We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break!”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent break!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We enjoyed a great 2 night stay at the Lamb Inn, rooms were clean and comfortable, food was excellent! And the staff were most friendly and helpful.
Location quiet, though 10 mins to Bourton on the Water, 20 mins Stow on the Wold and 40 mins to Oxford. Beautiful surrounding countryside and easy to reach, quaint and interesting villages.

Will call back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    171
    56
    21
    13
See reviews for
80
501
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here last weekend in Stable Room 11. The room was very small so don't bring a lot of stuff with you. There is a wardrobe and some shelf space but not much. To be honest it was freezing when we first got there but after a night of having the heat on it was very cosy indeed. I think it had been unoccupied for a few days that's all. It was clean and perfectly adequate for a short stay. The pub itself was wonderful. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was to die for. Really nice menu and really well cooked and presented. The breakfast was huge and tasty. Juice, fruit and cereals. Full cooked English or scrambled eggs or smoked fish. Make your own toast. It was wonderful. Very close to Stow on the Wold, Broadway, Broadwell, Moreton In Marsh and Bourton on the Water. All well worth a visit indeed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stable room 11 is very small. It's outside the main pub but very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Just had a wonderful weekend stay at the lambs inn. Although room 12 was a little small, it was warm, comfy, clean and had everything we needed. The restaurant serves wonderful food, reasonably priced and good variety. The location is truly wonderful. The nearby villages are just so lovely and quant. Will def be coming back. Nice to see a pub that allows dogs .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliepocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room and ensuite were fine - clean, comfortable, although the kettle appeared to still have some cleaning product or other powder inside it so we did not use that. There was ample carparking available. As we walked into the inn, we passed a group of people leaving the restaurant, complaining that it had absolutely no charm or character and that they wouldn't visit again - we ended up with the same impression. The place feels like it was once at traditional inn that has since been bought by someone who is trying to transform the venue into more upper-class accommodation (and not succeeding).

The food at the restaurant was pretty terrible and incredibly overpriced. It felt like it was trying to be gourmet but failing miserably, so do not expect standard pub fare or an enjoyable gastro meal. The waiters were all dressed in black, so seemed more like it was trying for a restaurant rather than a traditional inn feel. We ordered a side of chips which cost 5 pounds, and received a cup with 7 (yes, 7!!!) chips inside. At a cost of almost 1 pound per potato chip (regardless of the fact that they were 'thickly cut'), we would never eat there again. The vegetarian risotto was OK, although not worth the price, and the chicken dish was average at best and similarly over-priced. As we ate, we overheard diners near us complaining that it was the worst duck they'd ever eaten, particularly at the price.

We had to leave early in the morning, but when we tried to leave, the door to outside was jammed shut, and we spent a good 15 minutes trying to open it as no staff could be found.

In short, we would not stay here again, and most definitely would never eat here. Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grannywobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed 25 and 26th Jan, 2013. Staff were excellent, engaging and friendly. Locals were chatty and informative. For ex serviceman and those with interest in WW1 and WW2, the pub has info on downed Wellington where 5 of 6 crew were killed. Local church also has memorial to 5 Soul brothers all killed in WW1. Break fast was top quality with loads of choice. We ate in Restaurant which was a little quiet although food certainly made up for it. Had to leave early on Sunday and staff went out of their way to come in early so we could have breakfast. The room was very comfortable. The bed was of good quality. Shower was warm to hot but plenty of pressure. Overall a good location for traveling round. Will come back if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very quiet and away from bar overlooking green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonybrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed for one night in the Sherbourne suite of The Lamb Inn which is in the original part of the building and it features exposed stone and beams and is approached up a narrow stairway with ducking required to avoid hitting your head on the ceiling! It was a well equipped room with all the usual facilities and was spacious. A good powerful shower in a nice bathroom although the water temperature fluctuated during the time I was in the shower. We had dinner and I can only say that the standard was excellent and far above "pub grub" in our view. This cannot be described as a cheap overnight stay but it really is a bit special. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff and one of the locals that I got in conversation with were all very friendly and helped to enhance our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridot88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My boyfriend I were lucky to upgrade to Jemimas suite - a beautifully equipped suite in the grounds of the Inn. We ate both nights in the restaurant and were not disappointed by the mouth watering food. Plenty of high quality choices of food and wine. We are walkers and the surrounding areas are not at all disappointing - in fact really picturesque (reminded me of the film 'The holiday' (for all you romantics out there!).
Staff were all lovely and welcoming - our only down side was that the 2 days went too quickly...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Rissington
4.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
722 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,079 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,216 reviews
4.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
963 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Great Rissington | Nr Bourton On The Water, Great Rissington GL54 2LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Great Rissington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Rissington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb Inn at Great Rissington is one of the Cotswolds' most welcoming country inns. Overlooking the Windrush Valley, The Lamb is surrounded by heritage sites and visitor attractions, antique shops and art galleries, cultural and sporting events.In May 2011, we are pleased to announce we received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Great Rissington
The Lamb Inn Great Rissington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing