We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Maliba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at Maliba”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently held our wedding reception at Maliba Lodge.

It was a memorable experience. The venue is beautiful, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and the accomodation great. We were very impressed with the food on the night of the wedding, compliments to the chef.

We do not currently live in South Africa and had to arrange a wedding from abroad. The staff at Maliba made this easy and assisted us each step of the way.

All the wedding guests were impressed and throroughly enjoyed the weekend with walks in the nature reserve, swims in the rock pools and horse riding.

We would definitely recommend this to anyone considering a wedding or event at Maliba Lodge.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WeddingM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    106
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
117
326
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to Maliba for our honeymoon after hearing about it from a friend and it exceeded our expectations in every way. From the warm welcome at the door onwards everything was excellent. We stayed in the honeymoon suite with its private deck and full modern amenities. The service was incredibly good, the staff were attentive and thoughtful at all times. On our last night they set up a private dining area with rose petals scattered around and many candles, without being asked, as they knew we were on honeymoon. They also offer spa services, we had massages done in our room next to a roaring fire, which was wonderfully relaxing after a day spent hiking.

The area the lodge is in is absolutely stunning, with amazing unspoilt natural beauty on all sides. We went hiking and also did a guided pony trail on the lodge's Basotho ponies over incredibly steep ground, which the little ponies handled with no trouble at all. There are many waterfalls and rock pools along the river, which are beautiful and filled with crystal clear icy mountain water.

This was an all round excellent experience and I cannot recommend this place too much. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is beautiful and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After all the wedding planning, we were looking for something secluded but beautiful - Maliba Mountain Lodge hosted us for three nights in March 2013 and, while there are many beautiful destinations throughout South Africa with good food and the like, Maliba topped this off with the most amazing service.

We booked a honeymoon package and they went all out to ensure we were very well taken care of, offering us private meals and picnics, and always attending to our every whim.

The trip to Maliba was fuss-free, good roads from the Caledonspoort border with mildly rough terrain in the final few kilometres that my sedan was easily able to negotiate.

Many thanks to Priscilla especially, who was our first point of contact when we arrived and was always ready to help with anything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Best location, best accomodation, best views, best everything. The staff are attentive and efficient. We thought perhaps three nights might be too much but I wish we had stayed for 22 nights! We decided to go to Lesotho only because we had to return to Lonodn from Cape Town via Joburg so decided to do something different. Wonderful views, food, and walks to unspoilt waterpools where we happily swam with no one for miles! I cannot stress how amazing this place is. Go before it's no longer the best kept secret and you have to pay twice the price!!!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite. Same price as the others but more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Maliba Mountain Lodge recently and were left virtually speechless by the quality of the accommodation, the surrounds, the food and most of all the friendliness, efficiency and attitude of all the staff. They treated us like royalty, so much so that we did not want to leave! We can recommend Maliba to anybody as a relaxing and very worthwhile destination.

Room Tip: The Mountain Lodge is the place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Maliba Lodge is so relaxing. Our thatched roof room was so charming. The views are stunning. We went hiking and then relaxed with bubble baths. We took advantage of the excursions. We didn't have a car so the staff arranged for a driver (as an aside, they expect you to have a car, so if you don't have one tell them in advance so they can arrange the excursions with a car). We went to see the dinosaur tracks and the community village tour. We really enjoyed both. Our guide was very helpful in answering questions and explaining everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two night at this great place. Amazing setting surrounded by beautiful Lesotho mountains. Food was absolutely excellent. Puzzles me however why at night all dining room curtains are closed transforming dining room in a locked away cellar missing out on the beautiful moon lit mountains! Same for the rooms; all blinds closed...

Great hiking; did two 4/5 hour hikes. One combining the upper and lower route with coffee and swimming stop at back pools and one (slightly more demanding) hike up to Waterfall and return via same route with swimming stop at River lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reynleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
24.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
5 reviews
15.5 mi away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Property: Maliba Mountain Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing