We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok place, but not 4 star.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodridge Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodridge Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Kelowna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok place, but not 4 star.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last week. Woodridge has a lot of potential, which they unfortunately have not taken advantage of. From reading other reviews, I realize this means that the manager lady is going to probably write a very long response to my review, so I'll do my best to be clear.

We arrived and had a lovely little picnic on the grass out front. My comment to management would be that while the food was nice picnic fare, there was just far too much of it - it could have easily fed 4. Save your money and give more reasonable portions. The same was true of breakfast: they brought a tower of plates with granola, yogurt, meats, cheeses, fruit, etc, a large pitcher of orange juice, and a full pitcher of milk...and we enjoyed it....and then the waiter came up and asked us what we wanted for breakfast!! Added was bacon, sausage, toast, eggs, etc. Foolish of us to accept, but we spent the whole day feeling overly full. Again, not really a complaint, but please -- save your money and decrease the waste.

For dinner, the serving staff was very friendly and eager to please, but not very good. We were almost alone in the dining room, and the wait staff was literally waiting on our call, but did not seem to have the training to know how to serve. Empty dishes or drink cans, etc that we placed on the edge of the table, or even on the next table over were just left there after several visits from the waiter / waitress...new drinks that were brought were often placed in an awkward position on table, and we were never asked if we'd like our drinks replenished. The waitress took our orders and clearly knew nothing about the dishes on the menu, and when we asked her questions she would simply read the menu entry to us. Lol!! She missed simple things like asking how I'd like my steak cooked, etc.... again not really a big complaint, but certainly not the type of service you'd expect from a 4 star establishment. The food was not so great. Again big portions, but the Moroccan shank was quite overcooked and dry, and the kingklip and prawns dish had prawns that tasted like they were microwaved straight from frozen. Not enjoyable.

Side note: there is a cat that walks freely around the hotel and dining room, and as long as you have food, it's your best friend. It was cute and entertaining, but it stopped being cute when the begging got out of hand and it dug its claws into my thigh while I was dining.

In general, the staff were very friendly...gardeners and housekeeping staff would greet you as you passed, Octavia was very friendly and helpful at the front desk, and Nelson in the dining room was in general just a really nice guy.

We stayed in the "honeymoon suite", which was simply ok. Whoever has done the tiling work should be run out of town...the bathroom needs a bit of an overhaul, but nothing was too bad...just not great. The tv was small and hard to see from the bed, but not like we came to the midlands for tv. Lack of wi-fi (which was advertised on the hotel website) was a big disappointment. It is very unfortunate that for a place with the magnificent view that this one has, that the building doesn't have more windows that allow you to see it. What windows there were, the view was largely blocked by the trees / bushes. Hairdryer provided did not heat up. No phone in room to call front desk.

My wife was extremely excited that there was a pool just outside our room, and couldn't wait to get to the hotel and relax poolside in the sun. The pool is a long one the starts at a high level, and flows down to lower level pools down the length of the hotel...between the rooms and the brilliant view. The management in my opinion are CRAZY to have such a wonderful thing at their disposal, and to let it fall into its current state. It looks clean on the surface, but has thick fuzzy stuff growing all over the sides, ladder, etc. No chance you'd catch me swimming in that swimmer's itch waiting to happen.

There is a clean pool outside the spa, but I cannot understand who managed the renovation in this area. The existing pool has had a timber deck built around it, but the crazy thing is that the deck extends about 500-600mm over the pool on all sides...including over the stairs. It is not obvious how one would easily get out of this pool if they decided to get it. Also of note is the deck above the pool area that has a raised area next to a lower area....there is no railing between these areas, to protect you from the 1.5m+ sheer drop. Not clever on their part.

The best run "department" of this hotel has to be the landscaping. It is really quite well done and kept. Bravo.

They have hired some friendly and eager-to-help staff, but they lack proper training.

Maybe the hotel technically meets the 4 star rating criteria (which they base their pricing on), but they don't give a proper 4 star experience.

Manager lady: don't spend your time writing a long response to this review until you have had a mystery guest or similar professional give you an honest review of their stay and what would be expected for a 4 star experience, and have made changes that address their comments.

Until such time, not a place that I would stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelguykelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodridgeEstate, General Manager at Woodridge Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are surprised at this review and cannot place this couple. Its impossible to assist guests when they choose to complain via a public forum rather than bringing their opinions to your attention while onsite. Management are always available. WiFi would have been addressed as would the swimming pool where possible and applicable. We are glad to have provided too much food rather than too little so a rather unusual take on things.

Let's put this in perspective : We host weddings, conferences and leisure guests daily i.e. hundreds of guests a month. Based on our internal reviews this just gives a personal opinion which everyone is quiet entitled to. We however feel is not entirely representative of the normal reviews. Please see our website for more positive reviews.

We take all reviews really seriously and thanks this couple for their frank advise and opinion.

We will not comment further. We respect your opinion. We just wish you had discussed this onsite then something proactive could have been done there and then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    10
    5
    12
See reviews for
14
22
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Held our management conference at Woodridge this week. If you are a relaxed team with a preference for cosy country home comforts, tasty local food and early nights, this comes highly recommended. Service was excellent, they provided variety of fun teambuilding events and the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbier41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodridgeEstate, General Manager at Woodridge Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your positive review. We certainly try our best to please. Not easy to please everyone. We hope that you will come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I understand weddings are a big expensie business however its not ideal when you leave a wedding feeling than you have been taken advantage off. We had a wedding at Woodridge a couple of weekends ago. The whole venue was booked out for the wedding from the Friday night until the Sunday. The Friday night there was a braai which was R130 per head ! Excessive I thought but that was before we ordered drinks. You could not order a bottle of wine under R200 ! We never saw a manager the whole night and I must say after a few drinks we left early with a bad taste in our mouths and a feeling of being taken advantage off. The wedding was stunning and the food was great pity about the shoddy service, The bar man was probably the slowest I have ever had to deal with and amazingly enough his prices kept changing the whole night - supposed to be an open bar but we were charged and the prices varied. The same bottle of wines prices varied from R 140 to R180??? Can help thinking that the waiters and staff were taking the mickey out of the guests. When we complained to the manager she wasnt much help and couldnt provide answers. We had a babysitter both nights. The original price was R50 per hour which is pretty standard. We paid the babysitters on the Saturday night only to find out later that the babysitting had been added to the main bill as well at a whopping R 85 per hour!!! This had to be rectified after we had left. Thank goodness we found out ...imagine the other things we were charged for that we were not supposed to be. TEveryone was looking forward to using the spa - this was also a let down. The massages where average and the manicure lady did not know what a french paint was???

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollardski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodridgeEstate, Owner at Woodridge Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Well let's give our side of the story and we are not making excuses - just the facts.

A general comment - The problem guests seem to have is that when looking for "THE MANAGER" they want a Man in a suit - then they believe the manager is present. Our General Manager is a lady . A small lady and she is personally present at all functions to a point and then hands over to a Duty Manager once satisfied all is going smoothly. The Duty Manager for the night was Nelson - also the Head Bar Man. A mature, well spoken and competent gentleman. Realistically from a business perspective 1 person cannot be at functions 24 \7 - 7 days a week !! The GM is however on 24 hour call out and the Duty managers are all well trained and competent - experienced in dealing with guests who have consumed vast amounts of alcohol as often the case at weddings.

Boma Braai R130.00 - for 300 gms of meat per person - boerewors, Lamb chop and large chicken drumstick. , 4 salads, 2 starch dishes, fresh bread and rolls plus dessert ? Definitely not overpriced - You cannot eat a steak at a Spur for this. I think this guest is out of touch with food pricing. !!

We most definitely sell wine below the R200.00 mark. So this is simply untrue. We will willing supply a full wine list. Prices vary depending on your choice .
The Wine issue on the wedding night was thoroughly investigated by the Manager on the night and afterwards by myself. Let's put this into perspective - it was +_ 11 pm and guests had had A LOT to drink when this query arose ! The Bar Tab was +_ R 20 000.00 with 60 bottles of white and 60 bottles of red wine provided by the Groom's Dad. Now why would anyone be buying wine ??? The GM asked the Barman this exact question. The Barman's response - I have SOLD NO WINE !! It is all on the tab . The Gentleman in question could not tell the GM What wine he had apparently purchased !! Could not remember. Certainly the sales records showed no wine sales for the whole day and the stock balanced . The Bar Tab Wine was brought in by the Dad - not our stock and this is what guests were served ? The interesting thing is the pricing claimed - not R200.00 so a complete contradiction.

Bar Service : It anyone has a solution to this matter we would love to hear about this. I have not been to any bar in the world where 120 guests can all be served at once. There are crunch times during service and we put on additional hands during a wedding. The Bar space can only accommodate 4\5 barmen and they do their very best. On this evening we did have a system issue which could not be rectified despite every effort to do this and they had to use a manual system. It slowed the process, not something planned. Guests unfortunately -especially when they have had lots to drink - can be totally unreasonable.

Babysitting - The Advertised rate is R 85.00 per hour. Not R50.00. Generally Mom's are more than willing to pay this for someone experienced to care for their children - these days an important task. This is not our core business and an extra service - not compulsory but optional. This is the price we believe appropriate to pay for someone to care for a child. Not per child - but per room - so babysitters do care for more than one child and in this case I believe it was 2 children. We pay the Babysitter well - it is not a service offered lightly. Unfortunately the guest did not follow procedure which is carefully documented and paid the Babysitter directly. The babysitter did not inform the office - I guess thought she would get double pay !! We charged the room account per normal process. When brought to our attention this was sorted out immediately and the staff member was removed from duty for being dishonest. An honest mistake on the part of reception which was rectified immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed at Woodridge for two nights for a wedding in August. Due to the number of guests not everyone could stay in the accommodation near the main building. We were allocated to "Forest" rooms in the new estate development and yes the roads are not perfect, but the hotel does offer a shuttle service and some guests used their own cars seemingly without problem. When the building work is completed this is likely to be sorted. We found the staff friendly and helpful and our accommodation was of a high standard (excellent bathroom, huge bath and shower, large towels, toiletries etc) and very comfortable (good quality linen, electric blankets, heater, tv on the wall etc). The breakfast was of a high standard with excellent home made muesli, selection of fruits, very good selection of local cheeses, muffins etc. My scrambled eggs and mushrooms were outstanding. We thought the coffee was a bit weak and it was changed for us without any problem. The wedding was beautiful and the set up spectacular. The dinner was of a high standard with the dessert particularly excellent - guests at the table all raved about it. As a frequent international traveller I would say Woodridge has a very good offering and good be excellent if they addressed a few areas. I am sorry that other guests found it necessary to be so scathing about the Hotel, it certainly was not our experience. Generally we have found it you treat people well they go out of their way for you even if there is confusion over a reservation....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodridgeEstate, Owner at Woodridge Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks for your very positive review of the hotel - we sincerely appreciate you positive opinion and calm and sensible assessment.
This review is from the same weekend as a negative review and yet the same hotel , same staff, same accommodation and food - honestly has to make you think - doesn't it ??

As an hotel owner we are grateful for the many many thousands of guests who visit our hotel, who come and enjoy the facilities and the weddings hosted by the hotel. They come with positive minds wanting to have a good and happy experience. We certainly try our very best to please our guests. We try our best to deliver value for money and a good experience.

Considering the law of averages - I presume that you cannot please everyone all the time. Generally our weddings, hosted very single weekend - on average 100 people are 99% of happy guests. We strive for 100% satisfaction and achieving 99% certainly has to be good.

This is not an easy business to keep all guests happy and achieve a perfect 10 out of 10 but after 13 years of successful business,and more than 600 weddings under our belts, we will certainly not give up trying our very very best at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

we had to attend a weding at the hotel - we made reservations for my wife and i and my 2 sons and my eldest sons wife and there 10 month old baby - making sure we all had seperate rooms - (3rooms) all was confirmed months in advance - on arrival only 2 rooms are given to us putting my 2 sons his wife and baby all in the same room - a 30 yr old and 25yr old with wife and baby who is breast feeding all in a small poky room - this is after makeing sure all my arrangements were in order and i had paid in full before arrival - now the hotel is fully booked and they are not able to help - very sorry we are full what must we do they say - i blew a fuse and meraculasly a room apears - very sorry but being in the travel business as a tourim markeing company owner and having stayed at over 250 hotels and lodges - i am always looking at what a property offers - so brings me to my next observations - the food is very average - no welcome on arrival - no milk in the room for tea/coffee - the roads in the estate are undrivable in a car you will need a 4x4 or damage your car.i dont know how it was posible for them to get 4 stars it is definatly 3 star only.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodridgeEstate, Owner at Woodridge Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am not commenting but attaching the Father of the Brides response to me. The person writing the review is is brother. The language used by this guest was shocking - the worst we have experienced in 13 years. Threatened staff and had the brides mother in tears. Judge for yourself !!

Good day Sue,

Let me start by saying I am embarrassed to be related to this person, given the inexcusable behaviour displayed on Saturday 18 August 2012 (the day of my daughter’s wedding!)

I can only talk to the issue of the accommodation. This was simply a case of poor communication between myself and the complainant. As you know there were only 28 rooms available at the venue and I had to allocate these as best I could to ensure that as many of the family and friends who had indicated a preference for staying at the venue were accommodated and did not have to travel to other venues. We also instructed Cynthia to follow our allocation. I am not sure why or how the change from a family cottage to normal room actually occurred (I may have been under the impression that his son’s and daughter in law were staying on Saturday only, and my contract specifies that these 15 rooms have to be filled by 2 people for both nights) – but I did try to explain to my brother on the 18th that the cottages are also really in one room. I was not aware of his instructions on booking and in retrospect should have liaised better with him on this issue, but when one is dealing with 114 guests these small things can get missed. From your part, you would have been justified in assuming that these discussions had taken place. My brother keeps harping on that he was paying and it was his booking – he does not seem to understand that with a function like this someone needs to coordinate ALL bookings to ensure that rooms are properly allocated and utilised. I also tried to explain that there were other cases of guests sharing a room, and there were other family members and close friends who had also been placed “on the mountain”.

The fact that someone cannot conduct themselves in a respectful manner, or understand that this is just one or two nights for them but is a lifetime event for the bride and groom, is beyond comprehension. People sometimes get a bit carried away by their own sense of importance.

Sue, I wish you success in this matter and hope it can be resolved. I will of course be putting my own comments on Tripadvisor.

Once again, my apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Balgowan hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were not greeted on arrival by the gentleman standing in reception. A lady came out of the office and gave us our keys after initially not finding our name on the guest list. We were given the Honeymoon suite. Very large room with twin beds pushed together. One heater on one side of the room and electric heaters on the bed. Room was freezing. Bathroom was freezing and the tiling and grouting were unfinished. No handtowels. No phone to phone reception. Used our own cell phone. Lady arrived with two handtowels and told us that they never put these out as people dont require them. Went for dinner which was outstanding. The food was really delicious and the choices were plentiful. Left a do not disturb sign on our room door. Came back to find that they had been in to turn down the beds.
Following night, getting ready for dinner, we had do not disturb sign up again, lady knocks and walks right in! No wi fi reception. They explained that they had had a power failure and they are working on it. They worked on it until we checked out and then gave us our two coldrinks on the house for the inconvenience. Four TV channels - no news. Did not make use of Spa.
Views spectacular, location is very good. Four Stars??? I dont think so!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ragatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodridge Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I begin this response by stating that this comes as no surprise. This couple went out of their way to be difficult and made the life of every staff member that they encountered difficult. In fact impossible.
I believe that their issues started prior to arrival. At the last minute they tried ot cancel because they could not get car hire from Oribi airport as it was Durban July Weekend.
My reservationist tried her best to assist them and then offerend to move the booking to another weekend. They advised that she should hold the booking and take it they were coming. They initially tried to demand a refund of a non refundable deposit.
They arrived mid afternoon and so did trouble. They were definitely not in 2 beds pushed together Room 10 has a large kind sized bed.
WIthin minutes of arrival they started their demands. We had just experienced a power outage caused by Eskom. Our generator kicked in immediately but upset their TV tuning - this was an issue. They also complained about the fact that they only had 2 Bathsheets and 2 Bath Towels. They wanted Hand Towels. These were delivered immediately - not by some lady - but by the GM who introduced herself. The wife attached our GM about the Internet. We explained that we were running on generator and that the interent was down. Eskom had been called to sort out their pole problem.
The Eskom outage lasted about 1.0 hour and the generator supplied power all this time. Unfortuantely whent the Eskom power was restored we discovered that the transmitter to the rooms had been affected by this power surge. We called our IT company immediately.. It was however late on Friday afternoon and they advised they could only come on Monday. Guests were advised they could get emails in the main centre. This router was working and separate from the rooms. Unfortuantely no free internet access could be given as the Firewall machine was affected and facebook and internet access was prevented. This was a constant issue for these guests who complained about this non stop and eventually told the receptionist that she was lying.

With regard to the room being cold - this has not been an issue in the past. The rooms has 2 wall mounted heaters and one additional oil heater. These would have gone off only for a couple of moments. The bathroom does not have a heated floor - definitely not a 4 star requirement and not advertised to have this. On the rates charged and the cost of Eskom this would definitely not be an option. The bathroom has a heater of its own. It was an exceptionally cold weekend and we are sorry that the guests felt cold.
Dinner was a huge issue. This couple was on a DBB rate. The dinner provision includes 1 starter, 1 Main course and 1 dessert off a full a la carte menu. This couple ordered 6 starters, 2 mains and 2 desserts. Staf were given the run around second to none. The manager on duty complained to me the next morning that she had never met such an unreasonable couple before. They were shown to a table for two. Refused this. Insisted on sitting at a table for 8. Then performed about the lighting . Were offerend candles and went on about this not being a romantic weekend - they need to see the menu . Not one of the staff on duty at anytime during this stay had one good word to say about this couple. They were clearly determined to be unhappy no matter what.
I can honestly say that the staff were all aware of their attitude and tried their very best.
They were not charged for adidtional starters having rudely told the waiter it was included. He was totally intimidated.
They were not charged their bar bill simply because we did not want any more drama and preferred to let them go as quickly as possible.

We have blacklisted this couple and would not welcome them back to the hotel again
We did not give them a guests questionnaire to complete. There just seemed to be no point. Everything would have been wrong.
We had some lovely guests in for the weekend. Our guest reviews were excellent and other guests were full of smiles and seemed extremely happy. They had the same treatment as these unhappy guests. I guess some guests you simply cannot please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our room was a nice size with heaters and electric blankets. The bathroom was very old and needs to be redone. The king size bed was two single beds joined together.

We felt that the staff, especially the receptionist was not interested in taking ownership in 2 requests we had. This was disappointing.

The drinks, even soft drinks and water was priced extremely expensive and with no bar fridge in our room we had no alternative.

We enjoyed the good food and the setting of the Hotel.

Room Tip: C1-4 Get allot of car noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodridge Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback KarlB. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with feedback and your feedback is definitely taken seriously. I will be checking on exactly which Cottage you were allocated, but can advise that we are in the process of revamping all the cottages and have completed all the room areas and are busy with the bathrooms.
As our requirement is more often than not for twin beds especially from overseas guests you are correct that king size beds are made using two twin beds with a mattress converter. This I believe to be normal hotel practice even in 5 * hotels and we have never had a problem or comment in this regard before.

I am really sorry that the reception staffs lacked interest and more sorry that this was not brought to my General Mangers attention while you were onsite. The General Manager was present in the venue at all key times of the day and night. I have to say that most of the staff in reception have worked at Woodridge for more than 10 years and we do not normally get compaints . I am a little suprised. One of these ladies is a Director. I am wondering if maybe your requests were directed at one of the casual students that assist over weekends . These are local girls and boys that are undergoing training to try and provide them with a skill. It could be that they did not understand as sometime their English is not up to speed and they do not understand Afrikaans at all. Guests experiencing this kind of issue and brining it to our attention immediately will most certainly find that staff are brought inline and any issues reported are dealt with immediately. I am trying to establish from my ladies who you dealt with and what the 2 issues were. I am not winning in this regard. No issues seems to be menioned in any guest questionnaires .
I would at this stage like to advise that we had +_ 38 guests onsite for the wedding you attended and had more questionnaires handed in than normal which was great. Besides a few minor positive suggestions the reviews were excellent to good with no mention of bad service besides a few "slow bar". Everyone raved about the food and wedding in general. The bridal party were extatic. ! I can assure you that we will make sure that all reception staff are fully briefed on your findings and this will not be accepted. Staff will be closely monitored in this regard.

We are busy with a review of our bar prices. We are comparing our pricing with other 4 \5 Star hotels in the area, as previously undertaken. We have honestly never had a complaint in this regard before and having travelled fairly extensively ourselves do not belive that the alcohol pricing is out of line. More than a bar or steak house - but acceptable for a 4* hotel. Our Wines are definitely cheap in comparison to most Gauteng and Durban Based hotel and restaurants of a comparable standard. Bar fridges are not in rooms as we do not permitted guests to bring in their own drinks. This is normal hotel practice as we are a licenced premises and selling alcohol and beverages is our business. Monitoring of stocked bar fridges is a nightmare which considering the rates we charge cannot be justified. From our experience stock goes missing and the hotel ends up footing the bill. To justify a stocked bar fridge our rates would need to be at least 30% higher and mini bar stock is always very pricey. Bar fridges in rooms is not a grading requirement - just a nice to have.

You are definitely the first guest in 13 years of operation to compain about car noice. The gardens around the chalets are well established and this was done to try and conceal the chalets which are close to the road and thereby protect them as best possible from noise from vehicles and other onsite guests. I will be making a point of re- instructing our staff that they are not permitted to drive up and down making a noise behind the chalets until after breakfast. Trying to control this with other guests will not be easy but we will put up a sign that asks guests to please consdier others that may still be sleeping and to please access and exit the hotel quietly. I hope this will do the trick.

Thanks again for your feedback . Much appreciated. We will action the items which can be actioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgowan
5.8 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
11.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
5.3 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
2.5 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
1.0 mi away
Arum Hill Lodge B&B
Arum Hill Lodge B&B
#2 of 8 in Balgowan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodridge Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodridge Country Hotel

Property: Woodridge Country Hotel
Address: R103, Balgowan 3275, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Balgowan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balgowan
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodridge Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Woodridge Country Hotel South Africa/Balgowan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing