We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locatio, Location, Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tokanui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curio Bay Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This accomodation is a little gem hidden away at the beach at sleppy Curio Bay. The room has a fabulous view of the beach, has a great comfortable bed made from rustic timber, no internet, TV or phone and good cooking facilities including a BBQ shared with the adjoining unit. The bathroom was beautifully decorated and the living area very comfortable.
The access to the beach is direct and we saw Hector's dolphins playing about 15 - 20 metres from the shore, a sea loin basking on the beach and yellow-eyed penguins at the Petrified Forest viewing area. We did not get out of bed during the night to bother the wee blue penguins that came to feed their chick under the verandah, but loved the midnight calls of the birds.
This accomodation lives up to its pictures on the booking site.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mark_Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 151 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

We've just returned from a 6 week bicycling tour of the entire South Island! An amazing trip! We covered over 1200 miles and were looking for COMFORT at the end of the day! This place was pure heaven! We arrived so tired and worn out and Nick and Dani were amazing! They made us feel like we'd just come home! The spa bath was delightful, the sound of the surf soothing, the variety of birds and wildlife was awesome! Clean, elegant decor, very spacious and had everything you might need. A retreat which far exceeded our expectations! We loved this place! You will, too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Spent 2 nights in one of the two apartments there. Wonderful location, right on the beach and away from everything. Dolphins, penguins, sea lions, surf. Could easily have stayed longer.
Laundry facilities very convenient. Could maybe have done with a bit more cooking facilities as the fish and chip van was not open on the days we were there and neither was the cafe/restaurant open in the evening, being slightly out of season. A minor point though as we stocked up with food for one pot stews and were fine.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We spent 2 nights in the apartment here. Lovely room, friendly people and brilliant location, just above the beach. We spent 2 days watching dolphins playing in the surf, and sea lions and seals on the beach below us. There are also penguins nearby and they can be heard at night!! I was surprised how nice it was to have no tv, no internet and no phone signal. Forced us to have a real break and relax. Would definitely recommend it - we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suerD1541MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

On our two-week driving tour of New Zealand, this was definitely one of the highlights. We added this to our itinerary at the last minute due to the recommendation in travel guide "NZ Frenzy" by Scott Cook; "all the must-see places plus non-touristy hidden wonders." (Highly recommend the book, too). The cottage is comfortable and cozy and the view is breath-taking. A sea lion was on the beach right in front of the cottage and the yellow-eyed penguins just up the road. We utilized the washer/dryer and the CD's that were provided. Fresh coffee beans and a grinder were a very nice touch. Don't miss it!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Curio Bay & Porpoise Bay (where the studios are located) are a long way south but the scenic drive through farmland and forest is worth it. We stayed for 2 nights (in between RWC games) in September during a cold wild southerly storm. The big open plan studio and adjacent shower room were almost perfect (an open fire and a bath would have completed the experience but these don't seem to feature in many rental properties in NZ). Windows on 3 sides keep the room very light (although a bit chilly during a winter storm) but the important view is over the bay. Just sand dunes, sea and the coastline beyond. It was really stunning.
We saw little blue penguins on the deck one evening and yellow eyed penguins in Curio Bay.
My husband was initially a little disappointed by the lack of a tv but we both agree that it was actually a bonus by the time that we left. We did virtually nothing except look at the view and stroll along the beaches. Totally relaxing and we both wished we could have stayed longer (but the next RWC match wouldn't wait for us!).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were simply blown away by the accommodation and the views right out onto the bay. No one around when we were there, perfect escape. We even had little blue penguins nesting under the house and you can hear them calling at night, so cool! (they only call a couple times - don't worry you will not be kept awake!).
Make sure you bring all the food you need for your stay, you do not want to have to drive to Tokanui to get food. No oven, but a BBQ and stove top to cook on.
You are within walking distance of the petrified forest and also its where the yellow-eyed penguins come back at night to nest.
Love it - will be back for sure!

Room Tip: There is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank bosha_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokanui
12.9 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
2.7 mi away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catlins Beach House
Catlins Beach House
#3 of 4 in Tokanui
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
0.1 mi away
Curio Bay Salthouse
Curio Bay Salthouse
#1 of 4 in Tokanui
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curio Bay Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Accommodation

Address: 501 Waikawa Curio Bay Road, Tokanui 9884, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tokanui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokanui
Hotel Class:3 star — Curio Bay Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Curio Bay Boutique Hotel Tokanui
Curio Bay Accommodation Tokanui, Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing