We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tokanui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curio Bay Salthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Tokanui B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Site”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Val and Ross are Wonderful Hosts with a very tidy clean modern room to stay in.Kitchen facilities were fine for cooking up light meals and also an electric frypan.View over sea was perfect and watch dolphins swim in the Bay.A Must stay venue

Room Tip: All rooms are the same with view over the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi30b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
98
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Overlooking Porpoise Beach and very close to Curio Bay, a lovely motel unit near two of the best attractions in the Catlins. Welcoming and informative host, comfortable room, handy to seeing the penguins walking up the beach at sunset.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent a wet afternoon & overnighted at this lovely motel. 5 minutes down the road you can watch the yellow eyed penguins arrive in at dusk. There are cafes within half an hour but Salt House is quite remote so we would advise bringing food & drinks to have for an enjoyable evening in. During the day visit the local bays and cafes.

Room Tip: Just 4 or 5 units all look out to the beach and bay, cooking facilities in unit. Quiet and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffandjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

What a find. The view from our bedroom was just amazing. Spent 2 nights here . Wish we could have spent more. Watching the sunrise from our bedroom which was no more than 50 yds. from the beach was amazing. The facility was modern, clean, roomy and the bed was comfortable. It was only a five minute walk to the fossil beach to watch the yellow eyed penguins. Ross was so helpful in helping us find our way around the area. We would definitely recommend Curio Salthouse. make sure you stay at least two nights and enjoy the serenity of this isolated beach house.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pjpRichmondVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I am pretty sure there was a bed, a dining table and chairs, and some other items in our room, but it was hard to notice them when I spent most of the time there gazing out at the amazing view; the room is just steps from the beach, and when you walk in the room, all you notice is the ocean. When we checked in, the owner took the time to give us a detailed overview of the area and point out where/when to spot penguins and dolphins, and where we could go to get dinner. We were actually there on the rare day when neither dolphins nor penguins showed up, and we still weren't disappointed; it was a peaceful, beautiful spot to spend the evening. Even better: bring some wine and some food in with you (from wherever you start your journey; there are no stores nearby here) to make for dinner in the kitchenette, and spend the evening in. (If you are getting an early start the next day, make sure to bring breakfast food with you too; there is nothing nearby that's open early.) Tip: If you are driving in via the Southern Scenic Route from Dunedin, make sure to stop at the Lost Gypsy Gallery in Papatowai along the way for a fun, one-of-a-kind experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Everything near brand new, perfect location, extremely friendly owners, amazing ocean views, great quality and nice price. I can't think of a better place in Curio Bay. We were all happy there and can't wait to come back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Ditto on previous reviews regarding room, bathroom and fabulous view & on-the-beach location. Most memorable part of the trip was just down the street, sitting on a stump in the petrified forest in the sea (!) mesmerized watching (close-up) an hour of yellow-eyed penguin prime-time!!! We also enjoyed our beach walks watching the hector dolphins darting amongst the surfers. The January weather, however, was touch-and-go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 887Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokanui
2.8 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
106 reviews
12.9 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
18.2 mi away
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Mohua Park Cottages
Mohua Park Cottages
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Salthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Salthouse

Property: Curio Bay Salthouse
Address: 517 Waikawa Curio Bay Road | No 1 RD, Tokanui, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tokanui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tokanui
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curio Bay Salthouse is a modern motel right on the Porpoise Bay beach at Curio Bay. Each unit has a well equipped kitchen (no oven) and en suite bathroom. Come and relax, enjoy the panoramic view, and watch Hector Dolphins from your bed (November - April) or spend your time exploring our spectacular rugged coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curio Bay Salthouse Tokanui, Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing