We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait until next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence le Chalet des Neiges
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oz en Oisans
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've stayed in Oz en Oisans three times. Last year was the first time we stayed in Chalet Des Neiges and we were so impressed that we chose to stay there again this February, and we can't wait until next year!
Compared to other ski apartments it is very spacious and comfortable. It's location is great - you can ski to/from the door. In winter the village is pedestrianised with the snow fall which is brilliant for the kids. It's true that you have to carry your luggage up from the car park but it is not as far as other apartments and there are public lifts so that is a small price to pay for a good place to stay. Comments about the staff not wanting to speak English seem at odds to our experience. Though we like to speak French, when we arrived the reception staff asked if we prefer to speak in French or English. In fact all of the staff were very friendly. We were given two bottles of wine on our first night after being allocated a larger apartment than the one we had booked. Logs for the fire were delivered to our door as was bread early in the morning. Fresh towels were delivered half way through the week. When we checked out we were told about discounts on booking for next year.
If you are looking for raucous apres ski, Oz is not the place for you. That's it's appeal. A small village with half a dozen restaurants/bars, one shop, a couple of boulangeries/patisseries and tabac. It has a charming, cosy and safe feel to it. But in winter the biggest bonus is that, compared to bigger ski resorts, there are no huge queues for the ski lifts. And from Oz you can access the whole of the Grandes Rousses ski area.
We would love to go there in the summer too.
One tip for driving there, or back to the airport, on Saturdays (main changeover day) - to avoid the huge traffic jam on the N85 from the motorway, take the Eybens to Vizille route.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CoxieandBaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello! We are very pleased that you were happy with the standard of service we provided. We look forward to you coming back for your next skiing holiday! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in Residence le Chalet des Neiges for our ski holidays last winter.

The room was very nice, well decorated, everything you need in the kitchen. Great view from the balcony. Balconies them selves are very big.
You can ski from the door of the residence.
There is also a swimming pool, and a sauna, which is good after ski. However it seems that swimming pool is cleaned only at the beginning of the week, it becomes a bit dirty in the end of your stay.

In general, I think it is a very nice place for quite holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank visiteur_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Hello and thanks for your comment. Oz en Oisans is indeed a lovely resort and we are very proud of our Chalet des Neiges there.
Just to clarify, the swimming pool is cleaned every morning, but on Saturday it is true that we proceed to a very precise cleaning because there are no clients waiting for the swimming pool to open on Saturday morning.
Open to see you soon in Oz en Oisans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at Chalet for a week with 4 adults and 1 child in a 3 piece appartment. Clearly a 3 piece in France only has 2 bedrooms, which were of adequate size. We were able to squeeze in one of the beds from the living room in one of the bedrooms so we could put our daughterto bed while playing a game with the 4 of us. The kitchen was of a good size and alowed us to cook some meals. There are separte ski lockers on the first floor which allow you to either ski down to the gondola or into the village to drop of your kids for ski lessons. Reception staff was friendly but not very interested in speaking English. The followed up a few queries we had quickly and thoroughly. Appartment had a bath and a separate toilet.

All in all we were pleased with the size of the appartment and the quality and would come back. More likely to rent a bigger appartment though to have an additional bedroom.

Bread can be delivered to your appartment in the morning for prices lower than getting it yourself in the village.

Do not expect. very roomy appartment but the price you pay is good. One issue though is the fact that you cannot drive your car up into the village, you will have to carry your lugage up to the buildings, which is a bit of a hike. So pack cleverly, and remember that wheels do not roll well in snow.... backpacks are very suitable though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathrin S, Responsable commercial at Residence le Chalet des Neiges, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Hello and sorry for the delay of this answer.
We would like to thank you for the time you took to write this commentary, always very interesting for us.
If you plan to come back next winter, I hope you get your discount code at the reception when you left. If not, feel free to contact us here : info@chaletdesneiges.com
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

very nice & helpful staff
winter or summer you can enjoy OZ
exercise starts in the car park for you to go up to Chalet des Neiges
but once you're there you can enjoy quietness & good food
and fresh bread deliverered at your door
+ ALPE D'HUEZ sunny island resort + SKI + X country BIKE = FUN without having to worry
about cars = KID SAFE place
CHALET DES NEIGES is modern and practical : just get the right gear on your tyres in cold winter to go to this MAGIC ski resort for the family & friends (many DUTCH + BRITISH + some JAPANESE) : perfect if you want to prepare MEGAVALANCHE too :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Nice sized apartment compared to many skiing experiences. Staff not particularly helpful but once we'd got the key we could work things out for ourselves.
Village is pedestrianised so you wont be able to get your car near to the apartment. Not much of a nightlife and 1 shop that has most things

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank Steve888London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We have just come back from a week at Chalet des Neiges. We had great communication prior to arriving and had prebooked ski passes easily. Oz is a lovely village with easy access to Alpe du'ez but keeps its characer as a little village. A few nice restaurants and lovely meat fondue to be had!!.. Ski runs into village could be a bit icy, but ski school really good and teachers on the whole very helpful and kind to the kids! They are reall sticklers with children in the tests an will not pass the kids unless they really are up to it!!!!
Could get croissants and baguettes delivered to apartment daily. at no extra cost, settle up with reception at end of week.
Very relaxing place to be and night skiing on wednesdays worth doing with younger children. Downsides, meals out expensive but nice! We did a mixture on eating in and oing out for lunch and dinners.
If you want to fly our friends used the ski bus from Grenoble airport to the town then to Oz which was very sucessful. We drove from near Birmingham leaving 8am and arriving home at midnight. 14 hours door to door!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LOVETOGOONHOLIDAYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Just returned from a great week at the Chalet de Neiges in Oz en Oisans. We stayed in an apartment for 8 - 10 people. What set this accommodation apart was the great location for both the ski school and slopes (both within 50 metres) plus the spacious layout of the apartment. Usually skiing accommodation works on the slave ship principle. Here the rooms are spacious and the bedrooms have carpets. There are more toilets and bathrooms than you can shake a fist at and the general standard is very high.

There were only two negatives. The first is that it is quite a climb with luggage from the nearset point by car and therefore a sledge or wheeled trolley would have been good. Pack light! Secondly - amazingly there is not a washing machine either in the apartment or indeed any of the blocks themselves. We resorted to washing our clothes in the bath! Despite both of these points we will come again. One of the best resorts and accommodation we have ever stayed in for skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HilaryLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oz en Oisans
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Albertville
Ibis Budget Albertville
#1 of 1 in Gilly-sur-Isere
361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Le Savoie
Hotel Le Savoie
#3 of 8 in Albertville
29 reviews
2.1 mi away
Auberge de Costaroche
Auberge de Costaroche
#2 of 8 in Albertville
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Million
Hotel Million
#1 of 8 in Albertville
70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Les 4 Vallees
Les 4 Vallees
#6 of 8 in Albertville
51 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel balladins Albertville/Tournon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence le Chalet des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence le Chalet des Neiges

Address: Zone d'amenagement concerte Porte Tarentaise, 38114 Oz en Oisans, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Oz en Oisans
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oz en Oisans
Price Range: $114 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence le Chalet des Neiges 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residence le Chalet des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Chalet Des Neiges Hotel Oz En Oisans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing