We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely relaxing stay in chateau d'oz. first time skiing and the made it an absolute joy!”
Review of Le Chateau d'Oz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Chateau d'Oz
Ranked #1 of 5 Oz en Oisans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's such a nice place in a gorgeous location. The owners Andy and Gill are such friendly and relaxed people, accommodating and kind.

I found it hard to ski at the beginning but know that i'd be going back to their chateau at the end of the day I was happy. Gills cooking was deeeeelish, her vegitarian food was so yummy. Andy's photography around the house is beautiful and he knows the place very well. Their staff were all friendly an helpful too...
Service with a smile just what ya need love it. Beds are so comfy too :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniseysa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 168 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

The first time we had taken the children on a ski/snowboard holiday and they will remember the stay at Le Chateau as much as the fun had on the slopes. We had an excellent stay in room 5: plenty of space and storage for all five of us, with a separate bedroom for us; en suite bathroom with ample hot water; a fridge for basic supplies; and a tremendous view from the balcony. The beds were comfortable and the suite was very clean.

The food provided each evening was freshly prepared by Gill and something we always looked forward too at the end of each day. Fabulously tasty dishes and no short cuts taken with the children's meals - no turkey twizlers on this menu. We took advantage of the fresh baguettes delivered daily to make a packed lunch, delicious and a fraction of the price of a sandwich in the resort (there is a supermarket in the resort for cheese, ham etc).

Gill and Andy were really good hosts and ably assisted by 'young' Peter. Andy jumped in his minibus on numourous occasions to ferry us to the Oz ski station - which was needed when the bus didn't arrive after heavy snow falls. Gill took a genuine interest in the children, making sure they were ok and looking out for one of ours when they were unwell.

Only downside was Le Chateau was quite a distance from the resort so we were very reliant on the bus; our lessons did not finish until 4:30pm so there was only one bus we could catch at 5:30pm, leaving little time to get back for the children's meal time. We were once left waiting for over an hour and a half for a bus that did not come one morning - Andy did run us up to the ski station when he returned to Le Chateau.

A thoroughly enjoyable experience and we would recommend a stay for anyone seeking genuinely family friendly accommodation in the French Alps.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank JamesSwanland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChateaudOz, Owner at Le Chateau d'Oz, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments. It was lovely to meet your family and the other 7 families in your group.
The local baker delivers fresh bread to us every morning, and we will happily add extra onto our order, for a small charge, so that guests can make up sandwiches for lunch.
Yes, the navette did have some problems in your week due to such a heavy snow fall that the morning it kept you waiting the snowchains had aparently broken! However, as you mentioned, we do run guests the 7km up the hill to the pistes so that everyone gets to ski school on time, and also collect guests if required. The navette (and our minibus) stops right near the pistes, and its easy getting the children to and from ski school.
We look forwards to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent food, large airy rooms, plenty of space. Gill and Andy made us feel more than welcome, couldn't do enough for all of us. Nothing was too much trouble. Even when the snow caused the local buses to stop, Andy ensured we all arrived at the ski lessons on time. He also gave us plenty of options of local places to eat on Gill's day off. There was always plenty of food and drink available and extra could be purchased if necessary. Andy even gave us a lift to the local restaurant and arranged taxis to pick us up.

Room Tip: The views at the front of the house were outstanding, especially when the sun shone on the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were introduced by friends to the Chateau and can only say what a fantastic place it is. Large bedrooms with fridge and tea making facilities, big comfy bed, lots of hot water for the recovery shower after the days skiing and more importantly Gill and Andy such good hosts making us feel like guests in their home rather than paying clients. Gill's cooking is to die for, every meal was perfect. The ski area is vast and there was plenty of skiing for both novices and experts. We will most definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have had the most wonderful skiing holiday at Le Chateau d'Oz returning again to ski in the beautiful mountains of L'Alpe d'huez. The accomodation is perfect for us with very comfy beds with a stunning view across the valley. Masses of snow meant great ski conditions and we really enjoyed/needed the yummy cakes on return! Really missing that 4pm cake fest Gill! The evening meals are just right-special without being too fussy and both Andy and Gill work so hard looking after their guests. We will defintiely be returning next year for our third visit -must do this soon before they get booked up!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayfan066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have recently returned from a week's stay at Chateau d'Oz. We were among a party of 16 (10 adults and 6 children). Andy and Gill provided us with a lovely room (room 8 at the top of the Chateau). We had the most amazing views. The bed was very comfortable with great pillows and we had our own kitchenette (we just used the fridge). Plenty of hot water too for hot showers. (There are lots of stairs in the Chateau, so it might not be a great place to stay if you are infirm or unfit. You will certainly be fitter by the end of your stay when your room is at the top of the house)!!

The food provided was of an extremely high standard (continental or cooked breakfast, cakes for tea and a 3 course meal for six out of our seven nights there). Aperitifs and some wine at dinner are provided. The children ate at 6pm, which meant that it was just adults at 8pm. Extra alcoholic drinks can be purchased at very reasonable cost from our hosts. There was a lovely lounge available for guests with loads of books, magazines and games, as well as a TV and DVD player.

There is a small spa at Le Station and some great walks too. Andy and Gill have a minibus and they collected us and took us back to Grenoble Airport, as well as transporting some of us up to the Station every day. This was a great help to us all.


My husband and daughter had a fabulous week's skiing with Andy and Pete (who also does a sterling job in helping look after us all) guiding our group on several days. I did not ski (due to a bad fall in 2012), and had plenty of reading material. My only problem was lack of buses to Oz Station. Shame they were not a bit more frequent. Found it a bit tricky getting my timings right to meet everyone for lunch or to collect children from Ski School. Buses coming back from Le Station were infrequent too, with the last bus leaving at 5.25pm, making it difficult for restaurants etc. on the night that Andy and Gill don't cook, when they are having their well deserved day off.

The skiing in this area is superb. I am sure that the Chateau Oz would be a good place to stay in the Summer too.
Thank you again for a great week.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Chateau have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigH631961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay - Gill & Andy are fabulous hosts that make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. I am still pinning for Gill's cooking which is 5 star and Andy was so helpful in getting us sorted so we could get on the slopes from the very first day. Christmas day was amazing, Gill went all out to create a wonderful atmosphere where all the families could have fun and relax. We will definitely be making this trip again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oz en Oisans hotels
0.7 mi away
Chalet Lingayoni
Chalet Lingayoni
#2 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
115 reviews
40.2 mi away
Residence le Chalet des Neiges
Residence le Chalet des Neiges
#1 of 3 in Oz en Oisans
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge La Cure
Auberge La Cure
#3 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chez Passoud
Chez Passoud
#4 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chalet Gelinotte
Chalet Gelinotte
#4 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
5 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moontain Hostel
Moontain Hostel
#1 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau d'Oz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau d'Oz

Address: le Village, 38114 Oz en Oisans, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Oz en Oisans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oz en Oisans
Price Range: $127 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run large apartment/suites near Alpe d'Huez,French Alps. Bed and breakfast, Half Board, Full board. Special diets catered for - just tell us in advance. Open all year. Flexible dates. Winter: catered 'chalet style' holidays skiing in the huge Alpe d'Huez ski domain, longest black run in Europe and great runs for beginners and children.Children under 3yrs FREE on catered holidays. Children 3-14 only 160€ per week on catered Holiday. T&C apply.Summer: road cycling the famous Cols and the Tour de France Alpe d'Huez 21 bends, mountain biking, walking, climbing, childrens' activites, water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Chateau d'Oz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing