We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach”

Big Sandy Bay Conservation Area
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

By far one of my favourite beaches in the world. If only the walk through the swamp was shorter! The beach was long for a nice walk, the sand was clean, garbage was non-existent to minimal and the staff at the gatehouse were friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank svrmatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    3
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beach time!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are soon to be full time residents of Wolfe Island and took our second trip to Big Sandy Bay this month. The beach itself is not overly long or wide, but clean, quiet and perfect for a family trip to the beach.

There is a fee to enter the beach as there is a conservation area which requires protection. On our first visit we walked the beach and followed the trail to the platform that overlooked the marshy areas and ponds. It is worth preserving and the price of admission is money well spent. We purchased a family membership at a great price!

Our second trip was simply to cool off from the heat and enjoy the water! While initially chilly, we found the water very refreshing, clean sandy bottom, no rocks and ample room for everyone. There is a bit of a hike in through the greenery - so mosquito repellent is a good thing! Would be a very long and tiring walk for very small children, I suggest bringing a wagon. There is a larger outhouse for changing and as a facility, nothing fancy or fancy smelling, but it serves its purpose.

Dogs are allowed on the beach if leashed, which was a nice surprise.

We plan to use this beach very frequently since we will soon be Islanders.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Glennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Isolated beach”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

There is no development around Big Sandy Bay. A long walk on a clean sandy beach with a fresh breeze off the lake is a relaxing, even healing experience. I always go there when I visit Wolfe Island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank circle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Gem!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

WOW! a beautiful day trip! Wonderful walk, beautiful scenery and the water is to die for! Bring drinks and towels etc....as the walk is 1.3 km each way and there are no stores nearby

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank william C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sandy Bay Conservation Area also viewed

Wolfe Island, Ontario
 

Been to Big Sandy Bay Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing