We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, Above expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Granny Mouse Country House
Ranked #1 of 8 Balgowan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience, Above expectations.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spend 4 days over Easter 2013 there,will go back again.
From check in to check out, great attention to detail. Great food, friendly staff, amazing views.
Dressing gowns and slippers are provided, we did not use the spa facility but it look very nice, and the prices quite reasonable. Loads of things to do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponny69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    146
    59
    14
    6
See reviews for
106
300
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When booking our stay for this breakaway, I was very impressed with the follow up and interface from the hotel to ensure all our bookings for dinners and spa treatments were adressed and confirmed. It was therefore disappointing to arrive and find the spa arrangements were mixed up and made for the wrong days. We did not get much help from the staff to suggest alternatives. The evening in the eaves restaurant there was a continuous mix up with food that was ordered and in the end just to get on we ate what ever came from the kitchen. This restaurant was not worth the money paid. On Leaving the house to return to our rooms , it was raining heavily and the guests had used all the umbrellas to leave, at 9.30pm there was no front staff to assist remaining guests with this problem and when we eventually found someone they told us we would just need to run through the rain and dry off when we got to the room. So much for 4 star service . The rooms were basic and a bit worn and if you did not have fire making skills the wood is for show. The turn down service was terrible, towels and gowns were left just where you put them and on the second day they arrived at 9pm to do the turn down service. Breakfast was a great disappointment and was not worth getting up for. All in all a great disappointment and we will definitely not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The buildings are 'chocolate box ' pretty and they make an instant impression. The wedding chapel is lovely . Plenty of covered parking- good when it is hot.

Checking in is handled in a very professional and efficient manner and you are offered a glass of champagne whilst checking in.

We had a few problems with our shower on both days of our stay, but they were handled by the maintenance staff on a timely basis.
We enjoyed breakfasts but found service became a bit chaotic when they became busy.The selection of hot breakfasts is very good.
We enjoyed the Bistro and found the chocolate mousse to die for. The fine dining restaurant we thought a little over priced and we did not get our meals at the same time so we had to wait to start. We had the cheese board but they forgot the biscuits so we had to ask for them.
We had a few niggles about our room and they were:
Two empty planters outside one with cigarette butts in and the other filling up with water - great for the mosquitos.
The Room should have a river view and we could hear a fast running river but could not see it because of the trees. The trees made the room dark as well.

The room is lovely, very clean with modern bathroom and lovely big bed. Dressing gowns and slippers provided. Tea ,coffee also provided.
We did not use the Spa .
We enjoyed our stay but as I say in my title the staff make this hotel .

Room Tip: we had room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-TravellerAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A little difficult to find without map coordinates but once there, a wow of a place. The name comes from the nickname of the founder. The Wedding Chapel is like something from a fairytale & that combined with good food & a really extensive wine cellar makes a really good combination. However, I did not rate the breakfast too much.
The interior of Granny Mouse is full of charm - from the log fires in the entrance to the Gothic arched doorways. Dining in the wine cellar, which we had to ourselves, was a totally romantic experience & with butler service.
The rooms were a little disappointing. The bathroom accessories featured items from the spa but you didn't know what they were. I would have liked the rooms to be a bit more cosy & warm as regards colour schemes & they so miss out on not using the mouse theme enough as it would blend so well with the character of the place. This is why I have rated it as 'very good' rather than excellent.

Room Tip: near to reception in case of rain - otherwise, a walk through the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham Road, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The views over the neighbouring farms and river are pleasant – however I don’t understand why they don’t plant some trees to hide the road?
Dinner was superb both in terms of service and food. The service staff were friendly fast and always one step ahead. Possibly the reason breakfast was disappointing we expected more considering what we had received the night before. The staff were hardly of the same calibre (thought we had changed hotels during the night) the buffet was poorly stocked – had to ask if they had croissants or savoury breads – everything available was sweet. The food on the buffet (cheese and hams in particular) had become hard as they were left open and under an air-conditioner unit. The coffee was situated on the buffet so had to get up every time you wanted a refill.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is run by the staff to a reasonable standard. But with no evidence of a manager the experience is simply average.The weakest part of the stay was breakfast - and in particular the buffet - which is limited, boring, left out for hours getting stale and rancid and bulked up with cheap products. Granny Mouse has a great setting and nice. But it's now overpriced and not a place I would rush back to...but it could so easily be turned around if a professional hotel manager was appointed and some core service standards were deployed.



Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnmjm133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was lovely just after New Year 2013. The setting is beautiful and the food is really excellent: we dined at the Eaves and the Bistro. The Eaves is good value for money; fine dining at a reasonable price. The pools are rather small, but there are two of them - we did not find the time to use either, what with driving around the wonderful Midlands and Giants Castle. The many lovely lounges for just sitting and relaxing are a novelty. We had a river-facing room that was very relaxing. The hotel is close to many attractions in the Midlands. There is unfortunately no gym, contrary to what was advertised. I did not get to use the spa, but would like to have done so.

Room Tip: River-facing room looks like a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malabarcaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear malabarcaves,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Granny Mouse. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and loved the food in the restaurants.

Please let me know where you saw it advertized that we have a gym on the property, so that I may correct this information. You can contact me on lauren@grannymouse.co.za

We look forward to welcoming you back to Granny Mouse in the future.

Kind Regards
Lauren Huckle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgowan
7.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
200 reviews
7.9 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
77 reviews
26.5 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#3 of 17 in Nottingham Road
132 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#4 of 17 in Nottingham Road
186 reviews
4.4 mi away
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
#4 of 13 in Nottingham Road
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granny Mouse Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granny Mouse Country House

Property: Granny Mouse Country House
Address: Old Main Rd | R103, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Balgowan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Balgowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Granny Mouse Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granny Mouse Country House Hotel & Spa in the Natal Midlands Meander offers accommodation as quaint as the name of the hotel implies. Old-world charm, embedded in the foundations of the hotel, complements the rural ambiance and modern comforts of the rooms and venues. This elegant hotel with two restaurants and spa is situated in the picturesque KwaZulu Natal Midlands at the foothills of the uKhahlamba-Drakensberg, one of South Africa’s world heritage sites. Here we offer country hotel hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Granny Mouse Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granny Mouse Country House Hotel Balgowan
Granny Mouse Country House South Africa/Balgowan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing