We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G”
Review of Escale Creole

Escale Creole
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Moka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened only from Monday to Friday for lunches only. Give us a phone call for availibility. A Creole traditional restaurant in Mauritius, a unique know-how .... Between the famous Rougaille Creole sausage, cang mocked cabbage and salted fish, traditional curry chicken creole, or broth 'zourite and coconut chutney' Escale Creole remains the TABLE where you and your guests can make the unique experience of a "real Manze Lacaze" , hearty and generous !!! In a large veranda, we can serve between 2 and 50 seats on large tables with traditional gingham tablecloths. Our "table d'hote" allows each client to help himself laid flat on the table well Mauritian way, so that everyone is free to be reserved if desired
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Absolute delight! The staff are exceptionally courteous. The restaurant is clean and so hygienic.
Now comes the food, which is excellent!
the best mauritian food you will ever get on the island

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ameeksha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    42
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Food and Service!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very cosy private place.
When we arrived staff was waiting for us, and the food was prepaired, so we didn't have to wait. Marie-Christine and her staff were very nice.
Local food was wonderful. Our daughter (3.5 years old) usually is very "picky" about the food, but she ate 2 plates! Amazing!
Do buy a bottle of home made Rum, its very nice.
That place gives us warm memories.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yukka1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curepipe Mauritius
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only average”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Service was poor and the food was cold... was told that this was the best but not my experience... menu was the same as could be eaten anywhere in Mauritius

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
“Best creole food in Mauritius and ideal place for a business lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My favourite place for a business lunch. Some amazing creole food along with the required excellent of service. Ideal quiet and private place to have private discussions for work related matters. I love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PYP1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best TastyTraditional Creole/Mauritius Food!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited Mauritius for the first time recently and have had the opportunity to experience some authentic traditional creole/mauritius food here at "Escale Creole" and it was the best! We love the food, which was very tasty and filling, the staff were very friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere was relaxing. Highly recommended for everyone to try!
Jane and Gerard, Queensland, AUSTRALIA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aws0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escale Creole also viewed

Belle Mare, Flacq District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Escale Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing