We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Green Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Top Stairgate (optional)
Bottom Stairgate (Optional)
Green Cottage top garden
The garden in summer
Green Cottage in the snow
The garden in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Great Rissington, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sunseeker...
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed in this lovely cottage for a week with varying ages, mum mum in law dad, sister in laws and friends. There were 7 of us in total for first few days and all had plenty of room . Village itself is lovely and found quite a few walks right from the doorstep which is a bonus when you do not need to drive out. The Lamb Inn does great food a couple of doors away and very friendly. Found all the people we met in the village very friendly and helpful. Anita the owner was very helpful with all the pre holiday information and when we arrived on a very hot Friday evening to a wasps nest was dealt with very quickly the next day and had no problems at all thereafter. Communication was brilliant. The amount of birdlife in the gorgeous country garden was amazing and had my dad entertained. As the weather was great did manage to make good use of the garden. Could not fault anything at all, all the cooking utensils you could possibly think of. Would definitely recommend to families and friends. It is stunning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoneyBeeK...
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Memorable Multi-generation Family Holiday at a Perfect English Cottage”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was a really treat for us to stay at this beautiful cottage which has so much of character and history. Everything was perfect from the location, layout, furnishings, amenities and view. We were a big group comprising of grandparents, singles and a young family with a baby, toddler and preschooler.

The house is beautifully remodeled and furnished and we had everything we needed for an amazing stays. The house and garden is even more beautiful than in the photos if that's possible. The garden is just amazing and we were blessed with great sunny weather in April to enjoy it. The children had a blast from the moment we stepped in as the house was stocked with toys and a play area in the house and in the garden.
We really enjoyed cooking the in fully stocked kitchen and especially enjoyed using the Aga cooker to prepare all our meals! The house was warm and cosy. The location was perfect for us to explore the Cotswolds area. The Falconry and the very picturesque Bourton-on-the- Water are a short drive away.
Thank you to Anita for such a great stay. It was really easy making the booking as Anita gave us all the needed information and was constantly in touch to make sure all the arrangements were made before the trip. She went out of the way that we had everything we needed, especially for the baby! We''re definitely longing to come back and spend more time enjoying the house and garden.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean H
1 review
“Lovely cottage - perfect for 30th birthday celebrations”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The service from Anita was excellent throughout - any questions immediately answered and helpful suggestions made, such as where to buy provisions locally. The cottage itself was lovely and, according to my daughter, a perfect setting for a very enjoyable weekend with friends.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar S
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional English luxury cottage”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very well maintained, beautiful historic architecture. Huge garden with play area for childen, several species of flowers,fruits and trees. The rooms are spacious, fully furnished. Dining and lounge areas are very cozy. We will definitely go again next year and for much longer. Best Family Vacation good for all age groups.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clh333
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Charming cottage for a family holiday”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here with our extended family for an Easter holiday. The cottage is charming and extremely well equipped, extensively so. We were particularly impressed by the range of crockery and glasses in the cottage and also the books, games and children's toys. Our two year old boy loved it. The garden is big, with play equipment for children. We enjoyed having open fires in the evening and found the place cosy and welcoming.
Some family visited us one day, which meant there were ten of us and there was plenty of room!
It's worth saying, The building is quite quirky, with some low beams and a slightly uneven floor in the kitchen (to be expected from a 350 year old cottage). We loved these features, and felt they added character, but they might not be to every one's taste. We would suggest bringing a stair gate if you have very little ones, as the stairs are steep.
The village is charming ( nice walk from behind the church) with a good pub (The Lamb is well worth a visit) and the location makes an excellent base for exploring the area.
We would strongly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and quirky character
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M
Gloucester,united Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a find charming lovely cottage”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had the pleasure of staying at Green Cottage for the weekend , very spacious rooms , everything there you needed to make your stay comfortable beds were very comfie and the en suite bathroom with roll top bath was glorious. The aga (ever hot )was amazing . The garden was fantastic we did indulge in the fruit plums Raspberries Apples, pears . We went to the local pub The a Lamb Inn, had a fantastic meal good quality food .reasonable prices we had a really lovely weekend .
Would definitely recommend hope to return again one day

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thullyer
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in a wonderful house!”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Cannot fault our stay here. The house is so much more than the photos show. The garden is wonderful. So much space inside and out. Located two doors down from a really great pub with friendly locals and fab food. Can't wait to go back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing