We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place and location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tokanui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curio Bay Salthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Tokanui B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place and location”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This place is unbelievable. It is right on the beach and looks like something out of a fancy magazine. It's very comfortable and you feel a sense of calm and relaxation the second you arrive. The bay is absolutely gorgeous. There are several lovely hikes in the area. We also went to the petrified forest beach and saw the yellow eyed penguins. They are much more reserved than their chatty blue penguin cousins but they are stately and well worth the wait to watch. If you are thinking about a stay in this area you MUST stay here.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was great. There was a small lawn then the beach was right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
96
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night while driving the Southern Scenic Route. Located on Porpoise Ba. Friendly welcome. Clean room and a fantastic view. It was great to have the beach just outside your door. Watching the dolphins was wonderful. Walking distance from the fossilized forest where in the evening you can sit and watch the yellow eyed penguins come in. The sand flies were annoying though outside the room, but that has nothing to do with the accommodation, just be aware.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPF04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at the Curio Bay Salthouse for 3 nights during our trip to New Zealand. Easy to locate on the main road into Curio Bay, there are three apartments all on the ground floor each with a terrace and wonderful views across the beach and out to sea. The Hosts live above. Car parking available for three cars.
The apartments are modern, well fitted, maintained and clean. Apartments comprise a King size bed, bedside tables, dining table with 2 chairs, Settee, 2 easy chairs, flat screen TV. Kitchen area with sink, basin, microwave, fridge, 2 hotplates, cutlery, plates, etc. Nice bathroom with shower, wc, basin, electric towel rail. Plenty of storage place and wardrobe for clothes.
The terrace runs the length of the apartment with great views from inside and out. Terrace has 2 chairs and table. Easy access to beach. Dolphins can be seen playing in the surf for much of the day. Close by is the petrified forest beach where yellow eyed penguins can be seen coming out of the sea as disk approaches.
Location is a little remote and you are some distance from nearest petrol station and food stores, etc.
Weather is changeable - quite a lot of wind and some rain during our stay as well as sun - but then this is the Catlins.
There was no mobile phone signal for us in Curio Bay and so I guess that it might have been nice for there to be a phone in the room just in case of contact emergencies, etc. However this was a great place to stay and I strongly recommend.

Room Tip: All three rooms are essentially the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

You must come and visit the Catlins, and the best spot to stay would absolutely be the Curio Bay Salthouse Motel.
Waking up to see the dolphins surfing in the waves in waist height water about 20m off the shore directly in front of your room is just spectacular! The views are stunning and you can sit on your balcony a stones throw away from a gorgeous golden sand beach.
The rooms are very spacious and modern, the shower is excellent and the kitchen facilities are perfect if you want to make yourself something to eat.
Val and Ross are fabulous hosts. Thanks so much we will definitely be back to see you again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and have the same view. All are located about 30m from the golden sand be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Curio Bay Salthouse has to be one of the neatest places to stay, it's amazing to see dolphins from your window! The beach is beautiful, and the accommodation modern and tidy. There are kitchen facilities available which is very convenient. I would definitely go back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bern_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

To be honest if this 'motel' had been a small cramped closet with a broken toilet and cold shower only I would still have given it 5 stars. This would be because of the glorious view from its huge window facing the fantastic porpoise bay and the lovely sandy shoreline stretching in both directions. Eating Breakfast on the verandah was heaven.
Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished with well chosen contemporary furniture. The kitchenette was well equipped and the bathroom was excellent with a good shower and good quality toiletries. The heating system was equally first class. I really can't recommend this place higher. Obviously if you arrive when it is dreary weather you might feel less enamoured.
One note of dissent. When we arrived we were told they come around about 11 30 to see if we want our room serviced. When we left our room about 11 15 the owner said they were going out for 3 hours but they'd clean when they got back. When they did return about 4pm we were made to feel a bit guilty about ruining their Sunday by making them return to service our room. But hey I should lighten up - it was a memorable in a superb room

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you love the nature,the Curio Bay is a MUST stay on the Southern Scenic Route!
The nice hostes told us the best time for watch yellow eye penguins ashore is 20:00pm in summer, we drive 2 minutes and easily find them.
Next morning 6:30am, we drink the coffee and enjoy the sun rise from the beach on the bed. And when we finished our breakfast on 8:30am, we find 8 Hector-Dolphins surfing with the locals. They are the world smallest dolphin and only appear in the southern land. The kids cheering for the lucky.
The room is really clean and with a full kitchen to cook.

Room Tip: 2 double rooms are big and the 3rd one is smaller. but the sea view is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokanui
12.9 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
2.8 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
#14 of 76 in Southland Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Catlins Mohua Park
Catlins Mohua Park
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Salthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Salthouse

Property: Curio Bay Salthouse
Address: 517 Waikawa Curio Bay Road | No 1 RD, Tokanui, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tokanui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tokanui
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curio Bay Salthouse is a modern motel right on the Propoise Bay beach at Curio Bay. Each unit has a well equipped kitchen (no oven) and en suite bathroom. Come and relax, enjoy the panoramic view, and watch Hector Dolphins from your bed (November - April) or spend your time exploring our spectacular rugged coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curio Bay Salthouse Tokanui, Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing