We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal get away”
Review of Maliba River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsehlanyane National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maliba River Lodge
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal get away”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Ideal get away from the hectic city life. Beautiful location in the mountains. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Food very good and accommodated our daughters vegetarian diet. Unit was large, clean and very comfortable. All utensils and also serviced daily. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baijnathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Our visit was for a special birthday and the staff really went out of their way to make it a very special stay.

The rooms are gorgeous, with little private viewing decks where you can have meals if preferred. We chose to eat in the main lodge and we could not fault a thing.

Surrounded by the most breathtaking scenery the Lodge is a must if you are coming to Lesotho, it truly is a magical place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balerno0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in one of the self catering cottages which were well equipped, waking in the morning to the sound of the river below and the mountain views. We had a brai one night and ate in the lodge the other. The food and service were first class. Thank you for such a warm welcome

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M and M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Maliba in the river lodges and what a great experience it was! We were greeted by friendly staff, who were always available and ready to help. The restaurant served food that was out of this world! The views, the atmosphere, the whole experience was 5 star. Thank you Maliba!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelemaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Awesome, peaceful and serene getaway. Feels very removed from civilization- great for introspection

Remember to stock up on basic groceries if you doing self catering- no shops for about 50 kms

This place is highly recommended if you're looking for time out and away.

The service and staff are outstanding and ever willing to help

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Asma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This chalet is nicely located on a river, in the middle of scenic Leotho Mountains. The chalets have 4 bed rooms with 2 beds each, so it pays-off to come in a group of 6-8 people. 100% self-catering in a clean kitchen with all dishes being provided (watch the meat on the border, veterinerian inspecitions). Hiking to Black pools or further is a great nature experience. Summary: Great stay. t

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The reception when we arrived was superb. We were welcomed with handshakes and cool towels by friendly staff. The 4-bedroom chalet was comfortable and spotless with good linen and towels. The kitchen is well equipped with oven and big fridge. The setting of these luxury chalets is memorable with views of the mountains rising across the river.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarooPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0.0 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katse Lodge
Katse Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bokong
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba River Lodge

Property: Maliba River Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based within the borders of Tsehlanyane National Park, Maliba River Lodges are self catering retreats set in a pristine wilderness valley deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti/Drakensberg Mountains and only 4½ hours from Johannesburg. The River Lodges offer modern, self catering and serviced accommodation which is perfect for larger families, groups of friends or even couples that want an affordable getaway where they can relax in peace and serenity. Activities include hiking, pony trekking, 4x4 trails, skiing at Afriski, birding, swimming in natural rock pools and community visits.Gourmet meals, bar facilities and internet access is available at the Mountain lodge which is on the same property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maliba River Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing