We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the river - bit cold in winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maliba River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsehlanyane National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maliba River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“On the river - bit cold in winter”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The river chalets are self-catering, 4 bedroom units.
It is more than sufficient for your purposes with under-floor heating, electric blankets,e tc. It can however do with a fireplace and we had trouble with a lack of enough hot water. Otherwise there is a Weber braai and the kitchen has all the basics.
We had nice hikes on the routes provided and the kids had lovely Basotho pony rides.
We were here previously and was looking forward to cocktails on the deck of the main lodge. Unfortunately this burned down a month ago and nobody informed us - they are rebuilding so we will have to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holystone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed - together with my son and daughter-in-law and another couple of friends for 4 nights in one of the riverside houses. Nearly everything about the house and it's servicing was excellent. We have no hesitation in recommending this for a high quality self catering location in beautiful surroundings. Our slight niggles were with small things that were just a little 'tired'. Examples were the doors that stuck, the rickety barbecue kettle, the toilet cistern that didn't refill without a little coercion and the shower head that leaked in all directions. If those were fixed - and perhaps a little attention to redecoration we would have rated it as 'Excellent'.
Let's be clear, this is a location that demands activity! There are great walks(perhaps better classified as 'hikes') and organised horse rides to die for - or on! These are not for the feint hearted! The reward, however, is an experience that should leave indelible memories of 'oneness' with horse and terrain!! The horse guides are excellent! Visits to the Mountain Lodge for drinks or just to 'chill' were very pleasant indeed. The welcome was always warm from every staff member we encountered and the helpfulness unlimited.
It is possible to visit and just enjoy the ambience and views but the real opportunity is to enjoy those as fill-ins between 'walking', horse riding and possible village visits(but we didn't try those).
One small disappointment for my wife and I was - despite the presence of much interesting bird life - Maliba could only offer us a list of the birds we might find: they did not offer any form of guided birding. We think they are missing a potential market and an additional pastime for some general guests.

Before we forget, the service staff for the accommodation were simply delightful!!

We hope to be back!!

Room Tip: All the four houses looked good to us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BamboosNorthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at Maliba River lodge. So tranquil, peaceful and beautiful. We couldn't believe that these chalets were only rated 3 stars! It definitely deserves 5 stars! The staff at Maliba were also great and the food at the lodge outstanding. We would certainly return and strongly recommend Maliba as the ideal breakaway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alet-Mari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We've spent 3 nights @ Maliba River Lodge and had a good laugh overthere with the Maliba's Lodge team. We had experienced swiming into the rock pool & had a horse riding with the very kind & nice Paul, but most of all we'd learned how to dance the Lesotho traditional with the laughing girls ! we had such a good time. However you must count around 3,5 hours to go To Katse Dam (one way) and all day to go to Maletsunyane waterfall !

Room Tip: At the river Lodge, there's 4 bedrooms : 3 are located on the river side, one is on the very ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sness92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spectacular Location, Great Service & Excellent Food - there are several types of accommodation so be sure you know where you are booking. We found management flexible and accommodating - ask for mid-week specials or deals if staying out of season. The Mountain Lodge & Chalets is the original property (there is 5 or 6 chalets located at lodge rated 5 star, situated on a gentle ridge offering beautiful views of valley).
They have recently taking over the River Lodge Chalets (rated 3 star)(from the parks management I believe), the Riverside Huts & Camping sites (only a handful of spots when we stayed). We visited for 4 nights, staying in a new furnished Riverside Chalet (2 story 4 bedroom fully equipped chalet, equally comfortable living at North American standards). The Riverside location is a minute 15 minute uphill walk to main lodge - either by gravel road or beautiful nature trail (recommended route). It is easily reached by vehicle in 2-3 minutes.
The food & service offered was excellent with a good wine list and well stocked bar. Salmon, ostrich, pork, puck and exceptionally well prepared sides - menu changes daily so you won't be bored! Service is personable and top tier (well trained and service knowlegdable).
Several hikes and day walks are easily accessible from all chalets & lodges on well maintained and marked trails.
The property is easily accessible by car - the road in is in excellent condition (Oct 2012) despite reports we had heard.
It is expensive, but this is relative to what you get, can afford & expect. I would recommend a stay of at least 2 or 3 nights so to enjoy the natural, peaceful & pleasant surroundings. And ask for a deal, it never hurts.

Room Tip: Riverside Chalets and huts are 15-20 minute uphill walk to main lodge (although downhill on way back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisdomExchangeTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The river chalets are approx. 2km from the main building, nicely located at the river. Dinner at the mountain Lodge was pricey but very good. Service outstandingly friendly, especially the manager.. All in all a great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We toured Lesotho and arrived at the Maliba Mountain Lodge. What a beautiful location, the friendliest staff we have experienced, excellent food and amazing good value. What a change to be offered salmon, smoked tout, french onion soup, duck, ostrich, belly pork instead of the usual boring fillet steak. Everything was perfectly cooked with delicious sauces and on hot plates. We could not find fault with the place. This is the first time that I have ever written a review but felt that I really must say something. We stayed in the River Lodge houses which are situated down the hill from the main lodge. The location was great with fantastic views. We had a four bedroom house for the two of us, such a luxury to have space, a lounge to sit in, kitchen to make drinks, fireplace if you want to cook ( don't get your meals included, they were so good! you are on holiday) and underfloor heating if it is cold. There are several hikes to do to numerous waterfalls and pools, all signposted and maps are given for free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosT20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0.0 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Katse Lodge
Katse Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bokong
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba River Lodge

Property: Maliba River Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based within the borders of Tsehlanyane National Park, Maliba River Lodges are self catering retreats set in a pristine wilderness valley deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti/Drakensberg Mountains and only 4½ hours from Johannesburg. The River Lodges offer modern, self catering and serviced accommodation which is perfect for larger families, groups of friends or even couples that want an affordable getaway where they can relax in peace and serenity. Activities include hiking, pony trekking, 4x4 trails, skiing at Afriski, birding, swimming in natural rock pools and community visits.Gourmet meals, bar facilities and internet access is available at the Mountain lodge which is on the same property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maliba River Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing