We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and great value”
Review of Maliba River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsehlanyane National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maliba River Lodge
Reviewed July 16, 2014

When we first received our quote for this beautiful hotel, we couldn't believe it. So naturally we were a bit skeptical, but it was truly great value for money. The River Lodges are roomy and homey and we were lucky to get one with a fireplace, which was great - the lodges without fireplaces do get cold though. Friendly and efficient staff too. Definitely worth the drive down to Lesotho!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Palesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Maliba River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

With a setting in the mountains, how can you go wrong? Great value for money and helpful and efficient staff. We stayed in the River Lodges and even though they are rated 3 stars, it should be more. Can't complain at all about this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Palesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Maliba River Lodge in Lesotho. The lodges are great, very well stocked with all you need for a self catering stay incluidng a nice fireplace to keep you warm. Only chalets number 1 & 4 have fireplaces at present. The self catering lodges are right on the river and you are surrounded by mountains on all sides. We did the 6,5 km upper and river walking trail which has some amazing views, frozen streams and natural swimming pools in the river. The water is crystal clean and drinkable straight from the stream. The horse rides are also good and the mountain ponies are well trained, so dont hesitate to go on a ride. The drive in from the Caledonpoort border post takes about 1 hr, it is only 45km to the lodge but the speed limit is 50kp/h. The scenery along this drive is spectacular and there are lots of opportunities to take pictures of the locals going about their normal daily routines. The farmers are busy harvesting the corn at this time of the yr so there is lots of activity on the roads with ox carts loaded with corn.
I look forward to booking again for next yr - hopefully we will get some snow next time.
At Maliba they are busy rebuilding the main lodge which burnt down last year. It is expected to be completed by end August this year. This does not detract from Maliba as they have a temporary facility that has all the necessary odcons to keep you happy, ie lounge with fireplace, bar, restaurant etc.

Room Tip: River Lodge Chalets 1 & 4 have fireplaces so be sure to book these units
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were staying in Unit 1 at the 3 star Riverside Lodge (should be 5 star). The Unit was beautiful & clean. We received a warm welcome by reception and the gentlemen at the unit. He quickly transformed all the beds to double beds, light the fire. We started relaxing from our arrival until departure. We will definitely visit again. Thank you all at Maliba Lodge to help make this a break-away from city life (Gauteng) to remember.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

1. Please consider putting a TV or a radio in the River lodge rooms. Coming from South Africa, we didn't have network, so that would have been good to stay in touch with the word.

2. We were charged R160 for parking which was never mentioned anywhere on the checklist. We had the money so we paid for it - but it would have been a different story if we didn't have money. So maybe this should be a fee that is mentioned so we also don't think its a scam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Concious M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I got engaged at Maliba in March this year. I couldn't have chosen a better venue for it. We spent the weekend pony riding, trekking the beautiful mountains, dunking ourselves in the super-refreshing (freezing!) rock pools, and generally chilling out. The food was absolutely stunning. We actually stayed in the very affordable and beautifully situated rondavels near the river. The rondavels felt very secluded and were very cosy. The staff made a lovely fuss of us (and kept my secret!) - we were made to feel very special. All in all a weekend we won't forget in a hurry....

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rickyking19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in the River Lodge self catering chalets about 1km from the lodge. The chalets have 4 bedrooms each but fitting into a chalet with 8 adults will be a bit of a squeeze if you have anything more than a day or two's luggage as cupboard space is very limited. The kitchens are very well stocked with cutlery, crockery, pots, pans etc. even a Weber braai per cottage. If you visit in winter the chalets are very well warmed with underfloor heating and /or electric blankets. Very unlikely you'll be cold.

We did 2 of the walks which were very pleasant and not too tough. Our 4 year old managed (most) of the 6km walk. The rock pools are also great for swimming. We visited in April so the water level in the rivers were low. We also went on a village visit which was lots of fun. If you're interested in 4x4'ing you can travel around the villages. Not hard core 4x4 but fun nevertheless.

Well worth a visit but stay for at least 3 days /2 nights.

Room Tip: If you visit in winter, ask for chalets 1 or 4 as they have fireplaces inside. More or ambiance as t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0.0 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Katse Lodge
Katse Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bokong
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba River Lodge

Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based within the borders of Tsehlanyane National Park, Maliba River Lodges are self catering retreats set in a pristine wilderness valley deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti/Drakensberg Mountains and only 4½ hours from Johannesburg. The River Lodges offer modern, self catering and serviced accommodation which is perfect for larger families, groups of friends or even couples that want an affordable getaway where they can relax in peace and serenity. Activities include hiking, pony trekking, 4x4 trails, skiing at Afriski, birding, swimming in natural rock pools and community visits.Gourmet meals, bar facilities and internet access is available at the Mountain lodge which is on the same property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maliba River Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing