We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for a weekend get away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tokanui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curio Bay Salthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Tokanui B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for a weekend get away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for a night as a quiet night away and it was perfect!

The accommodation is great, the views are perfect & unspoilt and the owners are very welcoming!

All facilities in the unit were just what we need and the central heating was just great on the chilly wintery night!

Fantastic place if your after a break away from the world - literally.... No cell phone coverage! Just what were after :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
96
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nakhon Nayok, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went to this place by a suggestion from an innkeeper in Tokanui who couldn't find a room for us. So he helped us pointing out from a tourist map that there are so many places to stay in Curio Bay. But he picked this one, the salthouse, and made a phone call to confirm the vacancy. Thanks to Justin the innkeeper. We arrived salthouse very late (they had on-site car park) but the hotel manager (and owner) was still waiting for us. She saw us in the lobby which was also her office full of hand-made quilts on display. She was very nice and we had a quite long chat before checking-in to find out that the room was sooooo clean, tidy, spacious and quiet. Just after we got up early morning to know that our rooms were just right on the beach on Curio Bay. Sunrise was very fantastic. We could go out to the beach from the terrace. No wonder I recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaiKusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I drove to Curio Bay and arrived rather late, just before sunset. I didn't pre-book and I was a bit worried to see only 2 properties showing vacancies. Salthouse was one of the them, the other being a back packer's lodging without en-suite facilities. My modestly priced, ground floor room was very modern and very clean but my jaw dropped when I saw that the beach was barely 30 meters away from my bedroom. The waves were breaking beautifully and there was even a obligatory wooden bench overlooking the bay. This is a scene better than on many picture post-cards and probably close to what heaven would look like. I slept to the sound of the surf.

The owner was very helpful and even asked me to go and try to catch the yellow penguins returning at dusk. This was a highlight in itself as this is not one of those "nature shows" where people gather with spotlights and where you must pay to watch. Here, it was just me, and as I arrived late, "only" saw about 8 or so penguins coming in. I saw several more in the shrubs but didn't want to disturb them by going too near. No artificial lighting, no crowds, no noise, no fees.

Room Tip: I preferred the ground floor room as I could just walk onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Catlins was the best part of our trip. Curio Bay Salthouse is a very clean and pretty place. We had a lovely view of the beach where we watched the sunrise right at the comfort of our room. We visited the petrified forest which is a hop and skip away from our accommodation to see the penguins return home at dusk. Such a treat! The tourists who were also present got really close to the penguins to take photos and used the camera flash many times. Please future visitors, don't use your camera flash and flash lights as penguins' eyes are sensitive to bright light.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aplaceforthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Curio Bay for two nights earlier this month, our only regret was that we could not stay longer. The view from our studio room was outstanding. I keep telling people to add Curio Bay to their bucket list - a must place to visit. The accommodation was of a high standard and spotlessly clean. We could not have been happier with our choice - the only thing my husband thought was an outside bbq would have been handy. You literally slide open your glass door and walk a few paces to the most stunning beach. We plan to return and keep recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilferG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Curio Bay on a 2 day visit to the Catlins. It was a fantastic experience.
Our hosts were very friendly, the unit was spacious and comfortable. The beach was only 10 steps from the door. I could have stayed for days just watching the Hector dolphins in the surf only a few metres offshore. They live in Curio bay from about November to April and were just enthralling. It was an easy walk along the beach to see the petrified forest ( low tide) and other wildlife.
A wonderful few days.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Curio Bay was the highlight of our recent NZ holiday, nature at is most wonderful. This accommodation was also wonderful, amazing waterfront location with views that take your breath away. Do yourself a huge favour and stay here sometime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassageNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokanui
12.9 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
2.8 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 2 in Waikawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
#15 of 75 in Southland Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Catlins Mohua Park
Catlins Mohua Park
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Salthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Salthouse

Property: Curio Bay Salthouse
Address: 517 Waikawa Curio Bay Road | No 1 RD, Tokanui, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tokanui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tokanui
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curio Bay Salthouse is a modern motel right on the Propoise Bay beach at Curio Bay. Each unit has a well equipped kitchen (no oven) and en suite bathroom. Come and relax, enjoy the panoramic view, and watch Hector Dolphins from your bed (November - April) or spend your time exploring our spectacular rugged coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curio Bay Salthouse Tokanui, Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing