We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem in the Lesotho mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem in the Lesotho mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

After two weeks of work in Maseru we were looking for a place to relax, enjoy some mountain scenery, have some long hikes for exercise, and enjoy some good food. Maliba Mountain Lodge looked a good choice, and it was readily accessible by paved road. What we did not anticipate was that it would be so special. My wife and I both agree that in our travels through 70 countries over many years we have never had a room as nice as our chalet at Maliba. The private view of the valley from our deck was spectacular, the amenities, including the fireplace in the bedroom, and the heated floor in the bathroom were greatly appreciated as the early winter season meant a very chilly evening. The chef and his team also put on many remarkable meals. What a beautiful place!

Room Tip: There are only six chalets in the main lodge. Book early to be sure it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    106
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
116
324
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bryanston, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Maliba Mountain Lodge in May 2013. The effort the staff put in was above our highest expectations. Every evening after dinner, we were welcomed in our stylish Lesotho chalet by the warmth of a fire in the fireplace, a stocked-up bar fridge, chocolates on our pillows, fresh coffee, milk and tea...Candles everywhere. Compliments to the cheff..the food was "out of this world"! The staff attended to all our needs even when we did not expect it. A romantic picnic at the river...just for us prepared with lawn, blankets, excellent food! The units each have a private deck under the trees where the staff of the Health Spa did our massages and treatments..their efforts was excellent! Thank you to all at Maliba! Clive and Leanne Cumberlege.

Room Tip: There are only 5 Lesotho style huts..they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Gauteng, RSA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our visit to Maliba Mountain Lodge is one of the most memorable experiences for a long time. The quality of service, caring and courtesy from the staff, presentation and taste of the meals, all were beyond believe. We thank you very much for the peaceful rest we have experienced at Maliba..

Room Tip: Room 1 is very private with breath taking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rudolph4890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great sense of Ubuntu(botho) among staff. We stayed a weekend; got there at mid night with reception closed. The security guard on duty did everything for us. we never missed reception services. on the next day we went on a 9KM hike along the wonderful mountains. later in the night to our surprise our challet was romantically decorated, lights dimmed...we had a real 5 star treat. GO SEE IT YOUR SELF

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mthandeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here and everything was perfect. We stayed in the challet with the most beautiful view towards the valley. The food was very good and the staff were friendly. Not too stiff, just perfect. We did a hiking tour towards the waterfall, which was ok, but the view on the way back was the highlight.
The challet was the most amazing, the view, the bed was like a real kings bed with a lt of pillows. We had a fireplace which was lit as we were at dinner. From the bathtub you also had a view outside into the valley. The challet had an own terrace.
The price is high, but if you get the midweek special, it is the best value for money, which we ever had.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Berndandchrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We recently had 2 fabulous nights at the Lodge. The staff are incredibly friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The setting is stunning, surrounded by mountains with an amazing view from the main deck, and we had a fabulous 13km hike (with a spot of bundu bashing). The room was luxurious, with a roaring fire waiting for us on our return to the room after a delicious dinner. All in all the lodge is well worth a visit and you will leave planning your return trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HES664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Maliba for two nights in May 2013 and we can't rave enough. Excellent friendly staff, Extremely Polite and go out of their way to serve. Accomodation to die for beautifully situated high in the mountains . Beautiful walks. Thank you to all of you including our amzing chef for a little bit of heaven on earth. Would recommend it as a dream place to be. Will be back need to do the long hike. Owners well done for your vision you put a lot of our hotels in KZN to shame. Congrats to you one and all. Only one critiscism need to trip the tops of the trees directly in front of rooms so that one can still get a view but not too much to scare the birds.

Room Tip: All rooms at the lodge are excellent. Face the mountain. Couldn't ask for more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
24.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
15.5 mi away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Property: Maliba Mountain Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing