We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Seasons in One Day - Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Getting to Maliba was an absolute pleasure, the road has now been tarred making the drive to the lodge a pleasure. Service very personalised, extra effort to meet guests requirements

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thabo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 615 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

We had a wonderful time during our stay. The hospitality was outstanding and our room was beautiful. We felt so comfortable. The landscape is beautiful and makes each room very private.

Absolutely amazing stay. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank releyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We spent a lovely quiet weekend tucked away in a green valley in the national park. Over the years we've experienced the American Motel to the opulence of the Pierre (NYC) and The Palace in Beijing, but we have to say that Maliba brought a peace not found elsewhere. The staff were very attentive, the food was outstanding, the room was huge with a lovely wood fire , heated towel rails, and a comfortable bed...the only thing missing was a spa.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sesotho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I would assume that when booking a lodge in the middle of the Lesotho mountains you can only be looking for one thing, and Maliba Mountain lodge offers it tenfold. This magical spot is tucked away in the overwhelming beauty of the mountain ranges, a beauty which is matched by the design, comfort and service offered by the lodge. We loved the rooms and the food. We had the perfect combination of activities and decadent relaxation. And the staff truly went out of their way to ensure that every need and desire was met. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvaLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Lesotho is beautiful and the locals say leave your doors open, this is not South Africa, and it certainly is not. The lodge was an unexpected gem and, as seasoned travellers, we understood why the menus and facilities were limited, but they managed to be creative. There was all we required - warmth, hospitality and a setting difficult to match. In our minds it was an advantage that only a very limited number of people could stay, there was no mobile phone service in the area (bliss !!), and there was a lack of TVs and other electronic equipment that ultimately drives us all insane.

Simply socialising in front of a warm fire in the evening or star gazing out in some of the crispest, cleanest air you will breathe, or taking a hike in the hills surrounding the lodge, this is a place that demands you slow down and relax. For the first time in longer than I can remember, my brain actually gave up thinking about work; this place really is very special for that reason alone.

Finally, if you think about skinny dipping in the Black Pool, a beautiful spot you will come across on one of the hikes, be mindful that in winter time when it may be sunny and warm during the day, the water is freezing. Having jumped in it was only then I noticed the ice floating on the water. The ultimate chill out...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StonetapperBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This was the perfect setting for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
The luxury chalets are just that, LUXURY. It was still a bit chilly when we stayed at the resort and the room had underfloor heating, electric blankets, wall panel heaters and a fireplace.
The service we received from the staff was excellant. They were always friendly and helpful.
The food was amazing, true fine dining. Thumbs up to the chef.
The location of the lodge makes you feel like you are the only people on the planet, so peaceful and serene.
Would love to go back again.
Thumbs up all round!!

Chantal & Jeremy Chetty
South Africa

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This was our second stay and were really looking forward to going back to the little heaven on the mountain....BUT something was wrong!...from the lack of food variety to questionable food quality (we actually went into town for some take out) to unimpressive room conditions especially in the shower...something was completely amiss...we couldn't wait to leave......the service was also off..there was no warmth like we received the first time...the interactions with the staff were quite businesslike... needless to say we couldn't wait to leave which we did at 8 in the morning. Pls fix it

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalibaFox, Owner at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2010

Maliba Mountain Lodge management takes guests complaints and suggestions very seriously. We strive to continually improve our service to our guests by setting high standards. We are deeply sorry for your unhappy stay with us. Would you be willing to detail your experience, so that we can fully rectify those issues you have raised?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
55.4 mi away
Thaba Bosiu Cultural Village
24.6 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
88 reviews
0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
103 mi away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
21 reviews
0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range: $66 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests can relax in one of six spacious luxury chalets, enjoy scenic mountain landscapes from their own private balconies and enjoy the pampering attention of our friendly staff. The main lodge features a gourmet restaurant & bistro, two bars with quiet, discreet areas to relax in, with views of the surrounding mountains. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape on horseback, go hiking along the various mountain trails, enjoy a visit to the cultural village or indulge in a massage on their private deck. Maliba Lodge also offers a kids club to keep your little ones entertained. Rates are room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing