We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beyond Amazing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyrstrup Kro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tyrstrup Kro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Christiansfeld
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Once again, though we would love to be selfish and keep Tyrstrup Kro all to ourselves, the work of Torben Schultz is too good to keep quiet! Upon arriving/check-in, Toben Schultz had a table reserved for us in JÆGERSTUEN. If you are searching for a culinary experience, look no further. The décor allows the simplistic beautify of the food to shine through. The restaurant was buzzing with satisfied guests. Our gourmet dinner started with Duck, with a main course of Beef Culotte-Veal Jaws. The dish was executed perfectly. The staff at the Kro was bar-none!!! Our favorite suite number 25, was once again amazing. Just beautiful and romantic! Thank you again Torben Schultz! Tammy and Svend, California USA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasclassics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    17
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
50
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
259 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were a family group of 24 and we stayed one night at Tyrstrup Kro. it was like we were entering a fairy tale as the bus drove up. Our driver told us we were in for a treat and he was correct. They had the rooms all ready for us. The rooms were quaint and clean but not modern. Many of us had second floor rooms with quaint brow windows in the thatched roof. Had a beer on the patio before dinner. The dinner itself was fantastic.
Breakfast the next morning was very good.
The hospitality was great- it felt like a family operation (don't know if it is)
Our family would all recommend Tyrstrup Kro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonJmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived quite late a friday, a little chilly outside, and it was like a fairytale to arrive to this place; We could see trough the windows that people enjoyed themselfs and there was candlelights and lanterns everyvere. We got a really warm welcome from the owner Torben, and was given a room quickly, and so we could join the other guests for a late night gourmet dinner. Everything tasted so good, and the food and wines was served perfectly by our waiter who we think was named Daniel.
The owner got it right: Its wonderful to be norwegian in Denmark.
Rune & Nancy Sonesen

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuneNancySonesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this Kro as I was competing in a sports event in the area, looked up Kros nearby, and selected this one from its website. We were to have B & B only, but Danes told me that it had a good reputation for food, and we liked to explore more of the area, so stayed another night with dinner.
I would always recommend staying in a Kro in Denmark instead of a hotel - they are generally smaller, more personal, give better service, and the food is mostly good traditional Danish of high quality; they are almost always cheaper as well.
We had a standard double room, as you can see from the photograph, far above standard hotel fare. The whole of this very large Kro was thatched. The décor was quite traditional apart from the wardrobe, the shower good, towels large and thick-ish, changed each day; and there were toiletries. There was a minibar in the room as well as a water dispenser in the corridor with hot and cold water, and the necessaries for making hot drinks.
Breakfasts were in the garden room with a good choice of cereals, fruit juices, hot food, cold meats, cheese and various types of bread: plenty to eat. There was a machine for self-service cappuccinos/lattes etc . plus hot water for tea. English-type tea seemed to be in short supply –after asking the first day one teabag was forthcoming; however, the second day the waitress had remembered and brought 2 along for my hubby – thoughtful. Many Danes seem to think that English tea = Earl Grey, for some that may be the case, but we always ask to English breakfast (sort) tea. The logistical arrangement of the breakfast was eminently suitable for a constant dribble of customers; but when they appeared en masse queues ensued due to the narrow aperture at the food end of the room.
We booked a table for dinner the night before and were glad we did as the place was packed. The food was expensive if one chose the gourmet menu – 428 kroner for a three course menu (nearly £50) per person and the same again for the accompanying wines. For the 8 –course menu the price was something 875 kroner (over £100) for the food, with wines the same price. I felt the fact that the food and wine were exactly the same price rather confusing – it would be clearer if they were different prices, particularly to non-Danes. We had a good appetizer and bread to start. Our starter was hake with a beautiful crust : delicious. Main course was a beautiful fillet of beef with decent gravy served with potato gratin and cauliflower – sounds lovely but although the cauliflower was warm and crispy, it was slightly pickled so I didn’t feel it complemented the beef; also the potato had a topping of coconut and crushed hazelnuts –again for me the taste/texture clashed rather. Dessert was a small piece of bakewell tart (called marazine) with mascapone ice-cream and strawberry sorbet with small caramel pieces – good!
With the meal we had half a bottle of Muscadet sur Lie and the house red that we tried the evening before and found very acceptable. Wine portions were generous with only 4 glasses coming out of one bottle so we didn’t mind paying what seemed to be an inflated price at first glance. We had a dessert wine each and hubby a cognac with coffee. The Kro obviously specialise in the gourmet side of food. The staff seemed to enjoy what they were doing and were very knowledgeable.
Christiansfeld was perfectly situated for an evening stroll after dinner and is an interesting, historical place – worth a visit,; and Tyrstrup Kro a good place to base oneself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is a beautiful old inn with very good food and the best and honest service, I have ever had. There was thought of every detail, such as deodorant and other toiletries in the restaurant bathroom, very nice snacks at the tables, good magazines in the hallway, and even headache pills in the delicious breakfast buffet (loads of weddings and parties celebrated here). The best was the owner's attentiveness to all the guests. I am pregnant, and when my husband had him choose a wine menu to go with the (wonderful!!!) food, he chose a menu of fresh organic juices for me - fitting in colour with my husband's wine. This and other examples of the like made me - and my husband - feel very welcome, and we are definitely coming back. We surely recommend this place. (A little minus - and the only reason for not giving an overall grade 5) was the cleaning in our room which wasn't horrible, but also not quite up to the standards of the rest of the stay. I'm sure it must have been a slip).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here one night during our way down to Alsace. I must say that it is a small gem just 2 min drive from E45, convinient when you are on your way from Skandinavia to southern Europe. We stayed in a room with jacuzzi. The room was clean and spatious. During our stay there were 2 weddings and one other celebration but that didn't bother us at all. I think that the Kro is very crowded during spring and summer weekends due to all the weddings they seem to have. The food was very good and they hade large portions. Good wine by the glass.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpediemgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansfeld
1.5 mi away
Den Gamle Graensekro
Den Gamle Graensekro
#2 of 2 in Christiansfeld
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 10 in Kolding
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
20.7 mi away
Agerskov Kro og Hotel
Agerskov Kro og Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agerskov
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Norden
Hotel Norden
#7 of 8 in Haderslev
3.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 5 in Aabenraa
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
9.1 mi away
First Hotel Kolding
First Hotel Kolding
#2 of 10 in Kolding
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyrstrup Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrstrup Kro

Property: Tyrstrup Kro
Address: Tyrstrup Vestervej 6, Christiansfeld, Haderslev 6070, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Haderslev > Christiansfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Christiansfeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyrstrup Kro 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tyrstrup Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing