We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best atmosphere :)”
Review of Escale Creole

Escale Creole
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Moka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Opened only from Monday to Friday for lunches only. Give us a phone call for availibility. A Creole traditional restaurant in Mauritius, a unique know-how .... Between the famous Rougaille Creole sausage, cang mocked cabbage and salted fish, traditional curry chicken creole, or broth 'zourite and coconut chutney' Escale Creole remains the TABLE where you and your guests can make the unique experience of a "real Manze Lacaze" , hearty and generous !!! In a large veranda, we can serve between 2 and 50 seats on large tables with traditional gingham tablecloths. Our "table d'hote" allows each client to help himself laid flat on the table well Mauritian way, so that everyone is free to be reserved if desired
Reviewed July 7, 2016

the place in really nice, setting and the people just so welcoming and warm :) they were so relaxed and understanding because we got lost, the sign is a bit small.
the food was not to our liking, but i have to say that it was on our last day and i personally was felling a bit sick, so probably the overall impression was a bit ruined with all that. i would recommend to go there on the beginning of your visit to mauritius :)

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeaMef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 195 of 706 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

My first visit there is one to remember . Majo & Christine cuisine is second to none. If you want to taste the real creole food, look no further. They are the best. Highly recommended. Can't wait for my next visit.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Sharky2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place to taste authentic Mauritian cuisine. The owners and wait staffs are very friendly with a great welcome. My fiancé and parents really enjoyed it there. We will definitely go back again in the future.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank 817lyndae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing welcome by the host. The setting is very authentic and so is the Mauritian creole food. If you're a foreigner visiting and want the full creole [food] experience, look no further. We took the full lunch package which was slightly too much for our tiny stomachs but it was so well presented that we made it a must to try every dish. We weren't disappointed.
The downside: locals might be slightly underwhelmed by the price - but we really wanted to test it out. Not exactly 5* (but closer to 5 than 4)

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank K808SFpascalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 10, 2016

To get to Escale Creole, you walk down a lane off the street to the very end and it sits there like a little oasis in the desert. It's attractively set out with tables under shelter or in the pretty garden. Our meal here was a great experience, even for those in our group who didn't like spicy food. Marie-Christine, her mother Majo and two waitresses, dressed in tropical pants suits, welcomed our group warmly and served up a feast of different flavours and textures around a chicken casserole. No doubt at the request of our tour leader, none of the dishes contained chillies, but I suspect Mauritians would consider the meal deficient without them. However, it suited our ladies fine. Service was excellent and explanations were given freely. I would like to go back to this restaurant as an individual and taste what else is on offer.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 172felicityj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Escale Creole also viewed

Poste Lafayette, Riviere du Rempart District
Mapou, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Calodyne, Grand Gaube
Pointe de Flacq, Flacq District
 

Been to Escale Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.