We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid if Possible”

General Wolfe Hotel
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid if Possible”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Seemed unable to handle a "rush" of 5 tables (in total) for a Saturday lunchtime. Slow and out of touch service. Nothing wrong with the facilities, nice water view but just really bad, slow service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marauder9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    10
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kingston
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seabass Taste Like A/s/s...”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

So, it was to be a romantic dinner at General Wolfe, go there was only one other couple there and no one to greet us waited to be seated and no one there finally we were seated about 15 minutes later. We ordered, first was the salad....holy garlic I am still tasting it and the anchoives we didnt want but were told it complimented the salad NOT.....then our entrees came....one dried up old pheasant/bird not sure of the species more stuffing than dried up foul and the "piece de resistance" ..... it was called Sea Bass but pretty sure it was DEAD CARP OFF SHORE LAKE ONTARIO. Took one bite and it was very fishy tasting very strong told the waitress it was fishy she came back said the chef said it was time of year and thats how it tastes...BS
anyways so much for FINE DINING and then the bill charged us for everything

STAY AWAY FROM THIS RESTAURANT BAD FOOD BAD SERVICE.....at least we had a romantic ferry boat ride and a beautiful sunset.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank angeldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Only diners on a summer Saturday night-bad sign. Salmon was "cafeteria" quality. Veggies were cold. Filet mignon was underdone and did not seem to be filet mignon as I know it to be. Piece of steel wool in the potato dish. Nail in the coffin for the old general Wolfe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Avery N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Extremely over rated”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

For the money you pay here, there are several restaurants in Kingston as good for less money

Helpful?
4 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Customers beware”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

There are so many good restaurants in Kingston and General Wolfe isn't one of them. I am warning everyone -- stay away from this restaurant. You've been forwarned.
My husband and I had been there years ago and found it to be overrated. Very expensive and the food wasn't anything special at the time. However, we heard that it had switched hands and now had a new owner, so . . . why not give it another chance.
A reservation was made for 29 of us. Although there were a lot of us, the owner had plenty of time to schedule more waitresses. There were only 2 waitresses an although they were friendly and did their best, it was a disaster from the very beginning. I don't know how many cooks there was but we waited forever for our meals, no I am not joking. When the food came, it was lukewarm to cold. One person's steak was still frozen. The vegetables were barely cooked, almost raw. Didn't have a decent knife to cut the lamb chops, they had to be picked up by the bones and eaten that way -- not acceptable for a high class restaurant. Our tea or coffee were slightly warm, dessert cold. We were only asked once what we wanted to drink and our glass of water when empty was never refilled.
Although there was entertainment (a piano player), he played the piano and sang so loud that you couldn't hear yourself talking at times. Also when the hostess was informing us of the special for that night because of him, we could barely hear what she was saying. It was apparent that it was all about him and not the ambiance.
When our bills came, they were all mixed up -- everyone of them. One person had $96 charged to his bill that didn't belong to him and when he told the owner, he was told by the owner to "pay it and get what is owed to you from your friends". When he told the owner that he wasn't going to do that, the owner became very rude. When mention of the steak that was served frozen, again the owner said "tough, too bad". At one point, the owner became very rude and abusive towards a lady and a fight almost broke out.
I guess the owner has never heard that "word of mouth" is the best advertising. If you're happy . . . you tell everyone and if you're unhappy . . . you tell everyone. I know for a fact that 29 people will NEVER go back to the General Wolfe restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Ginette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Wolfe Hotel also viewed

 
Wolfe Island, Ontario
Wolfe Island, Ontario
 
Marysville, Wolfe Island
Marysville, Wolfe Island
 

Been to General Wolfe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing