We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once in a lifetime (hopefully) experience!”
Review of Maliba River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsehlanyane National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maliba River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime (hopefully) experience!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I got engaged at Maliba in March this year. I couldn't have chosen a better venue for it. We spent the weekend pony riding, trekking the beautiful mountains, dunking ourselves in the super-refreshing (freezing!) rock pools, and generally chilling out. The food was absolutely stunning. We actually stayed in the very affordable and beautifully situated rondavels near the river. The rondavels felt very secluded and were very cosy. The staff made a lovely fuss of us (and kept my secret!) - we were made to feel very special. All in all a weekend we won't forget in a hurry....

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyking19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in the River Lodge self catering chalets about 1km from the lodge. The chalets have 4 bedrooms each but fitting into a chalet with 8 adults will be a bit of a squeeze if you have anything more than a day or two's luggage as cupboard space is very limited. The kitchens are very well stocked with cutlery, crockery, pots, pans etc. even a Weber braai per cottage. If you visit in winter the chalets are very well warmed with underfloor heating and /or electric blankets. Very unlikely you'll be cold.

We did 2 of the walks which were very pleasant and not too tough. Our 4 year old managed (most) of the 6km walk. The rock pools are also great for swimming. We visited in April so the water level in the rivers were low. We also went on a village visit which was lots of fun. If you're interested in 4x4'ing you can travel around the villages. Not hard core 4x4 but fun nevertheless.

Well worth a visit but stay for at least 3 days /2 nights.

Room Tip: If you visit in winter, ask for chalets 1 or 4 as they have fireplaces inside. More or ambiance as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Ideal get away from the hectic city life. Beautiful location in the mountains. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Food very good and accommodated our daughters vegetarian diet. Unit was large, clean and very comfortable. All utensils and also serviced daily. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baijnathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Our visit was for a special birthday and the staff really went out of their way to make it a very special stay.

The rooms are gorgeous, with little private viewing decks where you can have meals if preferred. We chose to eat in the main lodge and we could not fault a thing.

Surrounded by the most breathtaking scenery the Lodge is a must if you are coming to Lesotho, it truly is a magical place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balerno0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in one of the self catering cottages which were well equipped, waking in the morning to the sound of the river below and the mountain views. We had a brai one night and ate in the lodge the other. The food and service were first class. Thank you for such a warm welcome

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M and M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Maliba in the river lodges and what a great experience it was! We were greeted by friendly staff, who were always available and ready to help. The restaurant served food that was out of this world! The views, the atmosphere, the whole experience was 5 star. Thank you Maliba!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelemaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Awesome, peaceful and serene getaway. Feels very removed from civilization- great for introspection

Remember to stock up on basic groceries if you doing self catering- no shops for about 50 kms

This place is highly recommended if you're looking for time out and away.

The service and staff are outstanding and ever willing to help

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Asma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0.0 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Katse Lodge
Katse Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bokong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba River Lodge

Property: Maliba River Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based within the borders of Tsehlanyane National Park, Maliba River Lodges are self catering retreats set in a pristine wilderness valley deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti/Drakensberg Mountains and only 4½ hours from Johannesburg. The River Lodges offer modern, self catering and serviced accommodation which is perfect for larger families, groups of friends or even couples that want an affordable getaway where they can relax in peace and serenity. Activities include hiking, pony trekking, 4x4 trails, skiing at Afriski, birding, swimming in natural rock pools and community visits.Gourmet meals, bar facilities and internet access is available at the Mountain lodge which is on the same property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maliba River Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing