We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every need catered for”
Review of Le Chateau d'Oz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Chateau d'Oz
Ranked #2 of 5 Oz en Oisans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every need catered for”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having just finished our first visit to Oisans, my husband and I are still raving about our stay at Chateau d'Oz. The accommodation was fabulous with every need thought of and taken care of by Gill & Andy. The cycling options are endless with Gill and Andy's local knowledge providing great insight to the local area and many "unknown" routes to explore. The hospitality was unequalled to any other place we have been in France, the food is fantastic and a requirement for gluten, lactose free catering was meet without quality or variety being compromised. We can't wait to go back !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandL294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at Le Chateau d'Oz from 29th August to the 10th September.
The accommodation was excellent the rooms are really apartments of very generous size with fully equipped kitchens. The area is stunningly beautiful and the cycling is awesome , Andy/Gill's local knowledge very helpful in finding some of the less well known rides and places to visit.
You can self cater but take a tip and take advantage of Gills cooking , It is excellent.
The level of care and hospitality making this the best holiday we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Le Château d’Oz for three nights (from August 31 to September 2, 2013). We completely loved the location and our hosts, Andy and Gill, who were both very hospitable and accommodating. We loved that Andy and Gill joined us and the other guests at the dinner table each evening. They also know the area extremely well and offered many lovely suggestions for things to do, scenic routes to take via car or cycling. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, and clean and the windows opened completely to a stunning view of the Alps. Our room faced the front of the Chateau and had a large living room with a small kitchen and a large bathroom…fully equipped for any stay.

We found this Château via tripadvisor.com after reading a few comments from previous customers. Many months prior to our stay, we had corresponded with Andy over email to arrange for rental of a road bike in order to bike Alpe d’Huez. A full carbon Giant road bike was ready and waiting for us when we arrived – now that is excellent customer service! We also loved the dinners that Gill cooked, the on-the-go lunches for our cycling outings, and the local red wine! Gill is a wonderful chef, very talented with both the presentation and flavors of each meal. We enjoyed talking to Andy and Gill during dinner and hearing about the other guests’ outings from the day. If tripadvisor.com had more than a 5-star system, Le Chateau d’Oz would be more than deserving. We highly recommend Le Château d’Oz to anyone who plans to stay in the alps, whether for a skiing trip, cycling trip, hiking trip, etc.

Andy, Gill… thank you very much for making the Alps part of our French vacation, a truly unforgettable experience. Don’t be surprised if we book another stay with you soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front of the Chateau have magnificent views of the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great place. Friendly, comfortable and clean. Perfect for us as cyclists. Very good location. Rooms are quite big and equipped. Gill and Andy are very kind and helpful. Gill - your food is excellent!!
We had a great time at Chateau d'Oz. Thank you Gill and Andy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Davidgilboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Not trying to be a hotel but so much more than a B&B/Self Catering establishment.
Private rooms with en-suite and kitchen facilities for those that want to do their own thing or you can opt for the breakfast and evening meals.
Relax in your room or the lounge. Take a trip down to the lake and outdoor swimming pool in Allemont. There is a games room for the kids too.
Gill and Andy are not just a couple of ex-pats having a go at running a B&B they are very accomplished hosts.
The rooms are comfortable and kept clean and tidy daily. The views are stunning especially from the rooms at the front.
The food? Absolutely amazing! They will cater for all types of clients with seperate menu adjustments for intollerances and increased portions for those that require the extra proteins and carbs. Then there is the wine!
There is so much road cycling to do here including the routes Froome and Wiggins rode in the TdF.
Mountain biking is also available in the area including a number of bike parks for easy lift up, ride down. Although a short season (lifts operate late June to the end of August) compared with the more established bike parks of Canada.
Alpe D'huez has the amazing Megavalanche course (not for the amateur mtb'er). There are more than 260km of trails in the AD'h area and then there is Venosc/Les Deux Alpes (Les 2 Alpes 3600). Many of the top European riders and manufacturers train in these areas.
Lift pass from Oz Station to Alpe D'huez covers all lifts in the AD'h area all day including access to Pic Blanc for only €16 per adult (with or without bike).
Outside of the bike park scene there is a large network of natural trails (bike-oisans).
We will have to go there during ski season next but summer is definately a must.

Room Tip: Discuss your room requirements with Gill and Andy as they are very accommodating. Rooms can be adjus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent a week here cycling various Alpine cols in early June. The accommodation is first class - spacious, clean, comfortable - in fact just what you need for a cycling holiday. The food - well, it is EXCELLENT!!! Gill is an extremely talented chef and obviously enjoys presenting meals which are tailored to the needs of the guests. We liked the fact that Gill and Andy joined us at the dinner table and shared with us their knowledge of the area.

We have already recommended le Chateau d'Oz to a number of our friends as a perfect base for both cycling and skiing holidays. Highly recommended! Like Arnie, we will be back!

Clive and Melanie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our Grand Alps cycle tour this year involved a two night stay at Chateau d'Oz with hosts Gill and Andy. We found the rooms excellently equipped with a kitchenette, lots of storage for bike kit, comfortable beds and a spacious lounge room to watch the Tour. A welcome surprise! As a triathlon coach and organiser of training weeks every Summer, Chateau d'Oz compares well with our usual standard of accommodation for corporate and club training groups. We will certainly consider staying here again

Room Tip: One of the first floor rooms has a private terrace area off the kitchen, which provides a good space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigirl_Fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oz en Oisans
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
291 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
360 reviews
14.8 mi away
Chateau & spa de la Commanderie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
406 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 1 in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Lingayoni
Chalet Lingayoni
#1 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau d'Oz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau d'Oz

Property: Le Chateau d'Oz
Address: le Village, 38114 Oz en Oisans, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Oz en Oisans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oz en Oisans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run large apartment/suites near Alpe d'Huez,French Alps. Bed and breakfast, Half Board, Full board. Special diets catered for - just tell us in advance. Open all year. Flexible dates. Winter: catered 'chalet style' holidays skiing in the huge Alpe d'Huez ski domain, longest black run in Europe and great runs for beginners and children.Children under 3yrs FREE on catered holidays. Children 3-14 only 160€ per week on catered Holiday. T&C apply.Summer: road cycling the famous Cols and the Tour de France Alpe d'Huez 21 bends, mountain biking, walking, climbing, childrens' activites, water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Chateau d'Oz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing