We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful site in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camping Mille Etoiles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a gorgeous place ! A bit off the beaten track but so worth the effort. We stayed in a 2 person yurt for a week and could have stayed for so much longer as it was so relaxing. Everything you needed was provided eg cooking equipment and you could hire bed sheets if you needed to. We were greeted by Nadine who was extremely friendly and helpful even though our French wasn't brilliant ! She showed us around the site and the view , oh wow the view, literally steps from the site across the gorge is amazing, literally breathtaking ! There is a steep walk down to the river from the site which was pretty hard going on the way back in the August heat but still worth it, to spent time swimming in the river and watching the numerous canoes go past for a few hours. The site has its own restaurant which serves a simple menu , the pizza are really tasty, we ate there 3 times it was so nice. You could pre order bread, pain de chocolate etc at the restaurant for breakfast which was a bonus being a drive away from the nearest village. If pushed to suggest a negative about the site it is the toilet/shower facilities. Instead of the normal row of showers and toilets, the site has 3 rooms which contain a shower, toilet and wash basin , which are great especially for those with children but there are just not enough of them to accommodate everyone, queuing to use the loo is no fun !
A exciting winding road from the site takes you to Vallon Pont d'arc , which is the tourism spot of the area. Here there is a large supermarket, numerous restaurants, shops to keep everyone entertained. There are many things to do in the local area including visiting caves, horse riding and of course hiring of canoes for trips along the Ardeche river. The village of Barjac is worth a visit as is Pont Espirit , especially on Saturday morning when the weekly market is held.
Mille Etoile is a gorgeous site, well worth the long drive from the UK, we loved staying there and would go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Well, what can I say! What a fab place! We stayed for 10 days at Mille Etoiles and had the best time! We opted for the Yurt (2 person) and were very comfortable throughout our stay! It is camping - but a bit more glamping with the yurts - so everything in terms of facilities are basic but completely fine for what you stay for and need!
The yurt was very comfortable and the kitchen provided everything we needed. You can cook or go to the on site restaurant (moules + frites were amazing! Gorgeous pizzas too!)
You will need a car to get about and you are in the middle of no where - but only a 5 min drive to the nearest lovely town where we had our first nights meal at Les petite auberge! Amazing high quality food and the view was stunning!
The supermarket is only a 15 minute drive away from the camp site (inter marche) where we got everything we needed!
The vineyards are all very close (drive from 15 - 30 mins) to go to a couple!
You can walk down to the river - it is steep in some areas so make sure you wear sensible shoes (not flip flops!) and the walk up is - a workout - but what you get at the bottom (pretty much a private area and amazing gorgeous river!!) is well worth the effort! Takes about 15 mins walk down, 20 up.
Nadine and Laurent were lovely and all staff at the camp site were very helpful (Nadine's English is limited but what do you expect - it is France, they don't have to speak English!)
We did two canoe trips whilst there. We found Alpha Beateau the best (more efficient) but they are all on the same road near the town - again only 15 mins to get to via car.
We did see the lodge whilst there - very nice for a family of 4!
We had the best time and would love to go back now! But we will have to wait for next year!
Thanks so much to Nadine for all her help. A little gem in the middle of nowhere!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimeej789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Mille etoiles in our own tent in july 2011. We met some people who visited te site for years. They were not so happy with the new, more commercial approach of the new owners, but to us the changes weren't negative in any way....
We loved the natural surroundings, the starry dark nights and the overall atmosphere.
The campsite is quit far from nearby villages. You need to drive for at least 35 min for a large supermarket, but we did't care because the ride was so beautiful and entertaining.
The walk down to the river was steep and a little too heavy for a 3 and 5 year old. The river down was not suitable for swimming, cause there were so many kayaks and canoes. We chose to drive daily to different accessible places near the river.
Don't bother to go to the famous arc, the water there is very dirty and busy... drive there, take a few pics and don't go back there again :-)
There was no swimming pool, but that was no problem to us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G11ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent a week at Mille Etoiles in one of their beautiful yurts. A gorgeous experience... the campsite has everything you could need and is in a fantastic location. You're camped on the edge of the gorge in the welcome shade of the trees. It was so nice not to have cars in the site which added to the tranquility and sense of nature. (you can drive to unload but then leave the car very close by in their car park).

The owners / family are super, the site comfy and clean and spacious, the location is fantastic and when you don't feel like cooking their restaurant serves (among other things) delicious pizza and cold wine/ beer.. perfect after a swim in the river the walk back up from the gorge.

We hired cycles for the day and went to the caves at Aven D'Orgnac which is well worth a visit, also the nearby town of Barjac is beautiful and has a great market on a Friday morning.
Another must is a paddle down the river. We started from the village at Vallon pont d'arc but if you want to avoid the bit of white water and a possible dunking then start from the actual Arch. There was plenty to do in the area and after a morning's activities an afternoon swing in the hammoc with a book under the trees was very relaxing.

The site is right on the GR4 so you have good walks in both directions. We walked to Labastide de virac through Les Crottes which was a gentle walk and we saw a family of Pine Martens.

If you're a family, a couple or travelling on your own I would recommend this site. It had a great atmosphere... friendly and laid back and the owners were a delight. The 2 resident goats are pretty cute too. Thank you so much for a great holiday Nadine and Laurent!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on the 12th and 13th June 2013. Having stayed one night at a site near Vallon this was heaven and cheaper. Very peaceful and laid back plus a wee cafe on site that served pretty good food at a reasonable price. Highly recommend this site if you are heading to the Ardeche only a short drive into Vallon and the main canoe hire places plus access to the gorge from the site as well. Granted it's a walk down and back up but still handy. Labastide is a beautiful wee village with 2 restaurants to choose from what more do you need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This trip was our second trip to Milles Etoiles, having stayed there about 4 years ago when it was under different ownership. The campsite is in a beautiful location, with each yurt in its own separate plot between the shady trees. I enjoyed the fact that we could camp without being laden down with equipment (difficult to carry on a flight) and without having to erect the tents ourselves when we arrived exhausted on the first evening. It was obviously a luxury to sleep in proper beds for a week but we still felt as though we were having an adventure by sleeping under the stars and cooking outside in the tiny kitchen next to each tent. Despite the fact that the camp was at full capacity (given that it was August) we did not feel at all overcrowded and just made sure we picked quieter times to visit the shower block. My kids (aged 10 and 13) loved the fact that we were right above the Ardeche and we went down and up the cliff about 4 times during the week (we saw much smaller kids managing this walk). Swimming in the river at the bottom and jumping off the rocks kept all of us very happy for several hours each time. We did a canoeing trip (very crowded initially but improved as the day went on), visited the nearby caves and had a day trip to Avignon and the Pont du Gard during the week but our favourite moments were lazing down by the river at the bottom of the campsite. The owners, Nadine and Laurent, were extremely kind and helpful with all our queries (Nadine does speak a little English but it was a good chance for me to practice my rusty French). I would certainly recommend this as an alternative (and comfortable) way to camp in the south of France where you feel as though you are avoiding the August crowds in a truly stunning location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very peacefully located in the middle of Réserve Naturelle des Gorges de l'Ardèche.
Friendly, helpfully owners.
Temperature was really hot (40°C) during our vacation, but the campsites is located in a forest, plenty of shade.

You can go and swim in the Ardèche river. But you have to follow a rocky path to the 'beach', it takes 20 minutes to get down and at least 30 minutes to get back to the campsite.

It's a great location to discover the Ardèche and the Provence. It's a 10 minute drive from the beautiful caves Aven d'orgnac.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristof P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labastide-de-Virac
20.7 mi away
Hotel Medieval
Hotel Medieval
#1 of 1 in Rochemaure
86 reviews
18.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Aubenas
B&B Hotel Aubenas
#1 of 1 in Saint-Didier-sous-Aubenas
56 reviews
10.5 mi away
Camping la Digue
Camping la Digue
#2 of 4 in Chauzon
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Le Domaine de Chames
Le Domaine de Chames
#27 of 32 in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
58 reviews
9.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Le Rouret
12.9 mi away
Domaine du Cros D'auzon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Mille Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Mille Etoiles

Address: Mas de Serret | Réserve Naturelle des Gorges de l'Ardèche, 07150 Labastide-de-Virac, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Labastide-de-Virac
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Labastide-de-Virac
Price Range: $22 - $894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camping Mille Etoiles 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mille Etoiles provides accommodation in twelve Mongolian-style natural-canvas yurt dwellings with oak and ash frameworks.These yurts draw on the traditional Kirghiz portable dwellings used in Central Asian steppes.Eight of our yurts have double-bed accommodation for two adults, plus two children in single beds.If you have three children please contact us and we’ll fit in a third bed. Three other yurts are more remotely located in the woods, making ideal romantic getaways.Comfortable bed linen—, blankets and bedspreads—is provided, and changed every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, PitchUp and Booking.com so you can book your Camping Mille Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Mille Etoiles Hotel Labastide-De-Virac
Camping Mille Etoiles France/Labastide-De-Virac, Ardeche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing