We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic ski chalet for families”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
kids chill out area complete with toys, games, books & dvd player.
heated boot room
exterior of the chalet
Balcony view
Enter a caption for your photo
View of the lift from Chalet Balcony
The lifts are open in July & August in the summertime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oz en Oisans, Isere, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HollyGrif...
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic ski chalet for families”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

4th visit to Chilled Mountain, accommodation and position of chalet is great. Food cooked by Tom is 5*. Chalet is immaculate, kept by Ash. Kids love it. Skiing suits all standards and slopes/lifts never too busy. Highly recommend to groups and families. Already booked for 2014 again

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura m
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab, fab, fab, fab and fab!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This chalet is literally fab in all aspects of a successful ski holiday, especially one with children and a mix of skiing ability within the group.
1. Transfer - having spent many hours being ferried to 3 Vallees or Espace Killy, this was just over an hour from Grenoble (great little airport) to the door - meant we were on the slopes by lunchtime on the arrival day, having landed at 9.30am.
2. Chalet - spacious enough for our 2 families with 4 adults and 7 children (aged between 3-12 years), comfortable without having to stress about the children knocking anything over, very clean, very comfortable beds and even though they were twins put together, they didn't seem to have that annoying join in the middle. Plenty of hot water and enough bathrooms, so that no-one ever had to wait.
3. Location of the chalet - it is 2-3 mins walk to Alpette lift (virtually ski back to the door), ski rental shop (v good - booked through www.snowell.com, v good deal), shops resort centre, creche/ESF. Lovely little resort with everything you need and particularly good creche/ski garden for little ones.
4. Food/hospitality - this really was exceptional. I'd read the reviews and had reasonably high expectations but this surpassed them by a long way. Neil and Helen were truly fabulous - warm, professional, so accomodating, came up to ski with the youngsters on the last day and Helen helped my 9 year old snowboard which really was above and beyond. Neil takes his food very seriously and is seriously talented - the owners obviously take their guests' enjoyment of the food seriously too to have hired him, not just the normal 18 year old who has done a 1 week course! I'd have been happy with the kids' meals but was pretty ecstatic with the adult fare - best we have ever had in a ski chalet.
5. Ski area - huge, varied, easily accessible and everyone found challenge and fun. Jacques from Skiaoz was a fabulous instructor/guide for my 2 eldest, husband and I too. Definitely recommend.

I think it's pretty clear that we loved it and would 100% recommend this chalet company as they really do set themselves apart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: food, location, ease
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJStep
Bushey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Probably the best chalet we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

The chalet's location was perfect - 50m to one of the main lifts, near the creche and close enough to the village to pop back if you forget anything. Oz itself is largely pedestrianised and you can ski through the village or pull a sledge to the nursery slopes/sledging slope/other main lift up to Alpe d'Huez. There is also a "magic carpet/travelator" on the nursery slopes so it's much easier for young kids learning to ski or getting to the top of the sledging slope.

The chalet is modern and comfortable with a really comfortable lounge area. There is everything you need to relax after a long day on the slopes - TV, DVD, MP3 docking station, Wii, Xbox 360, DVDs, games and toys. You don't need to worry about bedguards, stairgates or kids plates/cutlery - it's all there for you.

Last but most definitely not least is the way that Tom and Ash looked after us. They make a brilliant team and work really well together. The food was second to none. We were very disappointed to have to go out on the staff night off. We've never had food like it in any chalet we've stayed in before. Superb!

We can't wait to get back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and the view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Chalet, good food and good skiing”
Reviewed December 21, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Hi,

I have just spent the first week of the season at Tom & Ash's chalet. I have stayed here before and would not stay anywhere else in this resort or Alps d'Heuz.

The location is super, you get your ski boots on and walk to the first lift. No bother or transfers or ski lodges. It's refreshing to get to the top of the mountain fresh, and then get exhausted on the piste, not on the journey there. The same can be said for when you return from your day on the slopes. Off the ski lift, walk for 2 minutes, then home for a shower and a quick drink, or maybe the other way round!

It's worth mentioning that the village now has a blue run, right back to the L'Alpette Ski Lift, next to the Chalets, which much improves things for the beginner skiers.

We were lucky that the other lodge was quiet, so Tijn and Michaela (from the other lodge) cooked for us on two nights. Tom is good, well excellent actually, but this season he has got some good competition. What was nice was the fact that if we had a busy day, the meal was very filling. On the quiet days, Tom changed the menu so it wasn't so calorific. It's nice to be able to talk to the hosts and do that. Rather than a set menu, even if you don't want it.

The lodges are well equipped, and last season we had fun on the Xbox and Children's area upstairs. This time was more for the adults, and although quiet ( not full of drunk teenagers) we ventured to the Oz bar one night and Le Poutran which had live music on the night we ventured out.

So to recap, this is a good value holiday. Not at the lower end of the market admittedly, but worth every pound.

Looking forward to my next visit in 2012, assuming it's not all booked up!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JezEvans
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Late summer cycling training”
Reviewed September 21, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Chilled Mountain have two exceptionally attractive and modern chalets. They have a large number of bedrooms / bathrooms, good communal lounge and well spec'd kitchen. Both have a fantastic clear view over the valley to the village of Allemont. There is also a large storage area / garage essential for cyclists safe storage and "tinkering" ! Tom and Ash are two fantastic hosts - this is my second time at this chalet (both cycling related) and these two guys are incredibly helpful, friendly and professional - nothing is too much trouble. Their maturity defies there youth.The location is literally next door to the ski station (at 1450m high) - it leads upto L'Alpe d'Huez so ideal for skiers and dedicated cyclists alike. It's also a great location for mountain bikers, with a specific downhill run accessed from the chair lift. I would recommend to anyone, i'm confident this venue compliments any alpine visitors needs.My booking was simple and efficient with the help of Rosie. I'm about to book a return next August i like it that much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff_in...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful summer scenary and adventures”
Reviewed September 4, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

The chalet was of a very high standard and offered breath taking views. Tom continually served up delicious delights and Ash looked after all our needs. We were lucky to have sampled 'roast pork belly'. My wife was so impressed that she told me it was better than Gordan's! Green tea cheesecake was sensational. We really enjoyed the summer walks on the mountain and challenging mountain bike tracks – thankfully there were ample lifts nearby and bike runs. A thoroughly enjoyable getaway experience!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damosuzuk...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, friendly hosts, great location, highly recommended.”
Reviewed January 31, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We had a fantastic week staying in Chalet Galibier. We were greeted at the airport by our private transfer organised by chilled mountain and welcomed to the chalet with champagne and canapes. The food throughout the week was excellent and any preferences or dietary requirements were catered for with care and the vegetarian option was not just an after thought as is sometimes the case. The chalet itself is modern, comfortable and is only about 50m from the Alpette lift in Oz. From here you can head towards Vaujany or carry on up the cable car and ski down a red run to the main resort. The Poutran lift is a short walk, but has access to the lovely wide green slopes that head down to Alpe D'Huez. Its true that Oz is very quiet in terms of night life but it was generally a quiet week anyway which didn't help. Of course for some this will be a plus point! Overall I would highly recommend Chilled Mountain especially to families and those seeking relaxing evenings after their day skiing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing