We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chequers

The Chequers
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chequers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Churchill
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the picture perfect village of Churchill, The Chequers is everything a traditional pub should be with its pretty Cotswold stone exterior and a muddy landrover outside. Except, step inside this pub and you'll find something much more intriguing. A heady mix of the old and new. Expect modern cocktails to sit alongside local ales, and a menu that is packed with seasonally inspired dishes.Enjoy locally brewed beer propped at our bar with friends and family, or rustic dishes in our restaurant using the very best British ingredients in some well-loved classics like our Twice Baked Cheddar Soufflé, Bobby Battered Market Fish and our unmissable steaks cooked to perfection in Josper ovens.
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've previously only been to the Chequers for celebratory meals with groups in the evening but decided to take my mum for Sunday lunch.
The staff were friendly and efficient, the lunch was delicious and we had a great time. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WagglerTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    106
    50
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice place (the decor is more modern - so not your totally traditional country pub), friendly staff and lovely food. We had an early lunch and would have happily stayed all afternoon :)

Helpful?
Thank badger975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best place for food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Been to The Chequers on numerous occasions, and never does it fail to deliver. Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Although the place is always busy on weekends, the staff, particularly Assumpta, always have time for you. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jw1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The staff had impecable manners and went out of their way to make sure your evening was enjoyble. The service was quick, fast friendly and efficient and the food was delicious. We went there for our wedding anniversary and had such a fantastic time, we are going back again tonight!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglescliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This quaint Cotswold Inn in the heart of historic Churchill (you'll need a satnav to find it!) provides food way beyond what you'd expect to find in a village pub. Flagstone floors, exposed walls and beams, and a myriad of prints across two floors provide a delightful setting for married couple Assumpta and Peter to entertain you. The menu and wine list are quite extensive and every item of food is freshly prepared from scratch on the premises (no Brake Brothers desserts even!) and everything is of the highest quality. Service is second to none, and Assumpta takes great care to remember her guests for next time. You really are made to feel like a special guest rather than just the next customer passing through. Well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers also viewed

Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 
Kingham, Oxfordshire
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing