We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$104
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$143
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathedral Peak Hotel(Giants Castle Game Reserve)
$235
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thendele Hutted camp(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveler rating
484
121
15
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
121
15
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingthe riverhoneymoon suitefood was amazingfive starnational parkwonderful experienceevery mealbreathtaking viewscakelocal villagean amazing placebeautiful countryout of this worldprivate balconyhiking trailsvillage tour
Filter
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 633 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Unfortunately, the only downside to our visit to Maliba Lodge was that we only stayed one night! The lodge is very easy to find, well sign posted and is situated in a beautiful national park. We arrived to a warm welcome, cold refreshing towels and a drink. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Making your stay special was their number one priority. The huge atrium style rondavel reception takes your breath away - you then walk out onto the terrace and the views are stunning! The beauty of the lodge doesn't stop there as our thatched luxury mountain chalet was just perfect! It was beautifully appointed with a luxurious en suite bathroom. Taking a bath while looking at the incredible view, sipping a glass of cold South African white wine - life doesn't get much better! Our food was delicious, again in a glorious setting. Maliba Lodge really is a gem, it is magical and one of the best places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which mountain chalet you stay at, we didn't see the river lodges.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moggo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here in May 2011; ended up booking the Honeymoon suite for 3 days as it was the only one available. Most memorable was the warm welcome we received having driven across Lesotho for 8 hours, covered, alike our 4x4, in dirt.

Perhaps spoilt by that as it had a wonderful view of the mountainous park from the balcony, and also a well used jacuzzi in a well kitted-out bathroom, fireplace (ready on arrival), heated bed (definitely worth it as it was freezing at night!). We were perhaps overfed with rich food, tea cakes and wine throughout our stay.

Well worth the price. Nice hikes available locally, but we only ended up going on one.
Only two criticisms; on the last morning there was no water as apparently the pipes had frozen and it took several hours to sort out, this was an unfortunate coincidence with the fact that one of us had developed gastroenteritis and we'd only eaten at the restaurant in that time. The manager implied it may have been as a result of possibly drinking the stream water (which we didn't, plus we've lived in SA for at least 6 months by then) but didn't seem to care much more than that.

All in all.. good trip and would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchild83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We had two lodges for 3 nights in January on our trip through Lesotho. We found Maliba to be a bit hit and miss with it's service and standards though.

The lodge istelf is fantastic, easy to find, well signed from the border posts, very scenic and pretty much new. The staff (Rose especially) were also very helpful (when you could find them during the day) and we had some great conversations with the bar staff in the evenings. The turndown service in the honeymoon suite was also a very nice unexpected surprise.

The restaurant offers you a choice of two dishes every night which was nice although none of us was particularly impressed with the catering standard, a fancy a la carte menu to choose from isn't much good if your dinner is over / under cooked when it arrives. We also had a problem with children running about, shouting and screeching in the dining room during dinner one night which didn't exactly gel with the lodge's general ambiance.

There are some walking trails from the lodge which took us to some great photo spots but apart from that you are a little limited in what to do with your time from Maliba, we were also a little concerned that there are things advertised in the lodge which were not actually available (fishing for example).

Lesotho was a spactacular country to see, we drove to the Dam and took some fantastic photos and everyone we spoke to was happy to see and talk to us.

Maliba was definitely a good stay, but could be better with a little more effort and training

Room Tip: ask for the honeymoon suite, it's the same price as the others!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The other reviews are right - I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

We had a two week trip to South Africa and I was hoping this would be as special as it looked on the website (plenty of other places we stayed in weren't). It was. Exclusive in the best sense of the word, this place is utterly luxurious without being in any way being OTT with wonderful staff who go out of their way to make your stay special. This is the perfect place to completely relax or go on a honeymoon (no need to book the honeymoon suite; the other five lodges are all lovely). And I was hugely impressed that unlike other five star places that seem out to rob you of every cent (rip off mini-bars charging you extra for 15 mins on the internet etc) this wasn't the case here.

Only very minor gripe is I share a previous reviewer's comments about the music in the restaurant - when everything else is so perfect and stylish it really is a shame to have such crass music (oddly the bar area had a better selection).

That aside, this is as close to perfection as you'll find.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Words can not explain the beauty of this place. This place meaning the lodge and also the Tsehlanyane National park. Firstly the lodge is tops !! Really beautiful and each smallest detail has been taken care of. Heated towel rails, Port in the entrance of room, fully stocked mini bar (including exceptional South African wine) bird and flower books in each room, private balcony with deck chairs, private deck to view game and to view the beautiful mountains, the sound of the river nearby just puts the cherry on top.
The food was of the highest class. Felt like we were sitting in the fanciest restaurant in Rome.It's weird to think you're in the rural areas of Lesotho and yet you are served with Pannetone, prosciutto crudo and Percorino .....to name but a few.
Atmosphere was warm and welcoming.
The pool is and actual rock pool in the river (this need maintenance though)
But besides the pool, every thing was totally perfect.

Room Tip: If you can afford the mountain lodge - Any of the six Mountain chalets. The river lodge can not be compared to the mountain lodge at all !!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmelaLattanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews