We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous holiday to celebrate my 50th birthday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montriond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow Candy - Chalet La Plagnette
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“A fabulous holiday to celebrate my 50th birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I spent two weeks over the festive season with family and friends to celebrate my 50th birthday and Christmas at Chalet La Plagnette.
Dave is very welcoming and a great host. Even when he had a skiing accident, it didn't stop him from looking after our every need. We were well looked after by our New Zealand elves Piers and Sophie who managed to increase our waist sizes with their fabulous cooking. The chalet is suitable for a family or close friends as some of the rooms are located on adjoining mezzanines. So sleeping arrangements are cosy.
Dave's dad Brian, who looked after our ski drop off and pick ups - and airport pick up - worked hard to ensure we were all happy and delivered safely. Even when we had to leave very early (6am)for our departure flight - Piers and Sophie turned up at the chalet to ensure we had a cooked breakfast before we left. Even Dave came over to say goodbye which made it special.

The ski resort of Morzine and Avoriaz is a good standard and caters for all abilities from beginner to expert. All of us who got out on the slopes really enjoyed the experience and better still no broken bones.

John and I just want to say a really big thank you for making it a really memorable holiday and we loved it that much watch out for next year as we will be coming over again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I am here now sitting in front of a blazing log fire it is snowing outside and the family and friends are out skiing and I am having a ball painting,reading planning tonight's games ,watching TVOr watching my young friend Harry playing on the WIFI
This is a lovely way to relax,eating fantastic food and Piers and Sophie are wonderful hosts
What happiness! Dorothy Hunter

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThankyouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We returned 3 weeks ago but are still talking about our wonderful 'hosts' who really felt more like old friends by the time we left! Kate & David put their heart and soul into their Chalet and it shows!! The warmth and friendliness is only surpassed by the quality of the food and wine. The Chalet it's self is lovely, airy and comfortable. Meal times were were stimulating and lasted for hours even though we were tired from skiing AND the apres ski for which Morzine is so rightly famous! A perfect holiday!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just returned from a fab weeks ski-ing in a lovely chalet . Kate is able to prvide lovely meals taking in account the fussy eaters !
The chalet provides all the service you expect from a high quality catered chalet and catered to the needs of your group.David dropped us off at the lifts and picked us up at an arranged time and also guided the group for a days ski-ing and an after ski drink or ten !
Only negative points lack of WC in one of the bedrooms and the rule of no use of hot tub after 8pm which meant returning from slopes early and missing apre ski !!! .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sollymily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We just spent a couple of nights at the chalet as a group of friends were there for the week- we joined for the weekend. Our two children loved the spaciousness of the house, the upstairs area which all the kids took over as "their" space and lovely big bath! The hosts were very gracious and prepared delicious breakfasts and dinners for us. The meals for the children were just the right size and the adult meals were varied- perhaps even too much, but always good.

We had the upstairs room which had an ensuite shower, but no wc which we would've appreciated. The house was warm, beds comfortable and service always came with a smile. Would definitely recommend! Thank you Kate and David!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBVRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at White Heights during the second week of Feb 2012 with friends, and cannot speak highly enough of our hosts, David and Kate, and our fantastic experience. The service they provided was second-to-none, and really made our holiday. They arranged everything for us, from airport transfers, doorstep ski hire and lift passes, to dropping us off and collecting us from the slopes everyday. Nothing was too much trouble. Kate's food was consistently outstanding, in both taste and presentation, and it was so lovely to come home from a day on the slopes to delicious homemade cake for afternoon tea! On their day off, they still dropped us off and collected us from the slopes, and booked us a table for dinner at a restaurant in the town. The chalet itself is absolutely stunning (we especially enjoyed the outdoor hot tub!), but it was David and Kate that made it so special. They really looked after us: so much so that it actually felt like we were staying with friends, and we didn't really want to leave when the week was up. Thanks for making our holiday unforgettable! Beth and Will Cassidy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Imagine waking up from a perfect nights sleep in your own room in a huge chalet. Your friends have their own rooms & no-one is ever waiting for a bathroom. You walk into the open kitchen/dining area to your smiling hosts who are in the kitchen ready and awaiting. The table is set to perfection with all that you could want to eat and then they ask "Would anyone like a hot breakfast? - Choose what you like"... You sit there whilst looking outside to the mountains covered in snow. Don't know what you want to do that day? - Well your hosts will give you plenty of ideas, organise it with ease & even drop you off to your activity! There were 13 of us and we were always taken to where we needed to be. Every afternoon we would come home to delicious afternoon tea, then warm up in the jacuzzi with a quite drink, before canapes & a 3 course meal matched with french wine. Who could ask for more? Whether you are a ski enthusiast, or looking to relax it will work for you. Absolutely incredible, loved every moment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montriond hotels
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant les Sapins
0.6 mi away
La Ferme du Lac Vert
La Ferme du Lac Vert
#1 of 17 in Montriond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chalet Beatrice, The Edge Morzine
3.9 mi away
La Grange a Germaine Chalet Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Candy - Chalet La Plagnette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Candy - Chalet La Plagnette

Property: Snow Candy - Chalet La Plagnette
Address: 140 Chemin de la Plagnette, 74110 Montriond, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Montriond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Montriond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing