantastic! A South African institution.

Room Tip: Feed the trout whilst having tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited on 3 occasions enjoying the tranquility / peaceful surroundings & very good food
One of a kind place .Only real disappointment was on first visit coffee was @ R 12.00 per cup., without a doubt very good value ., 2nd visit ( 20 days later ) R 12.00 per cup., 3rd visit ( 15 days later ) R 25.00 per cup ( over 108 % increase ) I don`t know any one else that charges R 25.00 per cup.or pushes prices up like that.
If only catering for overseas clients., fair enough but the locals should be Cleopatra`s first priority

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We enjoyed many a leisurely afternoon here during our stay in the Kamberg valley. Not sure if this is stanard but we were, on each occasion, welcomed at the car park before being directed to the reception.

From here it only gets better! Great views, an assortment of comfortable sitting areas to lounge, very hospitible staff and great food.
Well worth a visit or to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for one night in March 2014 as we had been recommended by a friend. We found it very hard to find (it was a long way off the beaten track) and when we arrived our room was 'shabby chic' but more shabby than chic. The cupboards had shower curtains for doors and the fridge had a make shift cupboard around it. There were wires hanging from the TV and the mirror over the sink was so low that my husband couldn't see in it! The food was good, especially the orange and chocolate torte, but the meal we had (smoked trout mousse, cauliflower and courgette soups and steak was not that exciting) and we felt the 'chat' before hand rather pretentious. The highlight for us was the surrounding area which was quite beautiful and wonderful for walking. Although the staff were lovely, we felt that the experience was expensive for South Africa which has great places to stay, amazing restaurants and superb fillet steak almost anywhere you go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for 4 relaxing nights at the lodge, the food was exceptional with different 6-course meal every night, this required a 2-3hr hike in the High Moor every day to burn off the excess. The rooms are a little twee but that that is to be expected in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The view, the friendliness and great service impressed us and yes, the food was fantastic, but for the rates charged, I do not expect and appreciate a shower curtain in the bathroom. The low hanging mirror underneath the window and just above the basin is not practical as it forces one for example to sit and shave - something that most men will find quite odd!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgowan
24.5 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
21.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
27.3 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
89.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
26.6 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse

Property: Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Address: Highmoor Road, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Balgowan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse Hotel Balgowan
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse Kwazulu Natal
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse South Africa/Balgowan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing