We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside Motel Dwight
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dwight
Port Colborne, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Riverside Motel”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I used this motel twice on canoeing trips in August and September. It is an older motel, but has been nicely refurbished. The grounds are attractive and rooms are set back from the highway. A BBQ is available for guest use. Pricewise, I thought that this motel offered the best value of any of the several motels I have previously stayed at in this area. Free wifi was receiveable in my room. Checkin was quick and friendly, and can be done in English or German. I would choose this motel again over others in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Arrived at motel to be met by a woman and man who whilst not exactly rude did little to make us feel welcome or at ease. When we went to room we were greeted by a very musty smell and the room was not quite as described. The location was beautiful and so much more could be mad of this place. We booked in elsewhere. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: See trip title
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in Dwight before heading to Algonquin Provincial Park and I'm glad we chose this place! The property is very well maintained, comfortable rooms with all you could need, including board games, kitchenette, fridge & dishes. The owners are wonderful and very accommodating. Be sure to check out the property behind the hotel...Monika referred to it as "Paradise" when we checked in, and she wasn't kidding! Beautiful riverside area for swimming and picnicking. Lots of amenities you wouldn't expect from a motel, such as guest bbq, badminton/volleyball net, and a communal fire pit. I read some reviews on here that said their in-room fridges didn't work, but I think these travelers just neglected to turn on the power bar in the kitchen! Excellent price, but be sure to book your reservations early! Just a stone's throw from Erika's, a fantastic café in Dwight with excellent coffee, sandwiches and pastries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheColemanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A group of 6 of us just came back from Riverside in Dwight and it was fantastic. We stayed 3 days, 4 nights and we were treated like gold. Leonard and Monica (I believe those are their names) are the most hospitable people you can ask for. This isn't your typical motel....take a walk down a small hill towards the back and it is paradise. Small waterfalls, and a very private swimming area can be found, just follow the wood chips. Fresh towels were brought to our rooms daily, as well as paper plates, utensils and napkins for meals. Other great features were 2 bbq's available anytime, badminton/vollyball nets, fire pit, etc. All close to a small grocery store, cafe and beach!

Overall I would rate this place a 5+, especially considering the price. Will return next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 574Elioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

For those who aren't into tenting it, the Riverside Motel is a great alternative not far outside the west gate of Algonquin Park. The room was very clean and the motel grounds very well maintained. It was seen in the small details that the owners really care about their guests' enjoyment--little touches like cards and board games in the rooms and lots of equipment for outdoor games. Would definitely stay again.
Just a note to other travellers, we had chosen to bring our own food but when we arrived we found the fridge was very small (about 1/2 the size of a bar fridge) and ours did not work. For coolers, ice is available at the grocer about 1 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCanadiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised! With a certain expectation associated with 'motels' this surpassed our expectations.
Pros: Beautiful grounds complete with 2 BBQ's for use among the guests, picnic tables, badminton net w raquets, baseball bats, footballs and numerous other sporting equipment. 2 chairs outside each room to sit and enjoy the weather. Wood chip paths and windflowers growing everywhere. Very well maintained grounds.
Spacious 2 room accommodation and kitchenette complete with cutlery, dishes, hot plate etc.
Reasonably priced.
Very close to Algonquin.
Cons: Decor is dated for people that care about that kind of thing.
Fridge in our room didn't work.
Uncomfortable lumpy beds.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bananabrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I did not like this place. When i called to make reservations for our long weekend stay i was informed that i would have a microwave, fridge and toaster, and a bbq.I also asked if there was a place for my boy to swim. When we arrived we were given a room that had a fridge that was smaller than my cooler but no microwave or toaster and the bbq was shared by everyone staying there...so first come first served basis..I asked why i didnt have a microwave like she said on the phone and she said it comes with the kitchenette and that has been taken. The rooms had a musty smell but the sheets and linens were clean. the river for my boy to swim in...wasnt fit for my dog to swim in. I was very disappointed by her misleading me to believe what kind of place i would be staying at. .I will never go back!!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dwight
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
184 reviews
10.5 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#15 of 18 in Huntsville
152 reviews
5.6 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Dwight Village Motel
Dwight Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Dwight
59 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel Dwight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel Dwight

Property: Riverside Motel Dwight
Address: Box 162, Hwy 60, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dwight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Motel Dwight 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Riverside Motel Dwight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Motel Dwight Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing