We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dwight
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Birches Cottage Resort
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

9 family members rented two cottages in late May. The owners are very friendly and helpful and seem to "get" customer service. The cottages are basic, not luxurious. They are very clean, smell good and are very comfortable. It is obvious that the owners (who are in fairly new) take a great deal of pride and are embarking on an ambitious maintenance and upkeep program. The cottages have the "small touches" that make a trip easy, like complimentary coffee filters, tinfoil, salt and pepper etc. They also have all the basic kitchen equipment you might need. The rec hall is a great spot for kids on a rainy day, and a family with small children would feel comfortable. It was a very positive experience, and I would recommend White Birches readily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdbonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great staff, great view, great trip. If you like roomy cottages and like spending time out on the lake like we did then you'll love it. My family and I had a great time. Perfect place if you want to get away from the busy city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We loved our stay at White Birches Cottages. The location of our cottage right on the water was beautiful, and the cottage was cozy and clean, and had everything we needed. The new owners are very friendly, and are doing a fantastic job updating the property. Our cottage had new mattress, bbq and fairly new appliances. We are already planning a return visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay at White Birches. My son (10 yrs) enjoyed it very much and wanted to post his experience. Here is his review:

I like this cottage because it was really spacious and it was cozy. At night it got cooler so you did not need a fan. The rec room was nice, it had cable on one TV and lots of activities to do there, such as table tennis , foose ball, and plenty of movies to choose. There was a nice beach front and nice warm lake to swim in. The lake was always calm. They have a steep slide in the lake that you could go on that was really fun and a smaller slide for the little ones. Lots of ducks stopped by there. Most of the cottages have a nice view of the Oxtoungue lake.

Improvements: The wifi isn't very strong but we didn't need it because I was doing other attractions around the cottage. The Oxtoungue lake did not have many fish, I didn't have any luck catching any. Overall I loved this cottage.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 7, which was cozy, it was an end unit. Cottage 10 was much more spacious and bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This place feels like home, very clean environment, very roomie cottages and very helpful people. They have a lot of things to, gives a very nice cottage experience if u don't have one. The view of the lake is breath taking, if its some where u want to just get away with Ur self or with the family its defiantly and experience worth taking!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Me and my brothers stayed here in late september just as the leaves were starting to change. Emily(one of the manager) gave us cottage #11 which was decently roomy and was very clean but still had that nice cozy muskoka appeal to it. The lake was nice and there was lots of room and things to do around the resort for everyone there. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Before venturing into Algonquin Park for the Thanksgiving weekend in October, we needed a place to spend the night before setting out. We've stayed in a number of places....and yes, it can be a bit expensive in the area. We took the studio for one night. It's above the office away from the lake. All this is clear when you look on the web site. The studio was newly renovated, very clean & comfortable. The kitchen had most of what we needed...oddly enough no stove, but there is a microwave & toaster oven. The bathroom is new. Comfy queen sized bed. Electric fireplace. Flat screen TV with satellite. I don't know how the cottages were set up...but this was pretty nice for just outside Algonquin Park! The staff was friendly & helpful. The grounds were well maintained & looked very family friendly. It was great value & a totally nice surprise! I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phylloef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dwight
0.3 mi away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
0.7 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Pines Cottage Resort
0.1 mi away
Cloverleaf Cottages
Cloverleaf Cottages
#2 of 7 in Dwight
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Birches Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Birches Cottage Resort

Property: White Birches Cottage Resort
Address: 1016 Oxtongue Lake Rd, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Dwight
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a housekeeping cottage resort located on beautiful Oxtongue Lake, just 10 minutes from Algonquin Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Birches Cottage Resort Dwight, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing