We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one night stay is the best”
Review of Rold Gl. Kro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rold Gl. Kro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rold Skov
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been to this small hotel (or motel, as you drive your car to the terrace houses and park in front of your room) five years ago, and liked it then. But five years is obviously a long time. The place is shabby and not that cosy anymore. The cleaning of the rooms could have been better. I wonder if they plan to renovate it, as it really is in the need of it.

The restaurant was nice, with very good food and service. But I also recalled the food as beeing better five years ago.
The breackfast buffet was very good, with everything you would like.
The hotel is (to my Danish standard) not a three star hotel, but only two.
For a one night stay it's okay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 57 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you like good food, go to the restaurant, but beware, we were billed 9 euros for a 1 litre bottle of tap water!! That is daylight robbery (with a smile, of course)! Avoid staying at the hotel, as I don't know how on earth they manage to gain 3 star rating... not worth 1 star in my book. You would expect more for 150 euros per night (inclusive of breakfast for two)... Dirty toilets, mould in the shower area, filthy chair in the room, dust everywhere you look, and not enough lighting to shave/make up. My general opinion of Danish standards is that they need to renovate many of their hotels, they may have gained three stars in the 1970's, but today they definitely don't meet the requirements of the modern traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Rold Kro is in the forest area south of Aalborg ,it was very busy with 2 large parties we booked dinner for 2 and had a good meal of scallops/apple salad and mozzarella salad followed by plaice dishes with lots of potatoes.
The inn keeper was a jovial, rotund character almost out of fiction, however be aware that using a foreign credit card in Denmark adds a fee to the costs and in this case added £4 to the meal

Well worth finding just 25 minutes by car out of Aalborg

Room Tip: Book in advance, we did from Aalborg touist office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Grj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Ole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kromand, Ejer at Rold Gl. Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouMors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kromand, Ejer at Rold Gl. Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Vibeke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kristian_Angelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kromand, Ejer at Rold Gl. Kro, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rold Skov
3.8 mi away
Rold StorKro
Rold StorKro
#2 of 2 in Skoerping
100 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comwell Rebild Bakker
Comwell Rebild Bakker
#1 of 2 in Skoerping
172 reviews
10.9 mi away
St. Binderup Kro
St. Binderup Kro
#1 of 2 in Aars
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel BramslevGaard
Hotel BramslevGaard
#2 of 2 in Hobro
69 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Amerika
Hotel Amerika
#1 of 2 in Hobro
111 reviews
16.1 mi away
Purhus Kro
Purhus Kro
#1 of 1 in Farup
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rold Gl. Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rold Gl. Kro

Address: Hobrovej 11, Rold Skov 9510, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Rebild Municipality > Rold Skov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rold Skov
Price Range: $169 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rold Gl. Kro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rold Gl. Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rold Gl. Kro Rold Skov, Denmark - Jutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing