We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy it more and more each time we go”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dwight
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oxtongue Lake Cottages
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times over the last five years. Since the change in ownership, the place has consistently improved. We stay in cottage 7 this time. It is a small two bedroom cabin that has been recently renovated. It looks great. It is a little on the small side but would be perfect for a family with a couple of small children, however there is also a bed chesterfield. We are going again this weekend.....can't wait. This is a very family friendly, pet friendly place. It is clean and affordable. No, it's not the ritz.....it's a cottage! so don't expect perfection but they sure try!.I can't wait to see what other improvements they plan to make over the next few years.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dianeb1957_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

The cottages are located beside the beautiful Oxtongue Lake.We stayed in a two bedroom cottage which felt a little on the smaller side however it was very clean and seemed to be newly renovated.They also had canoes which were included in the priceThis property is about 10 kms. from Algonquin Park.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CDceedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We have been going to this resort since 1997 and it has been our home away from home. We are up during the Summer and in the Fall for 1 and 2 week periods and are joined by our parents, who stay in another cabin at the resort for 1 week during the summer. The resort is under new ownership and management and the changes and improvements over the past 2 years has been incredible. The new owners has invested both their time and money in the resort, which had not been done for a very long time. Initially, we noticed small changes in how the landscape and grounds maintenance were being done. We saw comfortable new beach chairs gracing the shoreline, picnic tables with umbrellas in front of each cabin and general landscaping improvements throughout the property. We then started to notice that each cabin was being renovated and when we arrived this year to our normal cabin in the summer, could not believe the improvements. Suddenly, it was bright, cheery, clean with a number of little things that had been taken care of. Essentially, not only attention to the big things but also attention to the small details that make ones arrival pleasing. We have now been in two of the renovated cabins and 2 others that are slated for renovation this year. Even the cabins that have not yet been renovated had been improved on. Investing money is one thing, but the new owners and their staff are investing their time and energies as well. The onsite management team is always there ready and willing to share information or give a hand and they manage the resort with a great deal of pride and quality. The owners have not only been approachable but go out of their way to accommodate people and their requests. There is really no way that we could list all the things that have improved and we see improving year to year. This is not a 5 star resort - if that's what you want go to Deerhurst but this is a resort with family values, a fabulous shoreline that provides a safe playground for children and adults alike and cabins that are comfortable and clean but still allow you the feeling that you're in a cottage not a hotel room. We can't speak highly enough of the resort and would recommend it to anyone. The only thing we miss and I know someone will say "why would we want this" is an internet connection! Yeah...guess we just can't leave part of the city behind but we can just drive down the street a couple of miles and find a place to hook up our wi-fi - so guess we have it all! Keep this resort on your radar; soon you will see it mentioned as one of the best family cabin resorts in the area! In many of our minds, it already is and that's why some of us have been coming back for 30+ years but now, with all the good things happening, you can bet we and our children after us will continue to be calling this place our Muskoka gem for 30 more years.
Patrick & Shelley M.
Ontario

Room Tip: Most cottages are facing the water - wake up to the sunrise and sip a glass of wine sharing the suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank shelley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

It's so interesting to read the previous review, because we had the opposite experience, also in September 2011!

The property itself was very nice, beautiful sandy beach, nice play area for the kids, free use of canoes etc. However, I found the cottage itself was not very nice - it did not feel very clean, there was cobwebs on the overhang over one of the beds, an old sock under the other bed, and dirt behind the taps on the sink. There were two mousetraps with peanut butter in them - it would have been nice to have been warned about them, especially as we had a dog with us who smelled and went for the peanut butter right away. The website specifies that bed linens are provided, but does not explicitly state that towels are not, I had to ask. Dish drying towels were also not provided, nor was there any handsoap in the bathroom which is very unusual and should be specified on their website.

I had specifically asked if the cottage we were staying at would have new mattresses and was assured that it would (we had stayed at another cottage last year and were very uncomfortable and so had specifically called around for places that had new or relatively new mattresses). One mattress was quite comfortable, the other not so much and creaked really loudly.

Unlike the previous reviewer, we did not find the owners overly friendly or welcoming. I am therefore sad to say that we will be looking around for a different place to stay next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Oxtongue Lake Cottages for the September long weekend. We have been coming here every year for about 7 years. In the past, it wasn't the nicest but the kids really enjoyed it, however our last stay was wonderful. With the new owners taking over, things have change immensely. They have cleaned up the complete outside, and are redoing a number of cabins. In all the years we have visited, they are the only owners to ever take the time to come and see us and welcome us to their facilty. They were friendly and helpful and very enjoyable people. Their new maintenance person (Ross) was amazing. He goes above and beyond the call of duty and went out of his way to help us with anything we asked. He took us for a boat cruise which was so enjoyable.
We would recommend this place to ANYONE with a family and even to couples who want to enjoy a little get away.
Diane Benton

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dianeb1957_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcello B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dwight
0.9 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
0.4 mi away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
3.8 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Dwight Village Motel
Dwight Village Motel
#2 of 5 in Dwight
62 reviews
19.6 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
184 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxtongue Lake Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxtongue Lake Cottages

Address: 4019 Hwy 60, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Dwight
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Oxtongue Lake Cottages Dwight, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing