We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Summer in the Alps”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
kids chill out area complete with toys, games, books & dvd player.
heated boot room
exterior of the chalet
Balcony view
Enter a caption for your photo
View of the lift from Chalet Balcony
The lifts are open in July & August in the summertime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oz en Oisans, Isere, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Epona11
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Summer in the Alps”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Chilled Mountain has the most stupendous views. We arrived at night and the next morning my breath was taken away by the view from the balcony.

We had 10 people in the chalet and it never seemed crowded; there was enough seating to allow us all to sit together in the evening. There are shower rooms/bathrooms/toilets to manage the numbers. Water pressure was great (for a good shower). Plenty of books, games, videos and a Wii to entertain you as well as a children's play area upstairs with age appropriate games/videos etc.

But the most impressive part was the standard of food. The three course meals and wine each day were, yes, exciting to look forward to. Breakfast was hearty and varied. Tom and Amy prepared the most sumptuous meals with great finesse. I loved the cakes in the afternoon... something else to look forward to.

Activities: if you want to walk on the high level make sure that you go when the Alpine cable cars are open. We had come to kayak, so it didn't matter too much. Lower level walks are many and varied but do be aware that 'easy' in the Alps is quite demanding, we got caught out by that. We kayaked on the lake and enjoyed a beer at the cafe. Service is friendly and welcoming.

There are also bars at Oz Station near the house and bars down at Allemont, a lovely town by the lake. Oz village (half way down the mountain) is attractive and has a lovely looking cafe/bar (we didn't try it owing to time). Bourg en Oisans is definitely the buzzing place with lots of shops and places to eat.

If you are into cycling up hills Oz en Oisans is a destination of choice for you... We, however, tried the Kamikazi (similar to Go Ape). A wonderful location in the shade of the tall pines on a hot day. The final zip wires a not-to-be-missed thrill.

No criticisms except our timing as I would have loved to have experienced walking at the high level, but perhaps I will do that next year....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and the views
Liked least: Not going when the Alpine lifts were working
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
357DerekP
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic chalet!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

What a fantastic chalet! My wife and I had a marvellous time there last week with some great friends. We sipped wine on the balcony surrounded by snow capped mountains with cascading waterfalls. We could also look down to see the crystal clear lake where we had kayaked that day. And we watched a local cat and butterflies in the recently cut grass sloping down towards the switchback road that had brought us to this magical place.
It was so nice that our hosts, Tom and Amy, not only provided incredible cuisine but joined us for more wine, and even more banter. Cycling seemed most popular although walking in the area was also good. I would recommend going when the aerial lifts are open (since they were shut in mid June 2013). The Kamikaze park is good fun and just 5 minutes walk from the chalet.
Derek Poole .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and food
Liked least: shut gondola lifts
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian D
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over 16 years skiing and this is without doubt, the best catered chalet I have stayed in”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The location is ideal for families and couples. Lively young things may find the night life lacking. Families and couples will love it.
The skiing offers a good variety of runs to suit everyone, from beginners to the experienced.
Lifts and ski hire are close by. Truly beautiful scenery - breathtaking views from the top.
The chalet covered all bases - warm, clean comfortable, great views, log fire. Tom and Ash were excellent chalet hosts; professional and welcoming. They both do everything they can to help. Tom is an amazing chef that made every meal a delightful surprise, his talents seemed endless and he excelled all week. Ash's attention to detail was superb and nothing was too much bother. They are a truly outstanding team, and an valuable asset to Chilled Mountain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The efforts of Tom and Ash to ensure our stay was perfect
Liked least: Lack of happy hour apres is Oz
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Chalet, brilliant spot, excellent food....”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The chalet was the perfect layout for our 2 families with the upper floor having 3 bedrooms and the ground floor with 2. It was clean and very comfortable with a good selection of toys and games/video games/DVDs etc to keep the children and teenagers happy in the evenings.
It was in a great position being within walking distance to the town and also to the main lifts for the Alpes D Huez skiing area which has a good choice of long green and blues, as well as the more challenging slopes. In resort there are also some small slopes, a magic carpet and a small luge area which can be walked to within 10 minutes and is perfect for small children.
Helen and Neil were fantastic chalet hosts, the children loved their healthy and tasty meals, not to mention the delicious cakes waiting for us and the adults said the food at dinner was amongst some of the finest meals they had eaten. Thanks so much to both of you for looking after us so well... we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The resort, the skiing conditions, the chalet, the food
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyGrif...
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic ski chalet for families”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

4th visit to Chilled Mountain, accommodation and position of chalet is great. Food cooked by Tom is 5*. Chalet is immaculate, kept by Ash. Kids love it. Skiing suits all standards and slopes/lifts never too busy. Highly recommend to groups and families. Already booked for 2014 again

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab, fab, fab, fab and fab!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This chalet is literally fab in all aspects of a successful ski holiday, especially one with children and a mix of skiing ability within the group.
1. Transfer - having spent many hours being ferried to 3 Vallees or Espace Killy, this was just over an hour from Grenoble (great little airport) to the door - meant we were on the slopes by lunchtime on the arrival day, having landed at 9.30am.
2. Chalet - spacious enough for our 2 families with 4 adults and 7 children (aged between 3-12 years), comfortable without having to stress about the children knocking anything over, very clean, very comfortable beds and even though they were twins put together, they didn't seem to have that annoying join in the middle. Plenty of hot water and enough bathrooms, so that no-one ever had to wait.
3. Location of the chalet - it is 2-3 mins walk to Alpette lift (virtually ski back to the door), ski rental shop (v good - booked through www.snowell.com, v good deal), shops resort centre, creche/ESF. Lovely little resort with everything you need and particularly good creche/ski garden for little ones.
4. Food/hospitality - this really was exceptional. I'd read the reviews and had reasonably high expectations but this surpassed them by a long way. Neil and Helen were truly fabulous - warm, professional, so accomodating, came up to ski with the youngsters on the last day and Helen helped my 9 year old snowboard which really was above and beyond. Neil takes his food very seriously and is seriously talented - the owners obviously take their guests' enjoyment of the food seriously too to have hired him, not just the normal 18 year old who has done a 1 week course! I'd have been happy with the kids' meals but was pretty ecstatic with the adult fare - best we have ever had in a ski chalet.
5. Ski area - huge, varied, easily accessible and everyone found challenge and fun. Jacques from Skiaoz was a fabulous instructor/guide for my 2 eldest, husband and I too. Definitely recommend.

I think it's pretty clear that we loved it and would 100% recommend this chalet company as they really do set themselves apart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: food, location, ease
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJStep
Bushey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Probably the best chalet we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

The chalet's location was perfect - 50m to one of the main lifts, near the creche and close enough to the village to pop back if you forget anything. Oz itself is largely pedestrianised and you can ski through the village or pull a sledge to the nursery slopes/sledging slope/other main lift up to Alpe d'Huez. There is also a "magic carpet/travelator" on the nursery slopes so it's much easier for young kids learning to ski or getting to the top of the sledging slope.

The chalet is modern and comfortable with a really comfortable lounge area. There is everything you need to relax after a long day on the slopes - TV, DVD, MP3 docking station, Wii, Xbox 360, DVDs, games and toys. You don't need to worry about bedguards, stairgates or kids plates/cutlery - it's all there for you.

Last but most definitely not least is the way that Tom and Ash looked after us. They make a brilliant team and work really well together. The food was second to none. We were very disappointed to have to go out on the staff night off. We've never had food like it in any chalet we've stayed in before. Superb!

We can't wait to get back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and the view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing