We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granny Mouse Country House
Ranked #1 of 8 Balgowan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay.

The rooms and service were superb.

I lost my wife for 4 hours, but she was in the spa

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve888London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 513 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

For the price you pay you would think they could have better bathrooms and underfloor heating - yes its lOvely and it has plenty going for it but i think they are charging for a reputation which they shouldnt have anymore :(

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Front Office Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Dear Adelemp,

I am very sorry to hear that Granny Mouse did not meet your expectations during your visit to us in June of last year.
Since your stay with us, we have opened up our 12 new Deluxe Suites that are spacious with a large seated window lounge area and underfloor heating in the bathrooms. All of our rooms were renovated in 2010/2011 along with complete bathroom refurbishments.
Each room also has its own fireplace and aircon that doubles as a heater.
We believe that we are very competitively priced in the area, and frequently run special offers throughout the year.
I do hope that you will reconsider paying us a visit in the future to see all the changes that have taken place.
If there is anything else that i can assist with, please contact me on lauren@grannymouse.co.za

Kind Regards
Lauren Huckle
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

What a truly amazing few days at GrannyMouse. This establishment is truly outstanding with every bit of warmth and care felt. The rooms are exquisitely decorated especially the massive bay windows which feels like you can just touch the blue skys. If I could bath in that enviroment every evening I do not think I would ever leave home! With all the oils, fresh lavender I went crazy every evening just pouring all the bubble baths, salts and oils into the tub feeling like a queen when I stepped out. Overlooking the tranquil Lions River and rolling hills it gives you such a feeling of peace and natural beauty. The real treat has to be the evening my husband and I treated ourselves to the fine dining without the children which was fabulous. The presentation of the food was outstanding needless to say delectable and tried to savour every mouthful and every sip of wine which was specially paired with every meal. The staff were really friendly and accomodating especially with our children and not so young mother in law driving her around in the golf cart wherever she needed to go. As for Granny Cat who looks after the beautiful gardens what an inspirational woman to be around. I would certainly reommend this beautifully warm piece of heaven to anyone who is looking for a romantic weekend away or even with the children. There are so many activitys around the place and were still discovering them on our last day when it was time to go home and vowed that we had to go back to continue our adventure. Thank you GrannyMouse for the amazing week!

Room Tip: Luxury Rooms next to the Lions River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent a very relaxed weekend at Granny mouse. There are plenty of lounges to just sit and chill. Loads of up to date magazines to page through while you watch the day stroll by. The wine list is extensive and exceptionally well presented. The wines on offer are good and of very good value for money. There is of course their private wine cellar to choose your own wine, if you really feel like splashing out.

The food - in a word - devine. We ate in the Bistro, but there is also the option of the Fine dining experience.

The staff are fantastic. Nothing is a problem for them and they are more than willing to assist.

The rooms are well appointed and cozy. the beds are devine. We have not slept so well in a long time. I normally travel with my own pillow, but did not need it here. The shower was awesome with heaps of pressure and loadds of hot water.

Not too much to do at the hotel, but there is buckets to do in the surrounding area. A definate one to return to, especially in winter with lots of fire places everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Africantourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our second visit to Granny Mouse and again we stayed in the New Wing. With the welcome drink and ultra quick check in done, we were soon unpacked and relaxing in the most beautiful suite overlooking the waterfall and river below, the birdlife is wonderful too.
The ambience is fantastic, service always comes with a smile, the food is to die for and Evan the Chef and his team prepared food which was better than the 5 star Hotels here in Cape Town. Granny Mouse is truly a wonderful place to stay and we would recommend it to everyone. The FOH staff were exceptional. Many thanks to all for another memorable stay, especially to Lauren. Thank you.

Room Tip: The new wing is fantastic especially the upper suites with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We were invited back for a complimentary night to experience true Granny Mouse hospitality after a previous trip, and I must say the staff pulled out all the stops to ensure we were spoilt! We had champagne on arrival and were shown to our fabulous suite in the new wing. It was luxurious, modern and beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed susnet views of the river followed by a lovely meal in the Bistro. It was truly a 5 star stay and I would definitely recommend the new wing to all travellers looking for a bit of luxury in the midlands.Thank you Granny Mouse!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamper789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Granny Mouse is a small (although much larger than it used to be) country house hotel, tucked away in a valley by the river just off the "Midlands Meander" near PieterMaritzburg.

Most of the buildings are thatched - our "Deluxe Room" was a cottage on its own with a private balcony overlooking the river, a real fireplace with more than enough chopped dry wood, and a bathroom with corner bath and walk in shower. The bed was huge and superbly comfortable.
The only grip with the room was that there were no music facilities, either on TV or a radio or CD player - for a longer stay, this would have been worse, but for one night, not a major issue.

The staff are all delightful. The quality of build and fittings is good - a lot of wood and thatch makes it all very homely. Couldn't work out the thinking behind the decorations and soft furnishing ... "quirky" would be a kind description, but basically it is all a bit random.

My wife went to the spa for some massage treatments which were excellent, and there is a massive range of therapies available.

In the evening, we ate in the "fine dining" restaurant, and were blown away by the best meal we have had in ages - the current chef has trained in Michelin starred restaurants in Germany and it shows. The food is simply fantastic, beautifully presented, but still food (which some fancy restaurants seem to forget - people still want to eat and not just look at a piece of culinary artwork). Together with a very fine vintage red from Stellenbosch, our meal came to about £80 for both of us. Unbelievable.

We would recommend Granny Mouse to anyone wanting a totally relaxing, quality get away, the few flaws it has actually add to the sense of character than the sometimes sterile atmosphere of modern hotels. Just needs that music in the rooms .... :-)

Room Tip: Not sure what the Deluxe Suite would add over a Deluxe Room - go for Room 1 , it is the best situate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgowan
7.9 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
108 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
222 reviews
14.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
#2 of 12 in Nottingham Road
139 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#5 of 17 in Nottingham Road
211 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hawklee Country House
Hawklee Country House
#1 of 12 in Nottingham Road
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granny Mouse Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granny Mouse Country House

Address: Old Main Rd | R103, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Balgowan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Balgowan
Price Range: $176 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Granny Mouse Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granny Mouse Country House Hotel & Spa in the Natal Midlands Meander offers accommodation as quaint as the name of the hotel implies. Old-world charm, embedded in the foundations of the hotel, complements the rural ambiance and modern comforts of the rooms and venues. This elegant hotel with two restaurants and spa is situated in the picturesque KwaZulu Natal Midlands at the foothills of the uKhahlamba-Drakensberg, one of South Africa’s world heritage sites. Here we offer country hotel hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Granny Mouse Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granny Mouse Country House Hotel Balgowan
Granny Mouse Country House South Africa/Balgowan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing